GoDaddy Website Builder Review – How Good Is It?

Last updated on October 18, 2016

GoDaddy Review

GoDaddy review


GoDaddy website builder offers you professional designs, 24/7 support access (phone, live chat, email) and the ability to create backup points.

However, it doesn’t not offer ecommerce tools and you need to re-insert your content if you ever change design templates.

Overall, a decent website builder that’s reliable and supported by a large support team.

Review by
Last Updated on October 18, 2016

If you’re wondering if the GoDaddy can help you easily build a beautiful and functional site, then this GoDaddy website builder review will answer your question.

If you haven’t heard of GoDaddy, where have you been hiding? (Just kidding)

GoDaddy is the largest domain name registrar in the world, and offers one of the most comprehensive set of website building tools to its customers.

They manage over 60 million domain names (a domain name is just a website address, such as, has more than 13 million paying customers (not free users, but people who actually happily pay), and has a very strong 24/7, 365 days customer support system (we can confirm this based on our own experiences).

So why are we highlighting all these points? It’s just to set a stage for you to understand who you are dealing with here. GoDaddy is a very strong, reputable company that has been playing Super Bowl ads for many years.

So if you are considering using GoDaddy website builder to create your website, rest assured that you are relying on a well established company with a very strong reputation for support (more on this below).

Whether you can build a good website with their tools is a completely different discussion, which is why you’re reading this GoDaddy website builder review, right?

Let’s dive right into our thoughts….

Here are other good website builders you can consider and you can see how they compare to GoDaddy


  1. Easy to Use with Professional Design Themes – GoDaddy builder has a very intuitive user interface, so you won’t get overwhelmed with a lot of useless bells and whistles. All their tools are drag & drop (such as inserting images, slideshows, contact forms, etc), so you can position them any where on your website without any restrictions.GoDaddy also gives you over 300 professional looking templates, all pre-populated with content so it makes it easy for you to build out your website (this is exceptionally helpful if you don’t know where to start!) You just have to replace their pre-populated content (such as text and images) with your own and you’re ready to go. If you want to adjust the design and layout, it’s quite easy as you can just drag content around or add new pages. The user interface is smooth and easy to use.
  2. 24/7/365 Phone, Live Chat and Email Support – GoDaddy has a good reputation for providing very strong support to its customers. When we say “strong”, we mean you can pick up your phone, call them any time and they will actually answer! Their website will show you how long it takes before you get through to them, and in our experiences the average is about 5 – 10 minutes which is really good.You can also engage in live chat, or if you’re not in a huge rush, you can submit a support ticket (email) in which they will get back to you in about 10 to 15 hours. So if you’re in a bit of a rush, phone support or live chat. As far as website builders go, GoDaddy has the best support system available to you.
  3. Create Backup Points & Restore Function – GoDaddy website builder allows you to create backup copies of your website whenever you want. So you can save multiple copies / versions of your website, just in case if you make a mistake and want to restore to a previous version of your website.This is a very powerful function that no other website builders offer, and can come in very handy to you if you accidentally saved some changes that you didn’t intend to. You can save multiple versions of your website so you’re not restricted to restoring only the most recent version. Backups are important, we’ve all felt the pain of not having that option!

Try GoDaddy Risk-Free

  1. Can’t Change Themes – Even though GoDaddy website builder has a lot of pre-made designer templates for you to select, one of the main downside is that once you’ve picked a theme to use, you can’t switch to another one without losing your content. So make sure you try out and choose your theme very carefully before committing to one. This is a bit annoying for sure, and if you want the flexibility to change design templates when you want to, Squarespace and Weebly allows you to change templates as often as you want, without losing any of your content.
  2. No e-Commerce Tools – This version of GoDaddy website builder doesn’t come with any e-commerce tools. GoDaddy has another website builder that’s dedicated specifically to online stores, so if you want to build an e-commerce store, that website builder will probably suit you better (or check out some other online store builders here). At the end of the day, if you just want to add a “buy now” button, you can use the “HTML Code” tool in the builder, and insert PayPal’s buy now button codes. But this gives you very limited functions. We’d suggest you check out other online store builders as highlighted above.
  3. Very Basic Mobile Display – Even though GoDaddy website builder does automatically convert your site into a “mobile friendly” interface for people visiting your website using smart phones, the look and feel of the mobile versions of their websites is “basic” at best, especially when compared to how good their themes look on a desktop computer. One unique function that they have is that you have the option to hide or display any content pieces from the mobile version of your website. So if you don’t want a specific slideshow to be displayed on your mobile website, you can switch it off. This is a pretty cool feature and gives you a bit more flexibility to configure your mobile website. But at the end of the day, the overall design / layout of the mobile site is “basic” at best.  Here are some other website builders with better mobile sites if this is an important factor for you.

Try GoDaddy Risk-Free


Based on our GoDaddy website builder review, if you are a small business owner, designer, musician, restaurant owner, a professional (lawyer, finance, accounting) who want to build a website that’s creative, GoDaddy should be able to help you.

