Volusion Review | 10 Key Things You Should Know

Last updated on November 20, 2017
Volusion review

Volusion Review Highlights

Comprehensive e-commerce tools (with almost 80 Apps if you need more tools).

24/7 support (phone, online chat, email) – reachable any time.

No transaction fees at all – so you can keep all your profits.

Volusion review

Rating

Powering
30,000+ Stores

Starting from
$15.00/month

14 Days Trial
Yes

Review by
Last Updated on November 20, 2017

There are plenty of other Volusion reviews available on the internet nowadays, and that’s not surprising at all.

Volusion is one of the larger ecommerce online store builders that allow you to start selling your products without being a technical nerd at all.

After all, who has time to learn all that technical knowledge when you really ought to be focused on growing your business instead!

Volusion, like other capable ecommerce online store builders, allows you to do just this – focus on selling – without getting bogged down with dealing with your servers or worrying about how to connect your shopping cart to your website.

Volusion currently powers over 30,000 online stores and has enabled its users to sell over $26 billion worth of goods over the past 18 years. So we know these guys are not “one hit wonders” and are here to stay.

volusion review - stats

Having said that, in our view, there are pros and cons to Volusion (just like any other online store builders out there), and we’ll discuss those in detail in this review.

If you are curious what other good ecommerce online store builders are available to you, click here to see our comparison chart.

VOLUSION REVIEW – TOP 3 PROS AND CONS

  1. Comprehensive ecommerce Tools – Volusion gives you a very comprehensive set of tools so you can build a very capable online store. All these tools are included in their monthly plans, and the higher the plan you subscribe to, the more tools you have access to. You can set up hundreds of products, receive 24/7 support, access mobile responsive themes, offer subscription billing to customers, mobile ecommerce, social media tools, automatic tax rates, eBay / Amazon integrations, Deal of the Day feature, Customer Loyalty Plans, newsletters, etc.
  2. 24/7 Customer Support – Volusion offers several ways for you to get help when you need it. They offer support via phone, email, and – if you need a bit more handholding – you can even connect with a live person to get help or schedule a call back at a specific time. The last thing you want is for your store to run into problems in the middle of the night and then you can’t find any help.Their existing support pages are also quite comprehensive, offering informative articles, guides, webinars and video tutorials.
  3. No Transaction Fees – While some other online store builders charge you a transaction fee for their lower plans, Volusion does not charge you any fees per transaction so you get to keep all your profits. Note that you will still need to pay a payment processing fee (which is charged by your payment processor), but Volusion doesn’t charge you any fees. However, I’d also like to point out that you do have a bandwidth limit that you cannot exceed, and if you do, you’ll have to purchase more bandwidth. I believe this is one of the trade-off’s of no transaction fees (more about this under the “Cons” section).
    [UPDATE (Nov 2017) – Volusion now also offer personalized fixed-fee bandwidth pricing options for merchants who prefer more peace of mind. This can be handy if you expect your traffic to grow or want the freedom to upload more content/products.]

