Jimdo Review – Does It Build Good Websites?

Last updated on September 23, 2014

Jimdo ReviewTry Jimdo for Free Jimdo is an easy to use, e-commerce oriented website builder.  If you want to build an online shop without too much hassle, Jimdo is a very strong candidate to fit your needs.

Even though Jimdo has above average e-commerce features, you can still build a very good website with them even if you are not an online shop.

Jimdo is based out of Germany, and their team and website support more than 12 different languages – so they truly have a global presence.  More than 10 million websites are created through Jimdo as well.

We have personally met with their teams in Shanghai (China) and Tokyo (Japan), and have had email correspondences with one of their founders (Christian Springub) and a couple of USA team members.  We were consistently impressed with their passion for helping people build websites, which is an important consideration when selecting the right website builder.

Overall, Jimdo is a very good website builder for those who do not want to pay thousands of dollars for a custom built website, or for those who do not know how to code.  It is very easy to use, their customer service and community forum is superb and most important of all, it takes away your headaches of website building so it frees up your time to do more important things.

Jimdo is a very easy way to create a website for small businesses, or for personal use, organizations, clubs, that kind of stuff. It’s a little bit over five years old now. We started in Germany but we’ve internationalized the company quite fast; we have offices in San Francisco, China and Japan now. We fully support 12 languages; people can build sites in these languages and also get support from our staff in languages like Spanish, for example. - Christian Springub, Jimdo Co-Founder

TOP 3 PROS AND CONS OF JIMDO

  1. Strong e-commerce tools for online stores – Jimdo’s e-commerce platform provides you with back-end support which helps you track inventory, open / close orders and automatic pre-set email responses to your customers, etc.  If you signed up for JimdoBusiness, you can also set up discount codes for promotion purposes.  They also allow you to tag products so you can pull up certain categories of products quickly if you want to highlight or cross-sell specific products.  These features can really help you manage your online store, and also makes Jimdo stand out from other website builders.  (Click here to see a good overview video here)
  2. Large community forum – Jimdo has large community forums in multiple languages which allow you to post questions and find answers from other fellow Jimdo users as well as from Jimdo’s forum moderators.  Multiple language support is something that’s very unique to Jimdo.  If you go to other website builders, you will find that they mainly serve English speaking users.  With Jimdo, they currently support 12 languages.
  3. Free platform – Jimdo’s free platform (JimdoFree) provides you enough tools to build a very functional website.  There is absolutely no pressure to upgrade to the paid platform (JimdoPro and JimdoBusiness) and there are no time limitations as to how long you can remain a free user.  Credit card information is not required when you sign up for a free account to test Jimdo out.

Try Jimdo for Free

  1. Limited number of professionally designed templates – The quality of Jimdo’s templates is relatively average when compared to other website builders.  Using Jimdo for free grants you a certain number of templates but to access even more templates, you will have to become a paying subscriber.  There are also third party Jimdo templates providers which really help supplement design choices (more about this below). [UPDATE  - Jimdo recently added more templates to their collection.  They also added advanced features such as (1) full background slideshows with tools to customize different visual effects into the background image, and (2) full background video, which allows you to insert a video as the background to your website - how impressive is that!  This is the first of its kind amongst website builders we review.  These updates show that Jimdo is making big strides in their template designs.  We're looking forward to more impressive features.]
  2. Jimdo advertisement on the free platform is quite visible – If you are using Jimdo’s free website builder, it includes an advertisement logo on your website which is quite visible.  All free website builders have their own advertisement credits (understandable since they’re providing services for free) but Jimdo’s is a bit more visible (but not the worst amongst all the website builders).  Upgrade to the paid platform to receive other benefits and also to remove the advertisement. [UPDATE - Jimdo listened to their users, and have now significantly reduced the size of the advertisement and it is now located in the footer area - away from the main content area.  This is actually a very generous gesture from Jimdo, considering you are using their services for free!]
  3. Not a true drag-and-drop user interface – Even though Jimdo’s website building tools are not drag and drop, don’t let this fool you into thinking that Jimdo isn’t easy to use.  Its functions and user-friendliness still gets the job done, although it would feel more interactive with drag and drop.

Try Jimdo for Free

JIMDO REVIEW VIDEO

Watch More Jimdo Video Tutorials to Learn How to Use Jimdo!

JIMDO IS IDEAL FOR….

Jimdo is ideal for small to medium sized businesses, as its e-commerce platform is more than adequate to do a really good job.

If you are running an e-commerce “heavy weight”, we suggest that you really push Jimdo’s platform hard to ensure that you are fully satisfied their e-commerce functions are suitable for you, prior to upgrading to their paid subscription program.