As mentioned in the Top 3 Pros section above, GoDaddy website builder is easy to use, minimalistic (in a good way) and comes with great support. This enables you to quickly and efficiently gain an online presence, so you can focus on other busier parts of your life.

Technology can be a bit (or very!) painful at times, so having a strong, contactable support team to help you, and having the ability to make multiple backup versions of your website, can make your life a lot easier.

GoDaddy Website Builder review - support

As mentioned under one of the drawbacks above, is that if you think that the majority of your visitors will be visiting you through their smartphones, then perhaps another website builder with stronger mobile interfaces will suit you better.

Also, if you want to build an e-commerce online store, here are a few better options that can help you accomplish that.


GoDaddy website builder is a true drag & drop interface, so you can insert content on pretty much anywhere on the website (you can even overlap content if you really want to).

The platform is a WYSIWYG (which stands for What You See Is What You Get) builder, so whatever you insert into the website editor, will show up the same way once you publish your website.

The way GoDaddy lays out its builder is quite visually friendly. Their tool bar is neatly laid out on the left hand side, and you can even hide it to maximize your screen real estate for better editing. They only have one single tool bar to keep things simple and minimalistic which is nice. So you don’t have to dig around forever to find things.

As mentioned as one of the Pros above, in addition to phone, live chat and email support, GoDaddy has an extensive support library / documentation, so if you’re unsure of anything, you can always search for help in their support library (more on this below).

Overall, we found GoDaddy a lot easier to use than some other website builders in the market. They may not have as many bells and whistles, but the benefit to you is that they give you the necessary, core website building tools to get the job done without cluttering things up.

If you want a more advanced website builder that comes with a lot more tools and features, I’d recommend you check out Wix or Squarespace.  Both are great website builders, and have a lot of tools that you might not find with GoDaddy.

Try GoDaddy Risk-Free


GoDaddy gives you over 300 templates to pick from, designed specifically for various industry categories such as business, finance, law, education, health & beauty, music / entertainment, charity, design portfolio, family, wedding, real estate, restaurant, recreation, etc.

So the chances of you finding a design theme that suits your needs is pretty good.

As discussed above, one of the positive things about GoDaddy’s themes is that they come structured and pre-populated with content (which form part of the overall design of their themes), making it easy for you to just insert replace the content with your own.

This can save you a lot of time (versus creating your own design) and it’s especially helpful if you are unsure of your design capabilities.

Another good website builder that also offers this (a lot of stylish templates that come pre-populated with content) is Wix.  Further as mentioned above, Wix has a lot more advance website building tools if you find GoDaddy’s website builder a bit too simplistic.  Here is our detailed discussion on Wix for more information on how Wix can help you build your website.

GoDaddy website builder review - templates

One of the major drawbacks of GoDaddy website builder is that once you pick a theme, you can’t change to another theme without losing your content. So we recommend you play around with and test out a few templates to start, before finalizing things and start populating the theme with your own content.

If being able to change templates without losing any of your content, I’d suggest you take a look at Squarespace or Weebly – they both give you the flexibility to change up your design as often as you want, without having to rebuild your website content.

Another issue to consider is that GoDaddy doesn’t give you access to edit the HTML or CSS codes of their themes. So if you know a bit of code or if you are working with a coder and want to make very specific design edits through codes, this option is not available to you at the moment. But, if you don’t intend to mess around with codes, then this won’t concern you at all.

If you want to have access to edit HTML or CSS, Weebly is a good website builder for you to consider using.

Overall, GoDaddy website builder offers a good range of very stylish themes, and they are particularly helpful if you need a starting point to build a beautiful website, or if you don’t want to create a design from scratch.


GoDaddy Customer Support

GoDaddy Website Builder review - supportGoDaddy is very well known to provide very strong support to its customers. You can reach a support rep within minutes on the phone, live chat, and if you are not in a rush, they answer their email support tickets usually within half a day.

All their support channels are made available to you 24/7, 365 days a year, and they don’t discriminate against which plan you are using. With most other services, to get phone support you have to be subscribed to their higher (if not highest) plans.

With GoDaddy, even if you are using their most basic plan, you can get help through all their support channels. That’s pretty awesome.

GoDaddy Tutorial Resources

One of the things that we really like about GoDaddy’s support is their Support Portal. They have a comprehensive library of helpful tips and guides which can answer most of your questions most of the time (at least they did in our experiences).

You can use their search bar to quickly find relevant help topics, and their guides are quite easy to follow and are comprehensive.

What’s also really neat is that directly below each help topic, you can submit comments or questions if you are still not clear. So in a way, it’s quite interactive whereas for some other website builders, you’re still left in the dark without any ability to ask follow up questions.

If you are like us, we prefer to dive first into the Support Portal first to find information. If that doesn’t work, then we either use their live chat, email or phone support. But if you prefer a bit more “hand holding”, their live chat and phone support will work very well for you.

