Webs.com Review – 55 Million Websites Built? Why It’s Good for You?

Last updated on September 23, 2014
Webs.com Review
Try Webs for Free

Over 55 million websites has been built with Webs.com at the time of our review – why is it so popular?  Webs has been around since 2001 and their popularity continues to grow even with newer website builders such as Weebly and Wix joining the party.  In this Webs.com review, we want to see for ourselves what makes Webs so popular.

Webs primarily target small businesses and entrepreneurs. This is not to say that you can’t build a personal or non-profit website using Webs as you most definitely can (we will discuss user-friendliness and website building tools below).  But the tools that they provide are slightly more geared towards small businesses, which we will review and let you know our opinion below.

One caveat is that although Webs powers over 55 million websites, it is hard to know how many of these websites are actively used (or abandoned) – since this is private information.  Nevertheless, being able to power so many websites and attract so many users is an impressive achievement.

Webs also indicated that they are adding 20,000 new sites every day – this suggests that Webs is not a small or “new kid on the block” website builder.  One of the takeaways from our Webs.com review is that Webs has been around since 2001 and will probably be around for a long time – which is an important consideration for website builders like yourself.

WEBS.COM REVIEW - TOP 3 PROS AND CONS

  1. When it comes to user-friendliness, Webs has done a good job in making it pretty intuitive for you to build a website.  Their drag and drop builder allows you to drag modules (such as pictures, paragraphs, slideshows etc) into the website, and allow you to edit them by just clicking on them. The learning curve is not high when compared to some other website builders (such as Wix or Squarespace).  Just as a side note, based on past users feedback, Webs was pretty buggy and can freeze up at times. Webs has since completed a significant overhaul of their builder in mid-2012, and the current version of the builder gives you a much smoother user interface and experience.  It’s very easy to add modules, edit them and remove them as necessary.
  2. Webs allow you to build membership sites directly on their websites.   This is a very rare feature in the world of website builders and in fact, Webs is the only website builder we know that includes membership site features in their builder.With other website builders, you can try to integrate external membership gateway services (such as Sentry Login) into your website.  The issues is that with external services provider, they are not native to the website builder and so conflicts may occur – this is in addition to you having to figure out the technical aspects of installing the membership site. With Webs, the membership function is all integrated into your website, and it allows you to manage members, send out group email to members, and restrict which of your pages could be viewed by the public, or by members only.  So if you’re thinking of setting up a membership site, Webs is a website builder you should definitely try out.  See our review on Webs’ membership function here.
  3. Webs has an App Store that allows you to integrate more features and third party tools directly into your Webs website.  Some of the Apps include client information / interaction organization tools, SEO tools, sharing of documents, Etsy store integration, etc.  As mentioned in our introduction, this is one way that Webs is trying to cater their services towards small businesses and entrepreneurs.  There are both free and paid Apps as some of the paid Apps are created and serviced by third party companies.  So this allows you to pick and choose which App to integrate into your Webs website.One thing that Webs does well is that all these Apps are fully integrated into their builder and so installing them is just 1-click of a button – you don’t have to worry about finding out how to install Apps into your website which could sometimes be technical.  Most other website builders (except for Wix) don’t offer this feature to you.Webs Review App Store

  1. One of the important considerations when building a website is design. While it’s pretty standard nowadays for website builders to offer you a lot of templates options (such as Wix or Weebly), as of April 2013, Webs only offer around 40 templates for you to choose from.  In addition, about 6 of them can only be accessed if you upgrade to their premium package.  Just as reference points, Wix has over 280 templates and Weebly has more than 160 templates for you to select from. While there are not a whole lot of themes available, the designs are fairly decent so if you are not overly picky with the design of your website, you will most likely be able to find what you need.  However, the downside is that if you can’t find a theme that suits your design, you options are very limited here… which leads to our next point… [UPDATE - as of July 2014, Webs released 450 mobile-optimized design templates cover over 20 different industries.  This is a significant improvement and gives you a lot of design flexibility and choices]
  2. At times, when a user is not completely pleased with the template design, some website builders such as Weebly or Jimdo will allow the user to modify the HTML / CSS codes to alter the design (they can hire a designer / programmer to help).  Webs doesn’t give you this flexibility, so if you are not completely happy with the 40-ish templates that they provide you, you won’t be able to modify it through codes.This is not entirely uncommon as Wix also doesn’t open up the codes to users either, but it is a drawback.  However, Webs do allow you some level of control to configure certain aspects of the template, such as color schemes, background image / pattern, font styles, etc.  We’ll discuss this in further detail below.
  3. When we were testing Webs, the loading time between changing of pages was fairly slow.  When we used other website builders to build websites, switching between pages were pretty quick.  Although this will not stop you from building a pretty good website, it does get a bit tiring as all the seconds of waiting does add up especially at the beginning when you will be building a ton of content into the website.Having said that, the website does load pretty fast when it is in published mode.  So when your visitors are visiting your website, the loading time is pretty normal.