  1. Bandwidth Limit (unknown charges!) – Although Volusion doesn’t charge you a transaction fee, they do limit you with their bandwidth restrictions. What’s bandwidth? Simplistically, when someone (a person, a search engine bot, just anything visiting your site) visits your website, it takes resources from Volusion to power your website to display content (text, images, etc) to your visitor – that sucks up bandwidth. So the more visitors you have, the more bandwidth they will use up. If they visit more pages, that also uses up your bandwidth as it takes more resources to load your pages. Further, if you have a lot of product pictures, that also uses up your bandwidth a lot faster. If you have a large download file, that uses up bandwidth too! Once you exceed your available bandwidth, you’ll have to start paying Volusion ‘bandwidth overage charges’ to “buy” more “power” to keep your store up and running. What’s confusing is that unlike similar ecommerce platforms, Volusion limits your bandwidth by plan, then charges you an extra $7.00 per gigabyte of additional bandwidth you use each month. Considering their cheapest plan only provides 1gb of bandwidth (roughly enough for 15 visitors per day if viewing 5 product pages with 3 images on each page), you might see costs soar if your site starts to grow and you don’t necessarily want to upgrade to a higher cost plan. I think this is why other top ecommerce builders (such as Shopify) charge transaction fees so that they can give you unlimited bandwidth (they will waive the transaction fee for higher plans). It’s quite unpleasant to get a bill from Volusion about bandwidth overages just like it’s not very nice receiving a big bill after exceeding your mobile data planIf you expect to get a lot of traffic, watch out for bandwidth overage charges!
  2. SSL Certificates Cost Extra – With other online store providers (such as Shopify, Bigcommerce), your monthly fee includes the use of an SSL certificate. SSL certificate protects the privacy of your customers when they are inserting confidential information when they are in your checkout cart. If the checkout page is not protected, online shoppers are savvy enough to leave. With Volusion, you have to pay for your own SSL certificate which can range from $90 to $1,000 per year. The basic certificate is $89, and if you want more powerful protection, it starts to get pricey. I’m not sure why they don’t include this in their monthly plans, but it’s definitely something Shopify or Bigcommerce is better at.
  3. No Blogging Function – Content marketing nowadays is absolutely crucial if you want to grow your online store. This means that you have to consistently provide valuable content to your target market in order to build trust and interest with your company. If your prospective customers don’t find you helpful, and therefore the trust is not there, it’s going to be hard sell. Creating fresh, relevant content for your store or website is also important for improving your ranking in Search Engine Results Pages (SERPs) and getting found by customers. One of the best ways to provide valuable content,build trust, and create fresh content for Google to crawl and index is through a blog. It’s an easy way for you to add new and interesting content to gain interest from your prospective customers, and if they find it helpful, they’ll start to trust you (much easier to sell to people who know & like you). Volusion does not have a built in blogging function which is a big drawback if you want to grow an audience. You have to build your blog elsewhere (as in a separate website), then connect it to your Volusion store. So your blog and your store will not be integrated – instead you’ll need to host it on a subdomain of your site, which can be fiddly if you are not too tech savvy. For me, it would be much easier if I could simply blog alongside running my store, as it’s not very convenient at all having to use other platforms to do something that is offered as standard by Volusion’s competitors.

VOLUSION IS IDEAL FOR….

Volusion is ideal for you if you want to build an ecommerce website, but you don’t have time or the technical skills to mess around with HTML coding and tool integration.

They provide all the tools to help you add products, market your business, charge your customers, manage your inventory, shipping etc. You don’t have to know any codingto do any of this.

Volusion caters to a broad range of industries, such as apparel, beauty & health, food & beverages, jewelry, automotive, electronics, etc. – they’re a useful platform for pretty much anything you can sell online.

volusion review themes

Volusion provides 11 free themes and 38 premium (paid) themes (Above), which cost $180 each

They have dedicated themes that you can use across different industries, so you can choose from them one that will help you get your store launched without worrying as much about design (more on themesbelow).

EASE OF USE

As mentioned, Volusion enables non-techie people to be able to build a very capable online store. So if you’re deathly afraid of programming or anything technological related, or if you’re just way too busy growing your business (and living your life), then Volusion can be helpful here.

Inserting products, managing your inventory, uploading images, etc, all without having to touch any codes.

volusio review ease of use dashboard

Volusion’s new dashboard is now much more user-friendly and helps guide you through your ecommerce store set up

However, if ease of us is really important to you, you should take a look at Shopify which in our view is the best online store builder available today.

Nevertheless, Volusion is a good store builder as they do all the “heavy lifting” work for you with their software, so you can focus on other parts of your business.

Try Volusion (Free 14-Day Trial)

TEMPLATE DESIGN OPTIONS

Volusion offers 39 ecommerce focused themes for you to choose from. This gives you a good variety of choice that can be helpful no matter which industry you are in.

All of their themes are mobile responsive, which helps you optimize your customers’ shopping experiences across desktop, tablet, and smartphones.

volusion review theme templates design

Volusion offers both Free (on the left) and Paid themes (on the right) that are optimized to help you sell more

Some of the themes are free, and some are paid. Volusion’s paid themes all cost $180, which is about the same as Shopify so not too bad in the scheme of things! It’s worth pointing out that ecommerce templates tend to cost more than standard website templates as they are equipped with more features and are designed to help you sell.