If you are looking to build a website that does not require e-commerce transaction support, Jimdo is a very good candidate to try as it does have all the basic tools required to build a strong personal or corporate website.

EASE OF USE

Even though Jimdo is not a pure drag and drop website builder, it is relatively easy to use. You build the website right in front of you by adding elements (website building blocks such as paragraphs, pictures, galleries, etc) on to the page.  The advantage is that what you see on screen when you are editing the website, is what the website will look like after you publish it.  So there is no need to flip back and forth between editing mode and published mode.

Overall, Jimdo is very user friendly and it takes only a few minutes to figure out how to add elements in Jimdo, so the learning curve is not steep.  Adding, subtracting and editing elements are a breeze.

TEMPLATE DESIGN OPTIONS

Jimdo has over 120 Jimdo templates available for you to choose from, but overall, we rate their designs as average.

There are certainly some other website builders out there that offer much more designer-styled templates (Such as Squarespace and Wix).  So it’s definitely something Jimdo can improve upon. 

[UPDATE  - Jimdo recently introduced more design layouts to their existing collection.  New advanced features were also introduced such as (1) full background slideshows with tools to add different visual effects to your background image, and (2) full background video, which allows you to upload a video to play / display as the background to your website - how cool is that!  We haven't seen this feature amongst other website builders so it is really the first of its kind.  These improvements demonstrate that Jimdo is continuously improving and listening to their users.  These updates can make a huge visual improvement to your design if you choose to try out Jimdo.] 

The good thing is that Jimdo allows you access to their HTML and CSS editor so if you want, you can completely customize the website’s design there (or hire someone to help you).  It’s a very nice option to have if you really want a customized design.

There are also third party templates providers out there that give you more design options and choices at affordable prices.  You can find them relatively easily through search engines – here is one that showcases their website design examples. Overall, there are plenty of good options for designing your Jimdo website.

SUPPORT / TUTORIALS / COMMUNITY RESOURCES

Jimdo Support Our experiences with Jimdo’s customer support have been a positive one.  We have previously signed up with the JimdoBusiness and JimdoPro packages and their response rates are usually within 1 to 2 business days which are respectable.  Logically (and we’re just guessing here), we suppose the response rate may be slightly slower if you signed up JimdoFree.

Jimdo also has a Live Chat function from 9am – 5pm PST, which can help quite a bit if you prefer to chat with someone live instead of email.

Tutorial Resources Jimdo also has online tutorials which are quite comprehensive and helpful.  They cover topics from getting started to features and designs.  Every time we were unsure of a function we can always quickly find what we need in their tutorials section, and if not, in their community forum. Jimdo also hosts live free webinars which cover topics such as “Website Basics”, “Social Media Basics” and “SEO Basics”.  You can register for these live webinars for free. If you want to learn a few more advanced tips and tricks, Gud Themes (mentioned and recommended by Jimdo) has interesting Jimdo tutorials which you can receive for free.  Gud Themes is a premium Jimdo designer templates provider (they’re one of the third party independent Jimdo templates provider we mentioned above).
Community Forum A useful tip is to search within Jimdo’s community forum to see if other people have asked similar questions as you do.  In our opinion, Jimdo has a very resourceful forum and by taking advantage of it, you may be able to quickly find solutions from other members’ responses or from Jimdo’s forum moderators. 
Try Jimdo for Free

JIMDO MOBILE DISPLAY

Jimdo has a mobile editor that automatically compresses your website to fit nicely in a mobile display.  It’s quite nice as you don’t have to build a separate mobile site which will save you time.

Further, you have the option to edit the CSS codes of the mobile display so you can style or add a bit more design to your mobile site (it’s a nice touch, especially if you know a little bit of code, or you can hire someone to help).

Your mobile site will also be e-commerce ready and also has a special Mobile Express Page (which is a landing page) in which your mobile visitors can easily find important information about your website. Jimdo iOS AppWe have a dedicated full review of Jimdo’s Mobile Editor here.  In the review, we’ll also compare it to the mobile editor of other website builders to see how Jimdo stands.

UPDATE - Jimdo released an iOS App in August 2013, enabling you to build an entire website from scratch using your Apple mobile device.  This is a huge step for Jimdo as it makes their website builder truly mobile – something other popular website builders have yet to accomplish.   It’s true that Weebly also has an iOS App, their app is a bit limited and only allows you to check your website’s statistics and also write / edit blog posts.  Jimdo’s app allows you to actually build pages, add content, just like how you would do so in front of your desktop computer.  It’s a huge step forward.  See our detailed discussion here.

SEO (Search Engine Optimization)

Jimdo web pages are automatically search engine optimized.  While you can modify the global SEO settings for JimdoFree websites, if you are a JimdoPro or JimdoBusiness user, you can make further SEO optimization by adapting meta tags for each individual web page.