WEBS IS IDEAL FOR….

If you are a small business or plan on having an online shop (e-commerce), Webs is a website builder you should consider (at least try them out for free).  The key reasons being that their e-commerce tools allow you to present multiple images per store item, product search and inventory tracking (more e-commerce discussion below), and also their integrated Apps helps you to manage your business better and will save you time.

However, as mentioned in our Webs.com review above, even if you just want to build a personal or non-profit website, Webs have enough tools to allow you to build a pretty decent website.

EASE OF USE

Webs is a WYSIWYG (What You See Is What You Get) website builder, meaning you build the entire website right in front of you and what you see when you are building, is what actually shows up after you publish the website.

Webs gives you the option to either build “normal pages” or “specialty pages”.

Normal Pages

Webs provide you with 6 different page layout configurations, so whenever you create a new page, you can choose which page layout to use.  You can change the page layout later on if you want.  The modules that you insert into the page (i.e. your content) will be automatically transferred into the new layout so you won’t lose any information.

Webs.com Review Page Layouts

Specialty Pages

Webs also give you “specialty pages” – what we mean is that they have dedicated, pre-set structured webpages for you to choose from.  These include pages dedicated to blogs, web stores, photos, membership, videos, forums, guestbooks and appointments.  You will find these pre-set pages in the App store and these are nice to have especially if you have a need for them.

Webs Review - App Pages

Since these “App pages” are pre-set in structure, you won’t be able to drag and drop any modules into these pages, like how you could for normal webpages. Although this seems a bit inflexible when it comes to design, it’s a nice feature if you have a need for it.

Overall, based on our Webs.com review, it is a very intuitive and easy to use website builder.  Combining normal pages and specialty pages will allow you the ability to create a more interesting website without making the building process complicated.  We like how Webs gives you many features, but keeps things quite simple.

TEMPLATE DESIGN OPTIONS

Webs has 450 mobile-optimized design templates for you to choose from, which is a fairly large collection.  These templates span over 20 different industries so this helps you find one that caters to your industry.

webs Review - templates

However, Webs doesn’t allow you the flexibility to edit the HTML and CSS of the templates, so even if you want to hire someone to modify the design for you, you won’t have this option with Webs.

This is also the primary reason why there aren’t any third party templates providers for Webs, which is the same as for Wix.

However, Webs does allow you some customization options.  Some themes come in several color schemes, and some allow you to customize the background image/color. You can also customize the font styles of the navigation bar, body and footer.

But in general, compared to other website builders, Webs’ templates selection and flexibility is not very comprehensive.  You can still build a good website with Webs, but if you’re selective over design, this is where Webs can fall short.

MOBILE TEMPLATES

Aside from the template for the browser website, Webs also provide you with some options when it comes to customizing mobile templates so your website can be mobile-ready.

The options that Webs give you are actually a lot more than what other website builders have.  Most website builders only provide you with one generic mobile design, and you can’t customize it.

With Webs, you can choose from 6 mobile template designs.  You can even customize the color scheme of each template to match your website’s color scheme.

Webs review - mobile website

This is fantastic feature that give you more control over your mobile website without having to pay and manage a separate mobile website.

SUPPORT / TUTORIALS / COMMUNITY RESOURCES

Webs Customer Support

If you subscribe to their premium plans, you can get email support for the Starter plan, email + live chat for the Enhanced plan, and email + live chat + phone support for their Pro plan.