They currently have 11 free themes and 38 paid themes. These are all responsive and can be customized in the editor, so you’re not limited exactly to the pre-prepared designs and can put your own spin on things.

In our view, premium templates from Shopify are more attractive looking and they range from free to $180 per template, which is about the same as Volusion – so it’s worth comparing the available themes on both platforms before committing to either.

Also, Shopify has about 160 mobile responsive store designs (versus Volusion’s 49) for optimal shopping experiences across different viewing devices, which is a lot more than Volusion.

So while Volusion does give you a good choice of themes and lots of additional design options, Shopify is the better choice because it gives you such a large pool of templates + themes to play with.

VOLUSION APP STORE – GIVE YOUR STORE A FEATURES BOOST

Volusion has an App Marketplace that gives you an additional 60apps to bolt on to your store.

Most of these tools are not built by Volusion, but are built by other software tools provider, so you can think of these tools as extensions to what is already provided by Volusion. Also, because the Apps are built by other dedicated tools provider, they are specialized tools to help you expand your store.

These Apps cover things such as:

  • Integrating your accounting software
  • Email / newsletter software
  • Customer support tools
  • Marketing
  • Shipping
  • Fulfillment
  • Inventory management
volusion review app store

Volusion offers a decent selection of apps – not as many as Shopify, but enough key integrations to kick start your store.

So while Volusion does provide some of these tools, if you want to get even more specialized tools, these Apps can be helpful.

Some are free and some are paid, depending on the App provider.

These Apps integrate seamlessly into your Volusion store, so you don’t have to worry about the technicalities of adding them.

If you want even more Apps options, check out Shopify and Bigcommerce’s app market. In fact, Shopify has over 1,000 Apps to you to choose from.

Try Volusion (Free 14-Day Trial)

MOBILE ecommerce

Shopping with mobile devices is a growing trend. People are embracing it and so should you!

This means it’s important to ensure that your online store is mobile friendly. The easiest way to achieve this is with a mobile responsive theme or template so that you know your visitors’ experiences are optimized.

As mentioned above, all of Volusion’s themes are now mobile-responsive so you should have no trouble selling your goods through a laptop, a mobile phone or a tablet. This can be a real time-saver in the long run. Volusion describes itself as now being a ‘mobile-first’ ecommerce platform, which is reassuring. Bear in mind though that despite the fact that 100% of its themes are mobile-responsive, this still only amounts to 49 themes in total, whereas Shopify provides you with a lot more template options to consider.

Volusion also allows you to manage your store with their mobile app. It’s free for you to download and you can use it to access sales data, process orders, and ship products. This allows you to run your store even when you are not in front of your computer.

volusion review mobile app

Volusion has a mobile app that can be used by both Apple and Android users to manage your business anytime, anywhere

SUPPORT / TUTORIALS / COMMUNITY RESOURCES

Volusion Customer Support

Volusion offers 24/7 customer support. You can contact them through the phone, live chat on their website or through email.

volusion reviews support

Volusion Tutorial Resources

Volusion also has a comprehensive knowledgebase full of informative and helpful support articles. They also have a long list of video tutorials that can help guide you along the way.

If you can’t find a solution for your problem, you can always reach out to a live person through the phone, live chat or email.

Volusion Community Forum

Volusion doesn’t have a forum where you can ask questions and interact with other users. I think it’s a bit of a drawback as a forum is a good place for other users (business owners) to exchange business questions and suggestions.

Having said that, you can only rely on Volusion’s support staff to answer questions directly related to Volusion. If you have any other questions about online businesses, there isn’t a forum to facilitate this.

Try Volusion (Free 14-Day Trial)

HOSTING, SECURITY AND BACKUP OPTIONS

As mentioned in the “Pros and Cons” section above, Volusion limits your bandwidth usage on each of its plans and this can be problematic if you have a lot of visitors, a lot of webpages and if you use a lot of high quality product graphics which uses bandwidth.

They have introduced personalized, fixed-fee pricing models if you’re concerned about overage charges – but you will need to contact Volusion directly to find out about these.