Jimdo actually provides helpful SEO tutorials on their website which is also a nice resources and support to have.

We’ve seen arguments that website builders perform very poorly in search engine rankings.  However, we have personally built Jimdo websites that have also ranked on first pages of search results. So don’t let others discourage you – just because they can’t do it, doesn’t mean you can’t either!  SEO is about planning, technique and persistence, but that’s beyond the scope of this review.

Try Jimdo for Free

HOSTING AND EXPORT OPTIONS

Jimdo hosts all the websites for you, even if you are using their free platform (JimdoFree), so you do not have to pay for hosting separately.

The advantage is that they manage the entire process for you so you can concentrate on building your website and focusing on other more important things.  Jimdo takes care of all the security upgrades, backups and do all the techie stuff to ensure your website is always up and running, and doesn’t get hacked.

Currently, Jimdo does not have an official export function yet.  The disadvantage is that one day if you decide to leave Jimdo, you won’t be able to take the website with you and host it somewhere else.  However, to be fair, this is not unusual for website builders at all, since website building technologies are not easily adaptable or made-compatible across different hosting platforms.

[Note: If you are looking for a website builder that has an exporting function, Weebly and Squarespace has this feature]

Our recommendation is that if you’re interested in Jimdo, try it for free to see if it fits your needs.  If so, then you can decide whether you would like to commit.  There is no pressure whatsoever from the Jimdo team.

PRICING – IS IT WORTH THE INVESTMENT?

If you are building an online shop, JimdoPro and JimdoBusiness are very reasonably priced given their e-commerce tools and infrastructure, which automates a lot of the manual work that you will be required to do with other website builders.

For other website builders that do not have good e-commerce features, you will probably have to use a third party shopping cart which will be an added cost that Jimdo users do have to worry about. Another aspect to consider is their global support and vibrant user community.

We have had email correspondences and met some of their global leadership teams, and we can confidently say that their care for their customers, passion and enthusiasm is very rare amongst “companies”.  They place user experience as a priority before anything else.

The current price is $90 per year (or $7.50 per month) for JimdoPro, and $240 per year (or $20 per month) for JimdoBusiness (click here to see pricing table). In our opinion, it’s really worth the investment if you are serious about your website, especially if you have an online store.

CONCLUSION / RECOMMENDATION

If you you are a small to medium sized business or an online store, looking to build a website to create an online presence, Jimdo is a strong candidate for you to consider.  

They have all the necessary e-commerce features integrated into their website builder, so you save time and headaches from trying to integrate 3rd party shopping carts into your website. Jimdo has very good global support and community, and are passionate about what they do (we know this as we have personally met with some of their international team members).

This is a good indicator that they will remain successful in the long run, and it is something you should also think about since this will positively impact your website.

We recommend testing out Jimdo’s free platform yourself before committing to the paid programs.  Even if you do decide to upgrade, you still have the 30-day risk-free trial to test out JimdoPro or JimdoBusiness further. Try Jimdo for Free

Found This Review Helpful?

Leave a comment below; or

Share it with your friends – Tweet, Like, Follow, Pin us below.

The biggest compliment we can receive from you is a Share!

Summary
Reviewer
Jeremy Wong
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Jimdo.com
Author Rating
4

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

Subscribe

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

, ,

Leave a Reply

62 Responses to Jimdo Review – Does It Build Good Websites?

  1. Anibal Perry September 20, 2014 at 12:21 AM #

    yeah now new version update relay superb

  2. Ken September 19, 2014 at 8:28 PM #

    Loved the video reviews and comparisons of the various website builders.

    Do you know if Jimdo allows me to keep customer credit card information upon checking out so I can use it for recurring charges?

    • Jeremy Wong September 21, 2014 at 11:23 AM #

      Hi Ken,

      Glad you’re finding our discussions helpful!

      Regarding recurring charges, currently Jimdo doesn’t offer this option. Perhaps you can submit a features request email to their support team to see if they have any intention of developing such a tool in the near future! That would be helpful to a lot of users as well.

      – Jeremy

  3. Toni September 15, 2014 at 3:48 PM #

    Does jimdo have the facility to charge monthly membership to protected pages on the website?

    • Jeremy Wong September 16, 2014 at 11:03 AM #

      Hi Toni,

      Unfortunately Jimdo doesn’t have a paid membership function at the moment.

      Perhaps it’s something you can submit a feature request to their team so that they know people are looking for this function?