However, if you are only using their free plan, your support option is limited to forum discussions, so you may not get the necessary, 1-on-1 attention you may want.

This is understandable as they have millions of users to support, and it’s only fair to give paying users a higher priority and better service levels.

Webs.com Review - customer service

Webs Tutorial Resources

Webs have a knowledgebase located in the dashboard.  At any time you have a question, simply type in your question and it will give you the closest matching answer.  We’ve tested this and we do find a lot of answers in the knowledgebase – so this function is pretty helpful.

However, one improvement point is that Webs could try to incorporate more pictures and tutorial videos in their help section.  Currently, their knowledgebase has a lot of text which although helpful, could sometimes be overwhelming if you prefer pictures.  Nevertheless, if you are an Enhanced Plan or Pro Plan user, you can just use their Live Chat function to get help.

Webs Community Forum

Webs has a comprehensive and helpful forum.  If you have questions, you can quickly search within the forum to see if their support staff has answered the same questions before.  You can save a lot of time using this approach.

We have seen some Webs.com reviews that their forum help could take some time, but as mentioned above, if you do upgrade to a paid package, you will receive 1-on-1 help, which is fair as you are a paying customer.


Try Webs for Free

WEBS E-COMMERCE WEB STORE

If you are building an online store, Webs offers a pretty comprehensive e-commerce solution.  You can choose to add a Web Store or integrate your Etsy store (if you have one) directly into your website.

Web’s web store has all the practical features that any online store will need.  It allows you to insert product images, descriptions, prices, set tax options, shipping options, configure product versions (so your visitor can select different versions of the same product), and product status.

You can also set your products in different categories to allow for easier sorting.

For premium accounts, you also have access to the inventory tracking system.  This system helps you manage and track your product directly in Webs dashboard.

Webs.com Review eCommerce

You can use PayPal as your payment processor to collect money from your customers.  You will have more payment options if you choose to integrate your Etsy store in the website.

Overall, we think in our Webs.com review that it has a decent set of e-commerce tools to help you build a web store.  To take maximum advantage of what their tools have to offer, you will need to upgrade to their premium packages, which is something you should consider if you are serious about your business (we will discuss premium packages and pricing below).

Another positive point is that Webs does not take a transaction fee from each of your sale (some other shopping carts provider out there does take a percentage of your sales), so you get to keep all your profits.

WEBS SEO (Search Engine Optimization)

Webs allows you to optimize all the basic SEO functions, such as titles and descriptions for your overall website.  However, you will need to subscribe to a paid plan in order to customize the titles, description and meta tags for individual web page.

Webs also provides you with an internal traffic tracking tool which allows you to see how many visitors you have, number of pageviews, monthly averages, traffic sources, etc.

Webs review - Clicky

Of course, if you want to use Google Analytics instead of Webs’ own stats tracking tool, you can definitely do so.  Just insert the snippet of tracking code you get from Google Analytics into the “Settings” tab when you are in your Webs dashboard.

HOSTING AND EXPORT OPTIONS

Webs provides free hosting, so you don’t have to pay extra for that, even if you are not using their paid plans.  This is helpful as you will not need to manage your own hosting.  If there are any technical or security issues, Webs will manage it for you so your website will always work properly.

With the free plan you have limited storage space and limited bandwidth, so the size of you site will be restricted.  However, the free space you receive should be sufficient for you to build a basic website.  Upgrade to their paid packages to receive more storage space and bandwidth.

One downside of Webs is there is no exporting function.  This means if you ever want to use a different website builder or host your own website, you can’t take the website with you.  You will need to build the site from scratch if you ever choose to leave Webs.

This is not entirely uncommon as Wix and Jimdo also have this restriction.  If this is an important consideration for you, you can check out Weebly or Squarespace as they do allow you to export websites.

Our Webs.com review recommendation is that if you’re interested in Webs, try it for free to see if it fits your needs.  This way, you can decide whether you would like to commit.

PRICING – IS IT WORTH THE INVESTMENT?

You can try using Webs for free and there is no pressure to upgrade since they don’t impose a time limit for using them for free.

With the free account, you will have limited features, storage space and bandwidth and you won’t be able to access their 1-on-1 customer support unless you decide to upgrade.