GoDaddy Community Forum

A helpful tool that some other website builders have is a community forum, where users can freely post questions, exchange ideas and find answers to questions that have already been asked.

GoDaddy doesn’t have such a forum yet at the time of this article. It’s a “nice to have” tool, but given GoDaddy’s quality and strength of their support team, we don’t think it’s a huge issue at all.


GoDaddy automatically converts your website into a mobile friendly interface so that your visitors can visit you on their smartphones and get a different experience than looking at the desktop version of your website.

As mentioned, we view that their mobile function as “basic” at best. While you have the option to hide certain content that is displayed on your desktop version of your website from the mobile view, that’s as far as the flexibility goes.

godaddy website Builder review - mobile-1

Don’t get us wrong. This is actually a very interesting feature that most other website builders do not offer, but we were hoping (wishing) for more granular control over the mobile interface.

So at the end of the day, if you anticipate that a meaningful percentage of your visitors will be visiting you through their smartphones, you may want to consider using a website builder that has a stronger mobile editor.

GODADDY SEO (Search Engine Optimization)

GoDaddy website builder allows you to optimize all the basic SEO functions such as title and description for each web page. This is no different from other website builders in the market, so it’s right on par.

goDaddy website builder Review - SEO

What GoDaddy also offers is a SEO service that is above and beyond their website builder plans. Their SEO plan starts at $2.69 per month which is not a significant investment at all.

Services include granting you access to their keyword and topic suggestion tool, structuring your website with their Rich Snippet and Market Generator, 1-click submission of your website to over 100 search engines, including leading ones such as Google, Bing, Yahoo, and SEO checklist and ranking reports.

While all these functions can be done manually without paying for this added service, it does take time so the question becomes whether you have enough time to manually engage in these activities.

Tools that automate these functions can save you time. Time is money, right?

Website Builder SEO Guide – see our opinion about SEO with various drag & drop website builders and how they compare with each other.

Try GoDaddy Risk-Free


Once you sign up to use the GoDaddy website builder, they include all the hosting services for you, so you don’t have to pay extra for that.

This is helpful so you don’t have to worry about managing hosting services as it can be technical (and a bit scary!) This way, you can focus on other more important things while GoDaddy manages technical issues such as security upgrades, and ensuring that your website is always working properly.

One fantastic feature that we mentioned under the Top 3 Pros section above, is that you can create multiple backup points, or backup versions of your website at any time. The benefit to you is that if you made a mistake, or for whatever reason want to restore to an older version of your website, you can do this with GoDaddy.

Godaddy website Builder review - backup restore

This is a very unique feature that other website builders don’t offer to you, and can come in very handy in the most inconvenient times!

One drawback of GoDaddy is that they don’t have an export function. What this means is that if you ever want to take the website out of GoDaddy website builder if you decide to leave them, they don’t have this function yet.

The lack of an export feature is not uncommon amongst drag and drop website builders as one of the main reasons for this, is that GoDaddy has a unique website building technology that won’t function properly outside of their own environment. So once you disconnect the website from GoDaddy, some functions will no longer work and other hosts cannot adapt to those functions.

If the ability to export your site is important to you, Weebly does have a full export option, and Squarespace allows you to export your blog.


GoDaddy website builder is slightly different from some other website builders in that it does not offer you a free plan, nor do they have a limited time trial program.

However, they do have a 45 days no questions asked refund period if you sign up to their annual plans, or a 48 hours refund period if you sign up to their monthly plans. In our view, this removes a lot of the risks from you, should you decide that their builder isn’t suitable for you.

GoDaddy website builder offers 3 plans:

  1. Personal – $5.99 per month (currently on sale for $1.00 / month)
  2. Business – $9.99 per month (currently on sale for $4.99 / month)
  3. Business Plus – $14.99 per month (currently on sale for $7.49 / month)

GoDaddy website builder review - Price

The pricing for the plans are in line with other website builders with similar capabilities for the Personal and Business plans.

The highest plan (Business Plus) is actually cheaper than other website builder’s highest plans. The main reason for this is probably due to the fact that other website builders provide you with e-commerce tools for their highest plans, while GoDaddy doesn’t (as discussed above).

In addition to getting website building tools, GoDaddy also gives you a free domain name which has a market value of around $12 per year.

The best value that you get, if you decide to use GoDaddy website builder, is the “instant” support you get. Considering the fact that you can have access to their support team through the phone or live chat within minutes, no matter which plan you sign up to, is worth a tremendous value to you. Their email support and support portal are also very helpful in our experiences.

So in our view, if you are serious about building a website and getting solid, consistent support, GoDaddy is a strong candidate you should consider.


Based on our GoDaddy website builder review, this easy to use, stylish and minimalistic builder can enable you to quickly build a good looking, professional website.