      – Jeremy

  4. Fred August 4, 2014 at 4:21 PM #

    Hi Jeremy,
    we like your input by testing some diff. web sites. We realy like what we saw at jimdo Business $240 per year.
    If you had to chose a web site builder would it be jimdo too??
    It is to hard for us to check all the cons and pros because we have a hard time to
    understand all the Futures. Even the price range seams akzeptable. Can it be paid by month?
    Thank you for your help
    Fred

    • Jeremy Wong August 5, 2014 at 12:34 PM #

      Hi Fred,

      Jimdo is a good website builder that has some interesting tools and features that some other website builders don’t have. The best way to get a quick overview of Jimdo compared to other website builders is to see our comparison chart here.

      You can also read our other article that compares a few other website builders and Jimdo here.

      As for the subscription plan, Jimdo currently doesn’t have any monthly plans, but they do have a 14 day refund policy so if you have any issues you can always request this. But best to start with a free plan to see if you like their tools before committing!

      – Jeremy

  5. Monique July 8, 2014 at 2:42 AM #

    Hello there.
    Thanks for the services you offer. So helpful!!
    I am building an online shop for a client in Jimdo. I am not an expert but Im giving it my best shot. I have a very tight deadline, time is of the essence. I will need to do a few changes that are beyond the capability of the frontend editor, for example change the colour of the content area. I guess this means delving into the code. I am prepared to do a few lessons and tutorials, is this the kind of thing a beginner could quickly learn? I am a beginner with HTML and CSS. Or would you advise finding a Jimdo expert and paying them (keeping in mind I have a small budget).
    Thanks in advance.

    • Jeremy Wong July 8, 2014 at 10:37 AM #

      Hi Monique,

      If you have time, I’d definitely encourage you to invest in time to pick up some basic coding skills so that you can make those modifications yourself going forward. We mentioned a helpful source to learn codes here (it’s what we used a few years ago).

      If you’re short on time, you can definitely reach out to freelancers, such as those on oDesk or Elance.

      – Jeremy

  6. sanjiv raman May 17, 2014 at 5:10 PM #

    hey,
    thanks for the review. I’m a newbie to internet marketing(more into affiliate marketing),that said seo is a good advantage for me. i see that jimdo pages are automatically seo ready and it is available in india too. however do you think i should go for go daddy or jimdo, because jimdo is relatively new and does not have a strong presence in india. another query is that (bear in mind this is totally new to me) will i be able to host multiple websites with one account,if so how many?

    • Jeremy Wong May 17, 2014 at 11:46 PM #

      Sanjiv,

      Jimdo is a great company and really cares about it customers based on our personal experiences with them. They also have an international support team, which is rare for a website builder – this just goes to show you how dedicated they are to serving their customers.

      In terms of creating multiple websites under one single account, Jimdo doesn’t have this feature yet (so one account for one website with Jimdo).

      Hope this helps!

      – Jeremy

      • Kerrie September 1, 2014 at 6:28 PM #

        Hi Jeremy

        I live in Australia and I have found the support pretty poor to be honest. Because of the time difference you can’t contact anyone during business hours. I also spent nearly 2 hours waiting on “live chat” when trying to get some help. Jimdo advised that they have no plans to add anyone to their team to help people in this part of the world which is disappointing. They suggested I contact a Jimdo expert for frther help (and cost) but again they are all located in the northern hemisphere. I plan to cut my losses and switch to Shopify.

        Regards
        Kerrie

    • Gopa September 2, 2014 at 12:16 AM #

      Hi Sanjiv,

      Did you finally use Jimdo or Godaddy as a website builder?
      I am also little confused.

      Regards
      Gopa

  7. JJ Cai April 29, 2014 at 5:06 PM #

    Hello Jeremy and Connie,
    You guys write really good reviews, I read the one on Jimdo, really helpful. I have a question for you, hope you can reply my email as well.
    I’m looking for a web builder that allows me to develop a web site in Chinease language, it would be a online store targetting mainland China. I will have the site hosted elsewhere (i.e. close to China); In yoru opinion, is JImdo a good web site builder for this purpose?
    Appreciate your feedback.

    • Jeremy & Connie Wong April 29, 2014 at 5:19 PM #

      Hello JJ,

      I think Jimdo might be a good option for you, as they have a team located in Shanghai and so if you have questions or if you are wondering how to do certain things in Chinese with Jimdo, they will be in a very good position to answer your questions.

      I think amongst all the website builders that we’ve used, Jimdo is the only one that has a team actually located in China.

      – Jeremy

  8. Johanna March 25, 2014 at 8:53 AM #

    Hi Guys

    Stumbled across your site and what a great resource it is, thanks for all of the wonderful tips! I am a jimdo user and being simply dreadful in all areas of IT I was able to build my website over a few evenings and have been getting lots of positive remarks about it- so would def recommend it to other
    SMEs out there.