If you do decide to upgrade to Webs’ premium plans, they have a 30 day money back guarantee policy,which removes the financial risks from you:

Webs.com Review 30 Day Guarantee

Webs has 3 levels of premium plans: Starter, Enhanced and Pro.

Webs Pricing Page

If you sign up to a 1 or 2 year plan, you do get a “bulk” discount of 33% off the monthly price – a substantial savings if you are comfortable with committing to use Webs after you test them out with a free account.

Further, if you sign up to their 1 or 2 year plan, they will waive the $10 set up fee, which is only applicable if you sign up for a month to month payment plan.

You will also receive a free custom domain if you sign up to their Enhanced or Pro annual packages (which is about a $12 value with most domain name registrars such as GoDaddy)

So if you sign up for a 2 year plan, you will save 33% and for a 1 year plan, you will save 15%.  If you sign up for either the 1 year and 2 years plans, you will also receive a free domain name (which will cost about $12 or so with most domain name registrars).

Webs.com Review premium plan

This screenshot displays the Enhanced Premium Package from Webs

The benefit of upgrading to premium plans, of course, is that you will gain access to premium features, such as full range of e-commerce tools and priority support.

If you benchmark prices of premium plans across other website builders, you’ll notice that the monthly investment of using Webs as your website builder is pretty fair, or even slightly on the cheaper side.

Further, Webs give you $100 worth of advertising credit to use for Google Adwords and Facebook Ads when you sign up for their Enhanced or Pro plans.  That alone will pretty much means you get to use Webs’ premium packages for free for the first year.

As mentioned in our Webs review, this website builder provides you with a number of good tools if you are building an online store, and their App store gives you some helpful tools that are fully integrated with Webs to help manage your business.  The benefits of using integrated tools is quick and hassle-free installation, and that you can confident that the Apps will not conflict with Webs.

WEBS.COM REVIEW – CONCLUSION / RECOMMENDATION

Based on our Webs.com review, this website builder is a solid website builder with lots of practical features and Apps to allow you to build a fully functional website for small business and/or online store.

Further, if you want to set up a membership sign up website, Webs is one of the very few website builders that have this feature provided for you as part of their builder.  The benefit for you is that you don’t have to install an external membership system which may cause conflict with the website builder – that’s a headache you don’t need.

Overall, our Webs.com review results is that it is a user-friendly builder and the learning curve to learn how to use it is pretty low, so you can build a website without tearing your hair out.

Although the design template selection is somewhat limited when compared to other website builders, they do provide you with some decent customization options for each template.  If you are not overly picky on design, you can find something you like.  In addition, Webs has good mobile site customization features, which is helpful as more people are “going mobile”.

A good approach is to start with a free website, familiarize yourself with their tools and how easy or difficult it is for you to use webs, then make your decision to upgrade or not.

After all, Webs is free for you to try, and even if you decide to upgrade, they still have a 30 day money back guarantee policy, which removes the financial risks from you.

Keep in mind that there is no time limit to use their free services.

Try Webs for Free

Found This Review Helpful?

Leave a comment below; or

Share it with your friends – Tweet, Like, Follow, Pin us below.

The biggest compliment we can receive from you is a Share!

Summary
Reviewer
Jeremy Wong
Review Date
Reviewed Item
Webs.com
Author Rating
3

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

Subscribe

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

,

Leave a Reply

48 Responses to Webs.com Review – 55 Million Websites Built? Why It’s Good for You?

  1. HarryJ September 4, 2014 at 8:29 AM #

    Hi, I guess the 50cents option doesn’t include an email address? And it is only for 30 days, right?

  2. Noel Wells August 3, 2014 at 6:14 PM #

    Jeremy,

    Thanks so much for the information. I have signed up with their PRO package and FB package where they build the site and aggressively market the site and FB page. This costs 340 a month which is well worth it to me if they really do assist me in marketing the site. I was told by someone at Webs that if I do the site myself that someone would have to enter the exact domain in google to get to my site. With this package they say my site will pop up with more “generic” searches on google and other search engines. Does this all sound accurate to you? Any feedback greatly appreciated!