If you exceed your bandwidth allowance, you will have to purchase more bandwidth to ensure your store remains up and running.

The problem is two-fold:

1) Volusion charges $7.00 per additional gigabyte of bandwidth you use each month, so costs can rise rapidly if you have a sudden spike in traffic or have a lot of image and content heavy webpages.

2) It’s almost impossible for you to precisely calculate how much bandwidth you might use month-to-month because there are many factors that can impact bandwidth usage

So in my view, this isn’t an ideal way of working as it means you may have to compromise on design in order to not be charged extra money each month.

I do prefer Shopify’s model in that they charge you a transaction fee for each sale you make (this transaction fee is waived for higher plans), but at least you know and can re-calculate how much this transaction fee is (whereas you can’t with Volusion – you just have to pay the bill).

With Shopify, you can have 10 million visitors and your store won’t be interrupted at all.

Volusion review - CDN hosting

Just like other online store builders, Volusion manages the entire hosting process for you so you don’t have to worry about knowing how to do this yourself.

They’ll ensure that all the servers are up to date, and that your store is up and running at all times. This way, you can focus on growing your business instead of the tedious technical work to keep your store online.

As for security, as mentioned in the “Pros and Cons” section above, you have to purchase your own SSL certificate either through Volusion or other vendors. This is an additional $90+ fee per year (versus other ecommerce builders such as Shopify and Bigcommerce, who include the SSL certificate as part of the plans so you don’t have to pay extra).

Volusion does give you the choice to choose your own level of SSL protection, but each level of SSL certificate does essentially the same thing – helping to encrypt your site and protect you and your customers’ data. You may require additional cover or support if you grow rapidly, but otherwise it’s easier just to have the SSL certificate included in the package rather than adding another level of complication to things.

PRICING – IS IT WORTH THE INVESTMENT?

Volusion offers you 4 monthly plans: Mini / Plus / Pro / Premium.

As you move up on the plans, you get more ecommerce tools to build out your store. Also, you get to upload more products, and you get more bandwidth to power your store.

volusion review pricing plans

If you sign up to their annual plan, you get 10% off the monthly fees.

Volusion offers you a 14-day trial period, so you can test out their platform for free before committing to a paid monthly plan.

Once you get to the Pro or Premium plan, you get some really advanced tools such as eBay or Amazon integration. So if you sell products on either one of those platforms, you can manage your eBay or Amazon product listings all through Volusion. This will save you a lot of time instead of managing them separately.

You also get “Deal of the Day” and “Customer Loyalty Plan” with the Pro and Premium plans. Those are quite helpful in driving more sales as a lot of consumers like daily deals (who doesn’t like a good deal?) and the loyalty plan can promote brand loyalty.

So just with those 2 features, if used properly, you can potentially earn more money than you would be paying out to Volusion for your premium plan each month

For its top tier ‘Premium’ plan, Volusion provides you with a dedicated Account Manager who will help you setup your store. This takes a lot of the stress out of tasks like choosing the right design and theme, uploading products to your site, sorting out shipping options and ensuring your tax configurations are all in place. It doesn’t come cheap at $135 per month, but if you’ve got the cash to invest, then having such personal support can be a real help.

VOLUSION REVIEW – CONCLUSION / RECOMMENDATION

Based on this Volusion review, I think Volusion is a pretty solid ecommerce store builder that has made movements in the right direction in recent times. It’s reassuring to see that Volusion now ensures that every theme is mobile-responsive and that the user-experience is simple and straightforward – both big factors for non-techy entrepreneurs looking to build a business empire.

They give you all the tools you need to build a functional store, without you having to worry about programming or any complicated technical tasks.

They have a good selection of attractive themes for a broad range of industries, and an App Market so if you can extend your store’s functionality.

Their 24/7 live support is helpful when you have questions in the middle of the night (phone, live chat and email support are all included), but can be a little slow to reply at peak times.

However, the biggest drawback in my view is the bandwidth limitations. That to me is a huge sticking point.. And actually quite worrying. Other online store builders such as Shopify give you unlimited bandwidth so you don’t have to worry about paying anything extra.