They have over 300 design templates for you to choose from, across a broad range of industries so it makes it easier for you to get your website up and running especially if you consider yourself without a lot of design talent.

With their 24/7/365 phone, live chat and email support, GoDaddy has one of the best reputation for providing solid support in the industry. This also helps you build a good website without a lot of keyboard bashing (from frustration that is!)

Their feature which allows you to create multiple backup versions of your website is also very helpful, just in case you ever want to revert to a previous version of your design.

A drawback of GoDaddy is that once you are committed to a design theme, you can’t switch themes for the same website (whereas other website builders do give you this ability) – so pick your template carefully before committing.

Another drawback is their lack of e-commerce tools. The GoDaddy website builder is not designed for building an online store at all. So if you are considering building an e-commerce website, take a look at a few other options here.

Although GoDaddy currently doesn’t have a free plan or a trial period, they do have a fair refund policy where if you signed up for an annual plan, you can get a full refund within 45 days, or if you signed up for only a monthly plan, you have 48 hours to ask for a full refund.  This effectively removes any financial risks from you.

If you want to create an award winning, industry leading website, then GoDaddy website builder isn’t the right tool for you. But if you want a relatively hassle-free, easy to use builder with a lot of design themes to pick up, and also being able to sleep better at night due to their strong support system, then GoDaddy website builder is a strong candidate for you to consider.

Try GoDaddy Risk-Free

Found This Review Helpful?

Leave a comment below; or

Share it with your friends – Tweet, Like, Follow, Pin us below.

The biggest compliment we can receive from you is a Share!

Jeremy Wong

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.


Jeremy Wong

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.


Leave a Reply

138 Responses to GoDaddy Website Builder Review – How Good Is It?

  1. Reg October 18, 2016 at 2:23 PM #

    It looks like godaddy has managed wordpress ability now with woocommerce included with SSL provided on the highest tier. They bought ManageWP in September. Looking forward to your updated review.

  2. Rajesh October 7, 2016 at 10:11 PM #

    Hi Jeremy, Thanks for your detail reviews.

    I Need to build my webpage through web builders. I am starting an e-commerce site.

    In your review ( side by side comparision of website builders) , you mentioned GoDaddy doesn’t have ecommerce supporting features but I see that they have some option called online store for people looking at building the ecommerce website.

    Is this online store different from what you mentioned in your comparison?

    Is this helpful to buy the online store web page or any other suggestions will help.


    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong October 10, 2016 at 12:24 PM #

      Hey Rajesh,

      Yes that’s right. The one we discussed in this review is different from the one you highlighted.

      If you’re looking to build an ecommerce store, have a look at our comparison chart here. It will also give you a few other options.


  3. Anthony September 23, 2016 at 8:20 AM #

    Weebly and other sites are 100 times better. No one can find your godaddy site, build the same site on another platform and your keywords appear but do not on godaddy. When you ask for help they alway attempt to sell another feature.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong September 23, 2016 at 9:31 AM #

      Thanks for your feedback, Anthony.

      For others who don’t know what Weebly is, you can see our review on this website builder here.


  4. Azita September 6, 2016 at 6:32 PM #

    Hello Jeremy,

    Thank you for such a comprehensive and informative page about website builders – the best I’ve come across so far. About a year ago I succumbed to a widely advertised, seemingly promising, state-of-the-art, the latest “Phenomenon” in web designers world ?? and sold me a one-year pre-public “Founding Member”. The (hugely over-sold The Grid.)

    Now that they’ve officially opened it to public (after a year of beta mode), I find 1000’s of complaints about the difficulty of the site … even by those techno savvy folks who have already set up their site on the Grid and ended up deeply disappointed and wouldn’t renew and have all written off their money that all 70,000 of us “founding members” foolishly shelled out – only to find out now it is non-refundable in their terms. Live and learn…

    Sorry for the long note, but I want others to beware of that new site builder that is truly a waste of time & money. My question to you is this: now that I want to start with another builder – from what I’ve learned from your guidance – I think GoDaddy, Weebly or Squarspace seem the best options for me (as a total novice & an artist who wants to sell online) because they allow me to use my already registered GoDaddy domain (as I believe you mentioned that Wix does not ?)

    I am considering GoDaddy personal (cheapest possible builder) just to have a gallery (as it lacks eCommerce) and add a link to Shopify or maybe even Art-Finder, as they do vast advertising for artists but unfortunately charge 30% of sales. And just use godaddy as a base website w/ hosting & fairly inexpensive. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you much in advance,

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong September 7, 2016 at 8:37 AM #

      Hey Azita,

      I’ve heard of The Grid! They were definitely heavily advertising it as an “Artificial Intelligence” program so it will build your website for you. Interesting to hear that it was a disappointment.

      You should definitely check out Wix. You can connect your domain name from GoDaddy to your Wix site. Their support center will show you how to do that.