    Noel Wells

    • Jeremy Wong August 4, 2014 at 9:53 AM #

      Hi Noel,

      I can’t comment on whether the service is worthwhile as I haven’t used it before. But in general, based on my experience and also observing others, having your website showing up on the first couple of pages of Google search results is not an easy task. Frankly speaking, at least the way I surf the web, anything that falls on even page 2 won’t get a whole lot of clicks.

      Having said that, I would ask the service provider for references and/or examples of previous work done. $340 per month is quite an investment over the long term and so I think you’re definitely entitled to ask for as much evidence as you need before committing.

      Good luck with that!

      – Jeremy

    • Eric Webs August 4, 2014 at 1:34 PM #

      Hi Noel!

      I am a support representative from Webs and will be happy to help with your question.

      It sounds like you may be looking at a different service provider, as Webs does not currently offer services where we build a site or market it for you. We do offer an SEO booster tool to help you optimize your site for search engine results.

      If you have any questions, please feel free to get in touch with support at http://help.webs.com or visit us on Facebook at https://facebook.com/WebsCares. Thanks!

  3. Norm July 24, 2014 at 7:46 AM #

    Thanks Jeremy

    Excellent, very informative and very helpful review and far superior to several other Webs reviews I wasted time reading.

    • Jeremy Wong July 24, 2014 at 12:26 PM #

      Glad you found our discussions helpful Norm!

      – Jeremy

  4. Paulie July 4, 2014 at 1:38 PM #

    One big concern if you are using Webs for e-commerce, You are limited to only the use of Pay-Pal for payment options on their app as google checkout has been discontinued. If you have a problem with paypal which many do, You are SOL

    • Jeremy Wong July 5, 2014 at 7:09 PM #

      Hi Paulie,

      One option is to use Ecwid which is an independent ecommerce tools add-on that you can insert into your Webs website. Since it is a dedicated ecommerce tools provider, they have a lot of flexibility to help you add products, organize them by categories, has a huge list of compatible shopping carts, and so much more.

      They can help transform most non-ecommerce websites into a pretty functional online store.

      – Jeremy

  5. Pascali May 29, 2014 at 12:04 AM #

    You guys have to be kidding……

    You can’t even find where to send an e-mail to ask a simple question.

    I have my own domain and it won’t even let me register.

    Would like to ask a simple question like….”Can I create my own template to load or background” and there is no “contact us” section. You need to go via the stupid forum. This is where most internet business fail.

    Any idea if they have a sales section you can ask a simple enquiry?

    Amazing…

    • Jeremy Wong May 29, 2014 at 12:34 AM #

      Hi Pascali,

      If you go to Webs’ forum, on the upper right corner there is a button labelled “Submit A Request”. There you can email their support team with your question.

      Hope this helps!

      – Jeremy

  6. Carolyn April 18, 2014 at 11:59 AM #

    Excellent, thorough reviews, which have been invaluable in helping me to narrow down my choices of website builder – I’m now close to a decision!

    Thank you very much!

    • Jeremy & Connie April 18, 2014 at 1:46 PM #

      You’re very welcome Carolyn. Glad we can be helpful. Do click on the social sharing buttons at the top and left side of this page to share it with other! You never know who else might benefit from this.

      – Jeremy

  7. Dan April 18, 2014 at 3:59 AM #

    Webs.com is a really good website builder. In my opinion Webs.com is the best. I like it because it is so easy to use and has lots of awesome features which a lot of other website builders don’t have. Even if you use the free version it still is pretty awesome. Another thing is that the prices are really cheap. Some other website builders try to rip you off with their ridiculous pricing. I personally would give Webs.com a 10 out of 10.

  8. Alberto April 12, 2014 at 4:24 PM #

    Extremely useful information. It has helped my decision-making tremendously.

  9. Taylor March 12, 2014 at 1:00 PM #

    I have to say, for the time that I have used Webs, it has been great. It was so easy to just make my website with the templates and everything else. In my mind, the only flaw is that it gives non premium user so little bandwidth, like me. I have recently used it up, which means my website is now frozen, and it is very annoying. I think that if the bandwidth was bigger for non premium people, it would be so much better for everyone, users and webs. Other than that, its great!