    I do have a question for you, I am a freelance consultant and part of my plan is to create a “document shop” where clients and new customers can buy / download template documents straight from the website once payment has been processed. Is this type of download online shop supported on jimdo? I have the jimdo pro subscription and would ideally like to use my existing site especially as I have been so happy with jimdo for the last year.

    Thanks in advance

    Johanna

    • Jeremy & Connie March 25, 2014 at 11:31 AM #

      Hi Johanna,

      I don’t think Jimdo has a download function but what you can do is set up your store using e-junkie which is a digital product delivery system. So once your customer pays, they will automatically receive an email from e-Junkie with a download link where they can download the document.

      e-Junkie can be inserted into your Jimdo site using the Jimdo HTML element, as e-Junkie gives you a unique buy now button code that people can click on.

      Good luck!

      – Jeremy

  9. Karinettesoleil March 19, 2014 at 7:50 AM #

    Hi i was wondering if you knew how to do translation on my jimdo blog as I want to have that same webpage (which i will use mostly for blogging) in english and in french.
    THANKS !

    • Jeremy & Connie March 19, 2014 at 10:10 AM #

      Hi there,

      I think you will have to create two separate pages, one in English and one in French. You will have to do the translation yourself or hire someone to do it for you, then post the second language into a separate page.

      Jimdo has a guide here on how to create a multilingual site. Perhaps that will give you more ideas!

      – Jeremy

  10. Carly March 11, 2014 at 7:41 AM #

    Hi! Thanks so much for these thorough reviews. I have used Jimdo Pro to create my own website for my performance career, and I absolutely love it! Quick question:

    1. I also work for a nonprofit that needs a new website and I’m trying to make a new website for my Dad’s small law firm – I was thinking of using Jimdo Business for these two other ventures. Do you know if the email service provided with Jimdo is secure? Dealing with legal matters and business for these other two websites – I wanted to make sure that was the case.

    Thanks!

    • Jeremy & Connie March 11, 2014 at 8:57 AM #

      Hi Carly,

      Thanks for your comment and glad you liked our review! I’m can’t speak to the extent of how secure Jimdo’s email services are. But if you are looking for other options, just sign up to our Free Tools Guide and we have suggest 2 different email services that you can use. They are Google Business Apps (paid, but probably quite secure as it’s Google services?) and also Microsoft (free). They both allow you to use your own custom domain name to create email accounts, and you get to use their Gmail or Hotmail interfaces which are very user friendly.

      – Jeremy

  11. May March 1, 2014 at 6:36 PM #

    Hi. If I want to build a website for an animal shelter that features their pets for adoption through a third party platform such as petfinder, which builder do you recommend? I would also like to be able to allow others to make changes to part of the site but not all of it. Thank you!!!

    • Jeremy & Connie March 3, 2014 at 10:56 AM #

      Hey May,

      Jimdo is a good candidate, as long as you can integrate Petfinder into Jimdo. If Petfinder gives you a snippet of code to insert into a website builder, then you can try to sign up to Jimdo for a free account, and test insert the code into Jimdo using the HTML element.

      – Jeremy

  12. Christina February 23, 2014 at 8:18 PM #

    Thank you for the review, it was very helpful to me!

  13. monique February 6, 2014 at 5:35 AM #

    Hello there.
    Thanks for your honest reviews and advise. I have built my site using the free Jimdo service. Before I upgrade to the Professional service I wanted to know a few things but couldn’t find the answers anywhere. I would be grateful if you could help.

    1) What are the transaction fees on each item sold?
    2) Does Jimdo support different VAT rates for different countries?
    3) Because my site is fashion related, does Jimdo provide any kind of returns management, automated invoicing and crediting?
    4) Is Paypal the only payment provider?

    Hope thats not too many questions. Thanks in advance.
    Monique

    • Jeremy & Connie February 6, 2014 at 12:39 PM #

      Hi Monique,

      1) There are no transaction fees with Jimdo (they used to have it, but now they removed them). You will however, need to pay transaction fees to the payment processor (such as PayPal). These are just standard fees that all merchants have to pay for processing credit cards and the like.

      2) Yes. You can configure the VAT rates in the Settings panel, to select where you are living so you can charge taxes accordingly.

      3) I don’t think they have any automated functions for managing returns and credits. You will have to manage that yourself through discussion the terms with your customers and also refund the money through the payment processor.

      4) Mainly yes. But Jimdo also supports Paymill which is more Europe focused.

      Hope this helps!