      The reason why I’m suggesting Wix is that they’ve launched their own artificial intelligence program called ADI. ADI can help you build your website automatically and we’ve tried it out and it works quite well.

      It’s not perfect and it’s a relatively new program, but it goes a long way in helping you craft a website without putting in a lot of work.

      You can take a look at Wix’s ADI here.

      Let me know what you think!


      • Azita September 8, 2016 at 7:13 AM #

        Thank you Jeremy,

        Just FYI, here’s just one guy with major complaint (detail review) about the Grid … It is rather longish, so you can just fast forward to close to the end, but is worth watching…as website builders comparison is your area of interest. I have written off what I paid them..

        I thought you might suggest Weebly over Wix… But I will try both and report back. 🙂

        Thank you again for taking the time to make suggestions.

        • Jeremy Wong
          Jeremy Wong September 9, 2016 at 3:00 PM #

          Gosh that’s a long video for sure! I’ll check it out later tonight. Thanks for sharing, and good luck with other website builders!


  5. Big John September 6, 2016 at 7:10 AM #

    Great article.
    Long story short – I’ve got a friend who owns her own hosting facility (or whatever you call it). So she told me she can host my website for free.

    Is there any place that allows you to design a website – and then “take” that website (after buying a domain name) to your own hosting site?

    I thought I was doing this with WIX. I designed my website on their site. Then wanted to buy a domain name (that didn’t have WIX in the domain name) and have the website hosted on my friend’s hosting area.

    This doesn’t seem possible. And the “free” Wix platform means you have WIX in your domain name and they run ADS on your site. Both of which I clearly don’t want. Unless I’m not understanding it correctly, I don’t think WIX will let me do this.

    My site is basic. Just some stories and a few pictures. I can get my website without all the WIX ads and stuff…..but I’d have to pay $150 a year. That’s painful to pay as I have a free place to host it.

    I checked out the cheaper word press areas and you are really limited in website designs. I used one of them and my WIX one looks 100 times better than the wordpress.

    LONG STORY – sorry.

    So basically – is there a way I can use a website design place to build a website – nothing fancy, just stories and a few pictures (that’s literally it) – where you can then take that website to another place to host it. Without paying $100 to the website design company? THANK YOU

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong September 7, 2016 at 8:15 AM #

      Hi Big John,

      Unfortunately there isn’t a way to export your Wix site into another host. The challenge is that once your website is outside of Wix’s proprietary platform, you will no longer be able to use their drag & drop features, and some of their features need to be on their platform.

      With Squarespace, you can export your site to WordPress – but sounds like that’s not a favorable option to you as well.

      You can take a look at Weebly. You can export a website built with Weebly to any ordinary hosting service, but if you want to make any edits to your website you will have to modify the codes. As mentioned, once you are outside of a drag & drop building platform, you lose the ability to build websites easily.

      Take a look at the “Export” section in our Weebly review here. We have more information and have a link to a demonstration on how to export a Weebly site into a another host.


  6. Charles September 6, 2016 at 12:07 AM #

    Sadly, GoDaddy was quite proficient at taking my money and running. I had set up an account for a friend (as I have done with dozens of other hosting companies). I was very careful to make sure that auto-renewal was turned off and confirmed this over the phone with GD support.
    Over time, my friend suffered a stroke and could not access her account, so I called support for her to get it shut off. Unfortunately, she did not have her password, and nothing I could give them would allow access to the account. I told them that we would let it lapse the following month, and they said that would be fine.
    To my surprise, I was charged again for 2 years the next month, quite against all my settings and conversations. They then played ping pong with me for different support folks until the 30 days had expired and they stopped talking but kept my money.
    As I am in Australia, going to court is not possible, so I am left with no money and just a few articles to publish…it is a good lesson in not buying overseas.

    To reiterate, GoDaddy has not proven to be reliable or honest in my opinion.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong September 7, 2016 at 8:11 AM #

      Hi Charles,

      Thanks for sharing your experiences with us. As with Michael below, what happened to you surprised me.

      I’ve had a few “accidental” renewals before as I didn’t switch off that feature. I just emailed GoDaddy’s support team and they were able to refund me pretty much in 1 – 2 days. So I had the exact opposite experience. And I’m not based in the US, either.


  7. Michael F. August 2, 2016 at 12:59 PM #

    I just shut down my GoDaddy account, because of the auto-renewal policy and what seems like an in-ability to shut off the auto-renewal process. When I signed up for my website 3 years ago they give you a rate of $135.00 for a basic website and domain name, which is rather good value. I made sure to not have auto-renewal set, so that I can make a decision when the time comes to renew. Well to my surprise there was a renewal on my credit card statement for $330.00. I thought this was strange and I called GoDaddy and said my account was not supposed to auto-renew, they said yes it is and there is nothing I can do about it since it was past the 5 day cancellation period. I once again tried and stop the auto-renewal and called them and said are all of my services set to not auto-renew again. The agent informed me that they will still auto-renew, I was now frustrated and figured the only way to stop them was to cancel all of my services. This is a bit of a buyer beware thing, I am out of my money and my website, but still feel if I didn’t then next time they would get me again.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong August 3, 2016 at 10:35 AM #