  10. febin varghese February 20, 2014 at 10:47 PM #

    webs.com free website is the most user friendly professional looking website available. If we have some sense of designing ,we can make the website much more beautiful than the websites we make by spending a lot of money.I am using it and I suggest my friends to use this site

    • Jeremy & Connie February 21, 2014 at 12:04 PM #

      Thanks for sharing your experience Febin!

      – Jeremy

  11. davy February 17, 2014 at 8:09 AM #

    i have used free webs for some years now and have enjoyed using it. it has to be one of the easiest sites to build a web site on. I would give it 100 out of 100, but my only gripe is if you use the free version you have no feedback when there is a problem. my site has been frozen for days and although i have emailed the abuse link and posted on web forum it seems no one gives a hoot. sadly im not the only one with this problem. as i say webs is a great site with easy to use tools but the customer service is poor. perhaps ive just been unlucky…

  12. David Theiler February 13, 2014 at 8:58 AM #

    I liked your reviews and the way you set out the options. I have chosen to use Webs.com but I need someone to build the web site for me. Ironically I have a ‘software company’ with a patented program and my former software engineer had it under her name so when the annual bill came due I did not see it so after a month the hosting company deleted the files!!! I had the web site for 10 years and have the files that were used on that site and as it is a business i need the website back up. It has been down for a year and I have been to busy to deal with it. Can you point me in the right direction to find some one to do the new work? And how much will it cost me. Does webs.com have people to build the websites for you?

    • Jeremy & Connie February 14, 2014 at 3:19 PM #

      Hi David,

      I don’t have any specific freelancers in mind, but you can always find very capable ones on Elance or oDesk for hire.

      Hope this helps!

      – Jeremy

    • Brian Jones February 14, 2014 at 3:31 PM #

      Hello David,

      I have a guy that I can refer you. He is in the Orlando, FL area and is an up and coming website builder but does good work. He did some of my work for my site and he will not price hack you for his work. Email me @[email protected] and I will get his information for you.

  13. Ernest February 11, 2014 at 10:21 AM #

    I was thinking about choosing GoDaddy before. But, I do not think that business has what I want. Or if they do, I may have to pay so much money.

    Therefore, I would like to try Webs.com. If I can build a membership site in which I can sell digital files to customers, I would appreciate it. I would even upgrade my membership once I get to know Webs.com well and analyze how I feel about it.

  14. Whiztory January 29, 2014 at 2:17 PM #

    I have been with Webs since 2011, and I have to say it has been very useful. I have plenty of options, and could find an appropriate template. I love it. There are a few bugs here and there, but it is great.
    I currently still have the old designer, and I tried make an additional website with the new, modified one. It is much harder, personally. The drag and drop is good, but it used to be much better and there was better options. However, Webs would still be the website builder I would recommend before any others, even Wix.

    • Jeremy & Connie January 30, 2014 at 11:07 AM #

      Hey Whiztory – thanks for sharing your experiences!

      – Jeremy

  15. Martin November 30, 2013 at 9:12 PM #

    Hi! I have an account there since many years ago (profesormartinlopez.webs.com), but since last monday nobody in my country can acces to it (Uruguay). It’s a web for my students, I work every day with it and it’s very needed… I will appreciate some information about the problem. Thanks!

    • Webs.com December 10, 2013 at 5:45 AM #

      Hi Martin,

      Thanks for reaching out – our records indicate you had also reached out via Facebook and we were able to resolve your inquiry on 12/4. Thanks for being a valued Webs user and please don’t hesitate to reach out to us in the future should you need anything!

      Best Regards,
      Webs

  16. Janine October 18, 2013 at 8:57 AM #

    My Opinion of Webs.com.

    I have been with Webs.com since 2007.

    Before upgrading their system this year “2013”, Webs.com was like a roller coaster…sometimes all was well, but often they had unacceptable issues that would cost a website owner money due to loss of sales when their website froze up, or after editing something, the entire page would get deleted “after” you click “publish”…You would have no way of knowing until it was too late that all your work would be deleted on that page.

    They took eternity to fix system errors. If I had to rely on my website for my entire income, I would have left webs a long time ago. I’ve kept it only for the sake of not wanting to start from scratch with a different web host and still not knowing if they will be any better.