      – Jeremy

      • Peter June 7, 2014 at 4:07 AM #

        Jeremy, Connie, GREAT job on your reviews!
        I haven’t choosen who I will build my website with yet (So many to choose from!) but thinking about Jimdo. Good question from Monique, i have a spin off. Does Jimdo allow charges for eCommerce to be in CAD funds? Also it appears most of these website builders fees (IF you upgrade) are all in USD monthly funds, this makes it harder to budget given the fluctuation with currency rates. Are any website builders/designers Canadian or bill in CAD funds at lease?

        • Jeremy Wong June 7, 2014 at 6:03 AM #

          Hey Peter,

          Thanks! Do you mean if you can pay PayPal in CAD (assuming you upgrade to one of their premium plans)?

          If so, then I believe so and the price list you see when you visit Jimdo’s website should be in CAD. They can detect where you are from (Canada) and should be listing their plans in CAD.

          If you’re not seeing that, perhaps you can reach out to their support team? I’ve visited Jimdo’s website across different countries and they always reflect the local currency (at least in our experiences anyway).

          – Jeremy

  14. camica January 27, 2014 at 12:43 PM #

    I am looking for the best website builder to use for selling my jewelry. I need to be able to feature good photos of my products. What do you all recommend.

    • Jeremy & Connie January 27, 2014 at 4:17 PM #

      Hi Camica,

      I think Jimdo is a good choice. You can always sign up for free and test to see if it’s a good fit for you. Or else we have a summary chart for e-commerce store builder that will give you a break down of some of the high level pros / cons.

      If you have a lot of products to sell, Shopify and Bigcommerce are good candidates. But if you have a smaller number of goods (which sounds like maybe you do?), Jimdo, Squarespace or Weebly are good candidates for that.

      – Jeremy

  15. Patti January 20, 2014 at 6:53 AM #

    I have a host and want to create my own website tho have never used any website software. If I use Jimdo or wix do they become my host?

    Where should I start?

    Thanks

    • Jeremy & Connie January 20, 2014 at 8:14 AM #

      Hi Patti,

      Yes. Both Jimdo and Wix will provided the hosting for you so you don’t have to worry about it or pay for it separately. You can sign up for a free testing account with both website builders and start following their tutorials on how to build your own website. They also give you a free subdomain name so you can publish your website. If you want to have your own custom domain name, you can upgrade to one of their paid plans to connect your own domain name to the website.

      – Jeremy

  16. Argi January 19, 2014 at 5:27 AM #

    Hi there, i am new one to Jimdo. I am a web developer and is the first time i am into this platform. What i need to ask is, how do i change the language of the platform to english(is in spanish, and sometimes i loose translations), and how can i upload instead of photos as products, archives, like music etc (the site i am supposed to re construct is a music one, so i need to create his personal e-commerce page in order to sell from his page).

    Is that possible? Can i use Jimdo for this kind of e-commerce? And if so, how am i supposed to do so..

    thank you for your time,

    Argi

    • Jeremy & Connie January 19, 2014 at 8:11 AM #

      Hi Argi,

      You just have to go to Jimdo Support and type in “Change Language” and the instructions on how to change the language should show up. Are you trying to sell digital products? If so, I don’t think Jimdo has that ability yet.

      Other website builders such as Squarespace and Weebly have this ability if you upgrade to their premium plans.

      Hope this helps!

      – Jeremy

      • Argi January 19, 2014 at 9:18 AM #

        The problem is that the site already exists and my clients does not want to change neither appearance or any detail from his site now. Yes products will be digital ones, i worked with Joomla and WordPress, and within their platform there is a flexibility to upload an archive, and sell it, with not mattering it shall be a pdf, or a music archive.
        I already found out the change of language, thank you so much for that, and i am already into the Cpanel of Jimdo, exploring how things work etc.

        But thank you for the other platforms that exist, i will let my client know of the changes, when time comes.

        Argi

        • Jeremy & Connie January 19, 2014 at 10:13 AM #

          Argi,

          You can also try using e-Junkie, which is a digital files delivery system. You can insert the codes into a Jimdo HTML element and connect e-Junkie with PayPal (or a few other shopping carts). So when people purchase, they will receive an email (delivered by e-Junkie) with a download link to download the digital file.

          – Jeremy

  17. Kathleen Thompson January 4, 2014 at 7:21 PM #

    I love you guys! U have been so helpful! I think I’m going to go with Jimdo. I have an invention I want to market….. I’ve created a computer generated algorithm that transforms the planets in our universe into musical notes… Essentially I transform you into a tune according to the planetary positions as of the day you were born. You are a tune. We all are. I’ve put 30 years of research into this in order to create this mathematical formula/algorithm. Wish me well!

    Thanks again for your advice!

  18. Larry December 10, 2013 at 12:27 AM #

    Great review.

    So Jimdo cannot export .

    Can we use web scraping software to scrap our own Jimdo created website and export it to other website builders?