      Hi Michael,

      That’s very unusual. I’ve used GoDaddy products (such as domain names, etc) for years now and I was always able to configure the auto-renew function and it never malfunctioned. Also, when something auto-renews, I always receive email notifications right away so I’m made aware of it. Interesting to hear your story though…


  8. dipu August 1, 2016 at 11:56 PM #

    I bought a domain name for 1 yr through godaddy and also builded some pages in my owned website by website builder of godaddy .
    now i just want some new features to be added into my webpage like archives,recently added etc. Unfortunately these facilties are not in godaddy.
    so wht to do ????
    If i am switching to any other website builder then whichi is the best ?
    Also my webpages will remain same or get deleted ??
    I am indian. So suggest me please wht to do ???

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong August 3, 2016 at 10:26 AM #

      Hey Dipu,

      Take a look at our website builder comparison chart here to see some other options.

      If you move to another platform, I’m guessing you’ll no longer be using the website built with GoDaddy. So you’ll need to rebuild all your pages again.


  9. a r July 9, 2016 at 12:02 PM #

    Why I left Godaddy

    I left Godaddy even though I chose them first thinking they were an American company and would be professional. I worked 25 years internationally in Animation and Special effects, and thought I made a safe choice.

    I just left Godaddy hosting even though I just renewed and still have a whole year of hosting still to be utilised. For the first year the service was fine but as soon as I renewed my hosting, it got unbearably slow, and took really long to load a page. This made it impossible to work on my sites. My other sites and youtube worked fine because I have a good internet connection, so it definitely was just Godaddy.

    I spent many days trying to phone to get an answer from Godaddy as to the cause of the problem, with no solution offered to me. They do not have email support, and so if the call disconnects after waiting for many minutes and explaining your problem, then you have to start all over again with a new person on the line.

    Eventually I got support via email from the Godaddy team, starting with an apology for not calling back, and a promise to call back the next day. That promised call back did not come for a whole week after, and for over a week I sent three emails reminding them of my problem. No response to my emails at all.

    Eventually, one of the phone support teams put my case to what was refered as the escalation desk. I got one call where I explained my troubles with Godaddy not responding to my emails or offering any reason to my problem. I had even offered to solve it if the trouble was from my end.

    At all stages I was polite and courteous. I suggested that if the trouble was not solved, to refund my money for the new year of hosting. I had renewed the new year in advance which is a mistake with Godaddy. While waiting for the support to get back to me, my refund period of one month had expired. So, I got a standard reply from the escalation desk to get back to the regular support team, with no explaination why Godaddy did not call back as promised or reply to regular emails.

    BTW, after I renewed the hosting for a large amount, two of their support team told me on separate occasions that I could have got it approximately 30% cheaper if I had called them, so I felt quite cheated to start with. On top of that the hosting service was unfunctionally slow, and finally I could not get support to solve my problem, and to crown it all, they did not reply to my emails.

    So I decided to forsake my expensive hosting which i just renewed for a year on Godaddy and shifted hosting providers. Double expense, but I did not want to work with Godaddy again. They lost my goodwill.

    Perhaps they have a system to blacklist customers, because last night I was on hold indefinitely waiting for Godaddy support, and tonight after a wait of 12 minutes, my call was answered. It was a routine nameserver inquiry which I politely requested and got my answers for.

    I think Godaddy support rides roughshod over its customers in India because they know that they can get away with it.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 11, 2016 at 11:20 AM #

      Hi A R,

      Thanks for sharing your experiences with us. Even though you weren’t using GoDaddy’s website builder, just hearing your overall feedback with regards to GoDaddy is helpful.

      If you’re in the market for a hosting company, have you considered BlueHost? I’ve generally had great experiences with them, and I know a few others who use BlueHost as well.

      If you’re building a WordPress website and you need “premium” services, check out WP Engine. They’re a bit more expensive, but in return you get blazing fast loading speed and really responsive and knowledgeable support. All their support personnel very familiar with WordPress.


  10. Vidya June 17, 2016 at 8:36 AM #

    Hey Jeremy,

    Thanks for the detailed article.
    I am stuck with a major doubt for a few weeks now. I have read your articles on other website builders(Wix/Weebly/Squarespace,etc) and decided to go with Wix due to their awesome collection of templates and ease of building the online store. But only after building the site, when it was time to upgrade, I learnt that it doesn’t support payment gateways for Indian cards i.e, my customers wouldn’t be able to pay online. That was so disappointing.

    I see that GoDaddy supports Indian cards for my customers to shop from my site, but I noticed that you have mentioned that it doesn’t have great e-commerce tools. So, here I am, asking for your suggestion on which website builder should I opt for, considering the payment gateway for India and the ease of using the tools too.