    HOWEVER…It does seem that after re-vamping their system, things are running very smooth. I have not had any issues yet and their live chat has a pretty fast response time…but the chat reps don’t seem to be experts at all, that may come in time. Also, I have recently seen complaints from other webs.com members regarding errors and what not. Often times, it’s the newbie that makes a complaint because they don’t understand how to use the system, which brings me to another point…the previous system was so much more user friendly…I don’t understand some of the decisions they made with this new system. It used to be that you could just go to any of your pages and edit right from there…now you have to edit in a box like the comment box I’m writing in now…just a white background and black letters, you don’t get to see the final edit until you submit it…that to me is completely ridiculous…they used to have lots of fonts, now they have few and in my opinion, they suck.

    It does seem that webs has gone backwards in many areas with this new system. Backwards meaning, they have gone from having tons of themes and layouts to having very few. There were better HTML capabilities to change your themes or add things to your page then they have now. But the new system, has more options to tech up your website…I think they put most of their focus there just to get the new program up and running. They are adding more themes, tools and customizations.

    I don’t think you will see all the great options and features until you upgrade to enhanced or pro. I am putting together a new website using the free option until I know if webs will work out for sure or not, so far it looks like they will…But, there are only a handful of themes to choose from…which I will probably change after upgrading.

    ***A great thing about webs is that they have a feedback section for their members/customers. If you have a complaint or an idea, you can post it. Other members will see your post and can vote “thumbs up” for your idea and after many votes “for” the idea, they usually will implement it. Webs is definitely slow when it comes to adding new ideas and features, it seems they just don’t want to spend the money for more programers.

    Overall, with the new system, and plans to improve and add new features, I think Webs.com is a good option.

    Janine

    RockSpringsSchnauzers.com

    • Jeremy & Connie October 18, 2013 at 9:30 AM #

      Hey Janine,

      Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and adding to this discussion. I agree that they are experiencing some growing pains, but that is just natural for all web builders as they make improvements to their system.

      The bright side is, at least they are constantly working to improving and growing their web builder which is very positive for users. The worst thing that can happen is if they don’t grow and remain stagnant.

      Thanks again for sharing your thoughts!

      – Jeremy

      • Janine October 18, 2013 at 12:23 PM #

        You are right about needing to continue their growth. They just need to be careful not to ruin a good thing…it was not necessary to take away simple tasks like editing and great fonts etc.

        I need to make a correction…the editing box DOES show the text colors you choose when editing, it is not only black text, however, it still makes editing take longer sometimes when the colors you choose don’t look good against the background “after” you submit your edits.

        Also, the way your page appears in edit mode does not always mean that is how it looks to the viewer, so always check your website as a viewer after publishing your page.

        Even with all the shenanigans we have to put up with, with Webs, it is still easier to manage and has more features than others in it’s class. :)

    • Webs.com November 20, 2013 at 8:20 AM #

      Hi Janine,

      Thank you for being a loyal customer to Webs and for your honest review. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide prospective Webs customers your experience, including any ups and downs you have encountered over the years. We are always striving to make the best product available and do take into consideration feedback received from our customers.

      Thanks again!
      Webs.com

  17. Trish October 15, 2013 at 2:40 AM #

    Hello thank you for the review, I think I’m now ready to upgrade. Quick questions, I’ve had this website for a year now but the problem with it is that it just sits there how do people know to go in it? I would like it to be listed in searcheable engines (google, yahoo etc) this would be the point of a website. Also, if I want to renovate the site and upgrade will I be able to change the name of the site. Thank you

    • Jeremy & Connie October 15, 2013 at 8:36 AM #

      Hi Trish – what you are referring to what the industry calls “Search Engine Optimization” or SEO. Basically is to have your content rank well in the search engines.

      If you just type in SEO in the search engines, there are plenty of material covering it (too much in fact) so you may have to sift through them to find the helpful information.

      – Jeremy

      • Webs.com November 20, 2013 at 8:26 AM #

        Hi Trish,

        Webs.com here! SEO is an important part when it comes to customers finding your website. The more content you have on your website, the more likely it will appear within search engines. Some of our paid packages offer SEO boosters. If you are in need of ideas, please check out our blog (http://www.webs.com/blog/) which aims to assist small business owners.