    Is this feasible?

    Please enlighten.

    Thanks a million.

    • Jeremy & Connie December 10, 2013 at 12:31 AM #

      Hi Larry,

      Jimdo doesn’t have an export function built in at the moment. But I have seen somewhere a couple of years ago in its support forum that you can scrape the codes somehow, but I’m not entirely sure how effective it is. But even if you were successful in doing it, and importing it into another host, I’m not entirely sure how you can continue to modify the website content and design without Jimdo’s editing platform, unless you are proficient with codes.

      – Jeremy

  19. mike arodak December 9, 2013 at 3:02 PM #

    I provide real estate services. Can I use e commerce, shopping cart …etc to sell my services? Also, I want attract foreign investors..which template should I use? Thank you

    • Jeremy & Connie December 9, 2013 at 3:44 PM #

      Hi Mike,

      I’m not entirely sure which template would be most suitable for you. Best way forward is to just try out a few, build your site using the template and see how you like it and whether the template suits what you are trying to convey. Jimdo makes it easy for you to switch templates, as you can just click on a new template and it will show up on your site. Any existing content on your existing website will be automatically transferred into the new template so it’s easy for users to switch between templates.

      – Jeremy

  20. London December 7, 2013 at 6:13 PM #

    Hi Jeremy & Connie, I am in the process of building a e-commerce store in JImdo. I would like to see if you can, or know of someone who can customize/embed some code to my Jimdo site?

    I have 4 things I need coded (if possible).

    1.) The navigation bar/menu floats in the header. I would like the menu to be at the bottom of the header, horizontal on the page. I can not find a template that does that without a lot of other design elements added. I would like my nav menu plain text on a white background, no lines, color, or embossed looking out buttons.

    2.) Slider on the home page under header. I have put one in – but the size cannot be formatted smaller. The only option, leaves my slider pictures with large black spaces on the top and bottom of the slider. I can’t find a way to size the slider.( I think I have a picture there now no slider)

    3.) Product variants in the store. My products have up to 4 variants, (12 colors, 4 lengths, 3 textures, up to 5 gram weights). Can Jimdo be coded to have more product variants, and a way to add additional costs for some of those variants? I had to get REAL creative to micky mouse my store to get that many product options to work on Wix!!!!!!!!!!

    4.) Is there a way to customize the look of the buttons, (add to cart, variant pull down menu buttons. etc..)?

    I plan to upgrade to the business plan, are there different templates to choose from for that plan or are they the same ones as the free trial version I am working in?

    Your information is really insightful, I like your reviews and helpful tips. You really sold me on Jimdo! I love the cleaner more professional look of Jimdo! Thanks for your help!!
    London Greene

    Current website/store – www. remyclips. com (have mirrored the basic layout/website in Jimdo)
    Jimdo website – still under construction – londongreene. jimdo. com/

    • Jeremy & Connie December 7, 2013 at 6:30 PM #

      Hi London,

      Thanks for your questions. You should check out Jimdo Experts to see if you can find someone there to help you insert your custom codes.

      Alternatively try looking for freelancers on Elance or oDesk!

      Good luck!

      Jeremy

  21. Mila November 4, 2013 at 2:57 PM #

    Jimdo is great and very easy to use. PEople behind it are real people and genuinely interested in making your site work beautifully.
    Well done.

    • Jeremy & Connie November 4, 2013 at 10:09 PM #

      I’d agree as well Mila. In my experiences interacting with various members from the Jimdo team across a few different countries, they are genuine, caring and are responsive.

      Thanks for sharing your experiences!

      – Jeremy

  22. Estelle October 23, 2013 at 2:28 AM #

    Hi Jeremy and Connie,

    Thank you very much for all your reviews. I’m currently choosing a website builder for my small freelance company and you are so helpful!

    Jimdo seems quite appropriate for me, but I haven’t found a theme I like on their website. However, I’ve found that Matrix Themes (http://www.matrix-themes.com/templates/) is offering great themes for Jimdo. Do you know their work? Have you tested their templates?

    Cheers,
    Estelle

    • Jeremy & Connie October 23, 2013 at 11:24 AM #

      Hi Estelle,

      Thanks for your feedback. We haven’t used Matrix Themes before but we’ve seen their website. Based on a quick look of their website they look pretty good. If you do decide to try them out, do let us know what you think!

      – Jeremy

      • Estelle October 23, 2013 at 11:55 AM #

        Thank you so much for taking the time to answer. In the meantime, I’ve also seen the Gud Themes you’re mentioning above. Some templates are nice too. So many options to choose from when you want to build your site from scratch :-)

        Cheers,
        Estelle

  23. Nicola October 11, 2013 at 3:36 AM #

    Hi Jeremy and Connie,

    I have used Jimdo…I am a novice and know very little about building sites.