Also, the fact that you need to purchase your own SSL Certificate to ensure that your customers’ confidential information is protected is a bit odd. Other online store builders include this as part of their monthly plans. I think Volusion should wrap this into their plans as well, instead of asking you to buy it separately.

Lastly, they really need to consider integrating a blogging function into their platform. It’s quite standard nowadays for ecommerce stores to have a blog where they can promote their services, brand, products, and also provide valuable industry related knowledge to build trust and improve your SEO potential for search engines. Sure you can run a blog elsewhere and then fiddle around connecting it to your store as a sub-domain – but do you really want or need that stress in your life? I don’t think you do – I know I wouldn’t! I’d want everything in one central place so that I could run and manage my online store hassle free.

All in all, while Volusion isn’t perfect, but who is? They’re a decent ecommerce store builder that has made some positive steps, so hopefully they’ll address some of the points where they fall short to make them an even better platform. In my view, Shopify is still a much better online store platform at the moment.

Try Volusion (Free 14-Day Trial)

Found This Review Helpful?

Leave a comment below; or

Share it with your friends – Tweet, Like, Follow, Pin us below.

The biggest compliment we can receive from you is a Share!

Jeremy Wong

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

Subscribe

Jeremy Wong

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

, ,

Leave a Reply

23 Responses to Volusion Review | 10 Key Things You Should Know

  1. Cory November 2, 2017 at 8:24 AM #

    If you run any sort of recurring billing/subscription business DO NOT use Volusion. If you ever have the need to switch your customers to a different system, they are unwilling to allow you to migrate your customer credit card info even in an encrypted, 100% PCI Compliant, manner. They will essentially hold your company hostage. Insane lack of care for their customers.

    • Tom Watts
      Tom Watts November 6, 2017 at 1:35 AM #

      Hello Cory,

      Thank you for sharing your experiences with the community!

      That really doesn’t sound like a good experience at all.

      Did you receive any communications from Volusion explaining the issues?

      – Tom

  2. Jasper August 17, 2017 at 9:05 PM #

    Volusion’s customer service is horrendous. To the extend that I’m going to find out all review sites about it and make it known.

    I’m subscribed to a plan with phone support, and have never been able to get hold of them. I waited for hours for someone to get to the line and gave up.

    If your phone support is non existent or a problem for oversea users, I don’t think it should be advertised in your plans.

    On top, you need to wait hours for the chat assistant. And whatever pressing issue you may have, after waiting hours for their reply, they reply you with another question than actually helping you resolve your issue.

    Am hiring someone else to help work on our site currently, and will eventually migrate out of volusion for sure.

    • Tom Watts
      Tom Watts August 30, 2017 at 12:56 AM #

      Hi Jasper,

      Thanks for sharing your experiences with the community. I’m really sorry to hear you’ve had such a frustrating time, hopefully it hasn’t impacted your website too drastically.

      When you decide to migrate from Volusion, have you thought about the platform you’re going to move to?

      It may be worth having a closer look at Shopify, who offer all the mod-cons of Volusion but with more highly regarded support on hand as well as industry leading ecommerce tools.

      – Tom

  3. Eddie July 9, 2017 at 6:48 PM #

    Thank you so much for the information and the care you took to produce this review. I am just getting into ecommerce and really have been baffled by the multitude of options. Thank you again.

    • Tom Watts
      Tom Watts July 10, 2017 at 2:07 AM #

      Great, glad you found the article helpful!

  4. Ayaz A. September 26, 2016 at 1:38 AM #

    I am a professional web developer. I have been using almost all ecommerce platforms. According to my opinion Volusion is the worst nightmare for developers and site admins. It is very very restrictive.

    There are no good tools for bulk data migration if you want to switch to Volusion. It CSV spreadsheets tool for import and export data is full of problems. It does not read product pictures from URLs. Rather you have to upload them via FTP. And the pictures need to be renamed and sized in strict rules. So if you have 500 products and each having 4 pictures. Get ready to rename and resize 200 pictures before uploading them.

    I you want to assign your product categories you cannot do this via spreadsheets because it consolidates all category numbers in a single column and excel distorts those numbers because of being very long integer. You cannot assign categories in bulk.