    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong June 17, 2016 at 11:37 PM #

      Hi Vidya,

      If you need specific payment gateways that supports India, take a look at Shopify (our review is here).

      They support over 70 different payment processors (see them here). Search for “India” and you’ll see the specific processors that might be relevant to your situation.

      Hope this helps!


  11. Dan May 1, 2016 at 2:51 PM #


    I have been with GD for a long time and am pleased with the service and how they keep things manageable. I started with Website Tonight a while ago, then Website Builder which were easy to use, but fairly limited in features. They are now changing again to a program I find awkward to use and again, limited in features. I am not a techno geek (no offense) but decided to look at WordPress only to come away feeling it was too complicated. Are there more modest programs better than the latest GoDaddy program and more intuitive than WP I could use still supported by GD? Should I jump ship and go to somewhere else who does it all like they do?

    I have been in business using this site for about 10 years, so it is important I keep it up and running and be able to edit it every few days. The site is primarily copy and pics. A slide show might be good and a counter.

    Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong May 1, 2016 at 9:01 PM #

      Hello Dan,

      Take a look at other leading drag & drop website builders such as Wix, Squarespace and Weebly. You can see a side by side comparison chart here.

      All of them are very easy to use – so you can build a very good website all by yourself, even if you’re not a “techno geek”! You can edit your site (add, modify, remove content) without touching any codes at all.

      Hope this helps!


  12. David April 8, 2016 at 2:00 PM #

    GoDaddy is terrible. Period! There are countless others to use.

    I had a website with GoDaddy and thought I was getting a quality product but it turns out the GoDaddy system is out dated.

    The emails don’t work well.

    I think GoDaddy panders to men hoping that Danica is all that’s seen.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong April 10, 2016 at 9:06 PM #

      Hey David,

      Sorry to hear about your experiences with GoDaddy. Here are a few other website builders that might be of interest to you. Specifically, I think Wix, Squarespace and Weebly are much better than GoDaddy in terms of user-friendliness and innovation.


      • Corri Milner June 29, 2016 at 4:15 PM #

        Built my website on Wix for 4 1/2 months only to find afterwards it didn’t translate to the mobile version and you have to rebuild it there. It was such a headache, I’m junking the site.

        Had a 2nd website with Weebly for a different business, still have it – it was super easy to build in 15 hours, translated well to the mobile version.
        However it has nearly 0 SEO going on. After several months it may list your website, but no SEO at all of your blogs or other things like SEO works on hosted other sites.

        • Jeremy Wong
          Jeremy Wong June 30, 2016 at 11:07 PM #

          Hi Corri,

          Thanks for sharing your experiences with us.

          Wix has a separate mobile editor, which allows users to configure and to a certain extent, customize their websites’ mobile layout. So yes, it does take a bit more work but the flexibility is a plus. We have a discussion about the mobile features across various website builders here.

          With regards to SEO, take a look at our website builder SEO guide here. I share my thoughts about this topic there.

          Thanks for sharing your comment with us!


    • Paresh Patil August 30, 2016 at 3:54 AM #

      We are also using GoDaddy services and facing more problem.If you are relay want to develop you company and want to received mail as wail as reply immediate then don’t use GoDaddy services.Better you pay more and go for gmail or another reputed company.
      There service

      • Jeremy Wong
        Jeremy Wong August 31, 2016 at 3:26 PM #

        Thanks for adding to this discussion, Paresh.

        Personally, We use Google Business Apps to power our business emails. We like working with the Gmail interface, its security, reliability, and the fact that we can brand our email addresses using our domain name.


  13. Candace Hitchcock March 24, 2016 at 1:56 PM #

    If you want to create an award winning, industry leading website, what do you suggest?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong March 24, 2016 at 8:17 PM #

      Hi Candace,

      I’m not entirely sure what the evaluation criteria is when it comes to awards, but I’d think that past winners probably have very customized sites, built from the grounds up by a very strong team of designer(s) and developer(s).

      In other words, probably expensive (generally speaking, but not always the case).


  14. Shashank January 25, 2016 at 1:02 AM #

    does godaddy personal website let me publish ads on my site or what will i do to publish ads on my site, and which pack i have to choose for it.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong January 25, 2016 at 2:30 PM #

      Hey Shashank,

      Yes – you can insert banner ads or Google Adsense into a website built with the GoDaddy website builder.


      • elwin October 13, 2016 at 11:03 AM #

        Ive been trying to add adsense and cannot figure out what I am doing wrong. there is no longer an adsense app in website builder… do you have any suggestions?

  15. Chris December 9, 2015 at 6:36 PM #


    I have built a website with godaddy and would like to add a members only section and a calendar, but cannot seem to figure out how to do such. Also is there a way to have drop down boxes or slide outs?