        Thanks!
        Webs.com

    • Kate October 16, 2013 at 1:10 AM #

      Hi trish I too just created a site under the free option with basic content, an online store. I wanted to see what it looked like first. I was presently suprised and the whole thing only took me an hour. I’m deciding whether to upgrade and roll this thing out seriously but like you I’m not sure about the methods I can employ to get people to visit my site. Did you gave any luck with the SEO? Let me know. I’m happy to shar some ideas.
      Cheers
      Kate

    • Janine October 18, 2013 at 8:15 AM #

      Hi Trish…When you upgrade, you are allowed a certain number of websites…I have the pro plan and I think I get at least 10 additional websites. So you can just make a new website to change the name.

      I am not 100%, but I think you CAN change the name of your website. There’s an option that allows you to choose your “primary” domain or have a secondary or tertiary domain for your already built website.

  18. Christina September 11, 2013 at 9:21 AM #

    Hi Jeremy and Connie,
    Thanks for your review of Webs. I currently have a website with them, and want to have a webstore, but can find no examples of websites that actually have a shop with them. I asked in live chat, and he could give me no examples either. Are you aware of any websites that host their stores through them? I would really like a better idea of what they look like to the customer. Thanks so much!

    • Jeremy & Connie September 11, 2013 at 10:10 PM #

      Hey Christina – I don’t have any examples at the moment. Does any one else reading these comments seen one? If so please do share!

      – Jeremy

      • Cynthia June 11, 2014 at 3:04 AM #

        Hi Christina,

        We have two websites currently hosted by Webs, one on the old platform and one on the new. On the new one we have set up a webstore and it seems to be working fine. My only problem with their webstore is that they have limited options when it comes to selling ebooks (our product) – it is difficult to make sure that people only download what they have paid for. We have followed Webs’ recommendation on the matter, but you still have to basically trust that your customers will only click on the download links for those ebooks they have purchased. If you are selling physical items though, it should work great.

    • Webs.com November 20, 2013 at 8:29 AM #

      Hi Christina,

      Webs here! Definitely check out our blog for example sites (http://www.webs.com/blog/category/example-sites/). We try to highlight some of our customers’ sites and the great things they are doing. You will be able to find sites that have e-commerce enabled, while also seeing how they engage their customers.

      Thanks!
      Webs.com

    • Baba Oggun February 7, 2014 at 9:53 AM #

      Hello Christina,

      I have a webstore with webs.com and it is rather easy to run the store and set up. I do wish they gave you the ability to have a range of prices for one item as well as coupons but other than these two things their store is rather easy to use.

  19. Shana September 5, 2013 at 8:18 PM #

    I every time spent my half an hour to read this website’s articles or reviews all the time along with a cup of coffee.

  20. Elizabeth July 28, 2013 at 8:08 AM #

    Like all your reviews, this was particularly helpful to me in my planning for a new site. Thank you, I appreciate it. e.

    • Jeremy & Connie July 28, 2013 at 11:11 AM #

      Thanks Elizabeth – glad you found our thoughts helpful!

      – Jeremy

  21. Stenly June 17, 2013 at 4:55 PM #

    Dear team,

    I have created revivalreformation.webs.com, and I want to move all the content of skarwurcorps.webs.com to the one I have created. how could I do that?

    Thank you for your assistance

    • Jeremy & Connie June 17, 2013 at 11:47 PM #

      Hey Stenly,

      I’m not entirely sure if you can copy content from one Webs.com website to another. I certainly haven’t tried it myself. Have you asked their support team?

      If someone else reading this comment thread knows or can contribute, that would be awesome.

      – Jeremy

  22. Derek April 28, 2013 at 1:53 PM #

    Really good review – informative, well presented and unbiased information.

    • Jeremy & Connie April 28, 2013 at 3:18 PM #

      Thanks Derek. Webs is a really good website builder to use, especially if you want to build a membership-based website. Glad you found it helpful!

      – Jeremy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 14 good free website generators | Web n' Circle - December 15, 2013

    […] Webs is provides free hosting that allows people to make their own free website with photos, videos and e-commerce. See reviews from WhoIsHostingThis and WebsiteBuilderExpert. […]