    If your products has variations god help you. It has so complicated procedure to import variations that I ended up creating them manually putting the idea of CSV aside.

    I would never recommend any client to use this platform.

    Also I would not suggest any other platforms here because my sincere advise would look like I am marketing for some other companies putting down Volusion.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong September 26, 2016 at 1:23 PM #

      Hi Ayaz,

      Thanks for sharing your experiences with us. Have you considered Shopify or BigCommerce?

      What are your experiences with them?

      Jeremy

  5. ktb April 27, 2016 at 6:30 PM #

    SCAM ALERT – Stay away from this bait-and-switch company that’s riddled with hidden fees! Basically everything on the Volusion website and everything the sales people tell you is inaccurate and intentionally misleading. Absolutely do NOT sign up for their Merchant Account – it looks like a feature of their monthly plan but it isn’t! You’re actually signing up for a 3-YEAR contract that’s at least $33.50 per month, with a $99 cancellation fee! The term is not in the contract anywhere, it’s on a separate page on their website that you will never find until you get the contract. Who reads contract terms, especially when they link to additional terms? No one, and that’s what they’re counting on. Don’t pay them for a website that looks like garbage to start with, and definitely stay away from any contracts with them. They will intentionally mislead you – even if you ask questions about their services, the sales reps know how to avoid giving direct answers.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong April 28, 2016 at 7:25 PM #

      Sorry to hear about your experiences, KTB. If you’re interested in testing out other ecommerce builders, here is a comparison chart that you might find helpful.

      Good luck!

      Jeremy

    • Clint May 3, 2016 at 1:58 PM #

      Oh it is bogus man have been hitting me over the past month $500 2 $600 and hidden fees joke and then they use a third-party for merchant processing that you don’t even use when you any launch the site yet joke salute joke

  6. CHris March 15, 2016 at 10:28 AM #

    We’ve been a long time customer of Volusion. As many have stated, their support is slow and more often then not, rude and unhelpful. I just got off the phone with “Josh” from Priority Support. We had an urgent issue and the ticket was a day old with no response. He told me to expect two more and is there anything else I can help you with?

    THAT is the Volusion I know. It’s so frustrating, and we pay 4 digits/month for insults and a stale platform that hasn’t changed in 5 years.

    We’ve been playing with Shopify – simply amazing in comparison. We have thousands of products so it’s taking some time to move.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong March 15, 2016 at 8:09 PM #

      Hey Chris,

      Thanks for sharing your candid feedback with us and our readers. Sorry to hear about your experiences with Volusion and 5 years with the same platform is quite a long time.

      I completely understand that switching ecommerce platforms is a huge undertaking, so I do wish you all the luck with that! It sounds like you’re switching over to Shopify – they’re great!

      Take a look at our discussion about Shopify here (just in case you haven’t yet).

      Jeremy

  7. Suzanne F February 24, 2016 at 11:47 AM #

    I currently use Volusion, but cannot recommend it at all. They are over priced and do not stand behind their products.
    I have constant issues and the general response time, even though I pay for “Priority Support”, is two days. Then the response is a half way answer to what I needed, requiring me to wait another two days for a second response.
    Too many features do not work properly on the mobile sites, making them almost worthless.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong February 25, 2016 at 7:48 PM #

      Hi Suzanne,

      Thanks for sharing your experiences with us, and sorry to hear about the issues you’ve encountered.

      Have you considered other top tier online store builders, such as Shopify or Bigcommerce? Take a look at this ecommerce builder comparison chart here if you’re interested.

      Jeremy

  8. JANE November 12, 2015 at 2:39 PM #

    The WORST platform ever used!!! paid $$$$$ get nothing updated. DIFFICULT TO close the account. Plus they charge $$$ FEEs to close it!! their templates are OLD OLD OLD!!! Their busienss model is OLD OLD OLD

    We left!! and was told we need to pay for early termination-which means, they blame on the clients for leaving early when they can’t resolve their own issues!!

    this company is going downhill!!!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong November 15, 2015 at 6:27 PM #

      Hi Jane,

      Sorry to hear about your experiences with Volusion.