    Jimdo was extremely easy to work with and I built the website (not published yet) within one day.

    First I tried Weebly and then found Jimdo…Weebly I found a little unstable (when viewing) compared to Jimdo.

    Loved your reviews on Jimdo and would recommend Jimdo to people like me.

    Glad they kept it simple, for user friendly experience.

    Try Jimdo you won’t be disappointed.

    Cheers,
    Nicola

    • Jeremy & Connie October 11, 2013 at 7:22 AM #

      Hi Nicola,

      Thanks for sharing your experiences with Jimdo with all of us. We really appreciate it!

      – Jeremy

  24. Theresa October 4, 2013 at 4:33 PM #

    I read your review, watched some of your videos and decided to try out Jimdo. But their site is down, and all sites using it. Is this a common occurrence with Jimdo? It makes me afraid to use it now.

    Thank you,
    Theresa

    • Jeremy & Connie October 4, 2013 at 8:41 PM #

      Hi Theresa,

      Thanks for letting us know. We’ve never had any outtages with Jimdo before, so this is a very rare occurrence. Jimdo is a very reputable company supporting millions of websites, and we’ve had a many email exchanges with one of their founders (Christian) and also met with their Chinese and Japanese teams while we were traveling. We like them quite a bit!

      In any case, I just checked their site and looks like it’s working right now. I think all website builders will have their own hiccups and server outages (infrequently). It’s the same thing if you get your own hosting as well. We’ve had our own hosts go down once in a blue moon. It’s just the nature of technology.

      Hope this helps!

      – Jeremy

  25. counter visiters August 29, 2013 at 4:05 AM #

    I have spent a lot of the time in different blogs but this is really a unique blog for me.

  26. Ita June 19, 2013 at 5:06 PM #

    Hello Jeremy, Connie, and whoever wants to answer :)
    I fell upon your website here, and it’s fabulous and helpful.
    I wanted to ask, for your experienced opinion, which of the platforms/web builders would be the most suitable for building a website for artists like http://www.etsy.com or www. society6. com?
    thank you for your help

    • Jeremy & Connie June 19, 2013 at 11:28 PM #

      Hi Ita – I think if your website is more focused on pictures / images, I would suggest testing Squarespace. Squarespace is well known for their professional templates that can really help showcase art products or portfolio. See our review here – http://www.websitebuilderexpert.com/squarespace-review/

      – Jeremy

  27. DEE ANDERSON April 4, 2013 at 3:19 PM #

    Is Jimdo website builder responsive? Will it automatically adjust for cell phones?

  28. Lynn Fraser March 5, 2013 at 4:31 PM #

    Jeremy:

    Absolutely loved your video on the review of Jimdo’s online store. As a new user of course I have
    many questions. Have you made your video regarding tags on the store items. I am really confused here.

    Also, is here a way to line a heading to a sub heading to a sub-sub heading. So that the product shows us in all three places.

    Also, if I have a lot of different products (for example girls dresses, how can I show them all together and then in more detail somewhere else?

    Thanks, so much. Your video was great. Please let me know if I should be asking Jimdo all these questions instead of you.

    Again greatly appreciated.
    Lynn Fraser

    • Jeremy & Connie March 7, 2013 at 1:11 PM #

      Hi Lynn,

      You can see some video tutorials we have on Jimdo here – http://www.websitebuilderexpert.com/jimdo-tutorials/ – there are a few on store elements.

      Check out the one about Store Catalog as that allows you to show multiple products.

      Hope this helps!

      Jeremy

      • Aubrey March 10, 2014 at 10:17 PM #

        Hi,can you create a store website on JimdoPro as well?

        What if i want to cancel before the year ends,is it easy to cancel?

        In Jimdopro,is the domain name and ssl included in the price?

        Thank you.

        • Jeremy & Connie March 11, 2014 at 8:25 AM #

          Hi Aubrey,

          Yes you can build a store using Jimdo Pro. You get a 30 day trial of Jimdo Pro in which you get to cancel your plan if you want to. But if you sign up for a 1 year plan after, I “think” you will only get a refund on the unused portion of the plan.

          Best to check out their terms of services just to make sure you get a full understanding of their refund policy. But I know you get a free 30 day trial of JImdo Pro if you want to.

          You will have to get your own domain name if you want a custom one. Also, SSL is provided by your transaction services provider such as PayPal.

          – Jeremy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 14 good free website generators | Web n' Circle - December 15, 2013

    […] a free web hosting service, JimdoPro and JimdoBusiness, both premium services. See reviews from WebsiteBuilderExpert and […]