      Take a look at this comparison chart here, where we’ve outlined and scored different ecommerce platforms against one another. I’d actually suggest taking a closer look (and perhaps free trials) at Shopify or Bigcommerce.

      Good luck!

      Jeremy

  9. Becky Eveland October 2, 2015 at 10:48 AM #

    Thank you Jeremy, for your help in choosing an ecommerce provider. I thought I had settled on Volusion…..then realized that the Canadian Dollar is so poor, that my monthly costs are bad and undependable, So I began to look for a Canadian company that would do their monthly billing in Canadian $ and read that Shopify was Canadian….so I decided to switch. Their first billing of 79$ US was 123 CDN WOW thats over 50% exchange+fees. I called and yes their owner is canadian bbut all billing is ddone in US.
    So now I am searching for a Canadian Ecommerce company that bills in CDN$
    DO YOU KNOW OF ONE? THANKS VERY MUCH AND BEST REGARDS,

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong October 2, 2015 at 3:23 PM #

      Hi Becky,

      The conversion / exchange rate is determined by your credit card provider, and not by Shopify. To Shopfiy, they are only collecting US$79 per month (according to the plan you picked). So for some odd reason, your credit card provider is converting that to C$123. You might want to inquire as to why that is the case?

      I’m not aware of other comparable ecommerce platform in Canada that charges in C$. Sorry about that!

      Jeremy

  10. Cindy September 24, 2015 at 9:35 AM #

    That’s too bad they don’t offer a blogging function. I just spent the morning doing a trial of both Shopify and Volusion. I like Volusion better, it feels more intuitive. I like how I can toggle between the back end and storefront easily. If I have a question I just pull up the chat screen to ask. I can’t do that in Shopify. If I want to add a category, easy in Volusion. In Shopify – is that what they call a collection? I’m not sure.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong September 25, 2015 at 6:26 PM #

      Hey Cindy,

      Shopify actually has live chat support as well. Just go to their support page and you can either live chat with them, or phone or email them.

      And you can build a blog with their platform (which is almost a “must have” when it comes to ecommerce websites).

      Jeremy

      • Ron November 22, 2015 at 12:19 AM #

        We started a business this year that caters to bicyclists but our experience with Volusion was a complete disaster. We chose Volusion, who convinced us to upgrade to the premium service since we would probably need the most access to support as we got started. Some of the support people were great. Some were an utter waste of time because they made me wait for hours on the phone while they read through the self-help FAQs on their own website to learn how to answer my questions. The most important problem had to do with credit card purchases. No credit card transactions actually went through for the products we shipped all Summer! Paypal transactions were going through and we didn’t identify that the missing funds were all specific to credit cards until it was too late. Turns out, there is one more mouse click on a tiny link that says “apply,” which you must click to get paid. The web page where we process orders allows us to complete these orders and print shipping labels, with no indication that we will never be paid. Not even a little explanatory “what’s this” link next to the all important link we needed to click. Seems a little lax, considering that the whole website, our whole business and everything we do with Volusion revolves around that mouse click.

        At one point, I got curious about that link and started searching their help resources. I found volumes of info, including some cool videos, but nothing that specifically explained that link.

        We only get a 7-day window of authorization to complete those transactions so we can’t get paid. Volusion seems helpless to do anything about it. They also don’t seem to understand there is any issue with the order processing page.

        Now they are advising us to contact all of our customers around the world and ask them if they are willing to let us charge them again. So far, not one of our customers has responded to our request to run their credit cards a second time. Big surprise! Would you? It makes us sound like we’re running a scam. Apparently we won’t be paid for over 50% of our sales. It’s probably going to be our one and only year in business. We wasted lots of 18hr days and investment of everything we own.

        • Jeremy Wong
          Jeremy Wong November 23, 2015 at 1:20 PM #

          Wow… I’m REALLY sorry to hear about that, Ron. That’s a complete disaster!

          I’ve always tried to steer people to consider other options, together with Volusion. Other ecommerce builders such as Shopify and Bigcommerce are excellent platforms.

          Jeremy