    Thanks in advance

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong December 11, 2015 at 11:56 AM #

      Hi Chris,

      Unfortunately I don’t think GoDaddy has a membership tool. If it is important to you, take a look at Wix or Weebly. Both have membership functions (you can find the Wix membership function in their Apps Market).

      However, neither are paid membership gateways. If you want to have a paid gateway (meaning that you charge your members a recurring fee to access the membership area), then take a look at Sentry Login which is a membership widget that you can bolt on to Wix or Weebly.


  16. Barb McConn December 2, 2015 at 1:58 AM #

    Hello Jeremy,
    My husband and I have invented an awesome product that we want to promote online. In our haste to make sure that the product name and domain name are the same we bought it at Go Daddy. Now that it’s time to set up the website we’re learning that using it on other website builders isn’t as easy as we’d hoped. Our only concern with Go Daddy after reading your articles, is that you don’t recommend it for ecommerce. Our needs, perhaps, are not typical. We will have just one product without many, if any, options. Do you think Go Daddy would work for us?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong December 2, 2015 at 3:35 PM #

      Hi Barb,

      If you want a good website builder, take a look at our comparison chart here.

      We do recommend Shopify as they are a pure ecommerce builder. You can see our discussion about them here.

      You can most definitely connect your domain name from GoDaddy to another website builder such as Shopify. In fact here are some instructions on how to do it.

      Hope this points you in the right direction!


  17. Zainab November 17, 2015 at 11:24 AM #

    Hello Jeremy,
    Wonderful article, it really helped a lot. I intend starting a clothing line, i have registered my domain name and i want to open an online store as well. I don’t know how to go about it, and also i don’t know if building a website would be better and i don’t know what hosting is all about.. Please i would like you to enlighten me and kindly advise me on what to do.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong November 18, 2015 at 7:16 AM #

      Hello Zainab,

      The GoDaddy website builder that we discussed here doesn’t offer ecommerce tools.

      Have a look at our recommendations for ecommerce builders here. Or you can also take our Quiz here to see which platform might be helpful to you.

      All the builders that we suggest don’t require you to get your own hosting (which powers your website so to speak). They provide all the hosting services so you don’t have to worry about that part.


  18. francis November 6, 2015 at 7:41 AM #

    Hi Jeremy

    Thank you for the info. I havefound it really helpful. This is prob a really naive question, but do any of these web builders allow you to add Amazon as an affiliate?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong November 6, 2015 at 12:06 PM #

      Hey Francis,

      Yes I think you can. I haven’t used Amazon affiliate links before, but I suspect it’s just a URL link that you embed into your site (similar to how you can create a link to direct people to other websites).

      So you can use any of the website builders outlined here to do that.


  19. Fiona November 3, 2015 at 4:48 PM #

    Hi Jeremy, I’m a complete novice. I used to have a blogger blog that I basically used as a diary. I have an eBook on Amazon and. registered with WordPress for a blog/website that I need to share my posts and promote my books. GoDaddy offered me a package for $78 for s year to set me up with domain name and hosting etc should I take them up on it? I need to get going but I’m frightened of all the extras. I’m quite skint – haven’t made my millions yet

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong November 4, 2015 at 1:58 PM #

      Hi Fiona,

      One option to consider is to choose to go with the non-technical route, and use a drag and drop website builder (code free). They provide all the hosting requirements for you so you don’t have to worry about connecting your website with your host, and hiring a coder to help you design / modify your website.

      Here are a few really good drag & drop website builders for you to consider. You literally can just drag the content around to design your website. With WordPress, you have to know how to code to modify your page layout.

      Hope this points you in the right direction!


  20. Linda September 18, 2015 at 6:41 PM #

    Hi, Jeremy . . . I have not been able to find how you access the file manager as the help menus say to go to “manage” and “tools”, but there is no option on my web site builder for this.

    I had originally up-loaded many large music files to put in music players which I have since removed. When I got ready to create a new music player on the site, it showed an “archived” area and guess what? Even though I thought I had deleted all of those out of storage, they are in archives and I cannot seem to get to them to delete them.

    From what I have seen on my products, I only have ten G.B. of space allowed, so am worried that if I cannot delete these from my account, I will not be able to up-load any large files at some point in the future.

    Please tell me how I can remove “archived” files that are no longer needed individually.

    Thank you in advance.

  21. conrad September 1, 2015 at 2:59 AM #

    Hello, based on the review I feel its better to go with WIX ? I plan to have an event management website which offers 3 different services including wedding/party planner. Kindly advise.

    Best regards,

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong September 1, 2015 at 5:15 PM #

      Hey Conrad,

      Wix is a really good website builder. You can see how it compares to GoDaddy in our comparison table here.

      The best way to see if you like using them is to sign up to a free account and give them a test run!


  22. Navin July 30, 2015 at 6:35 PM #

    Hello, I have already purchased Godaddy website builder plan before 2 months. Can I use the registered domain with self created php or html website? Can I upload my site using FIlezeila?
    Please Guide me as don’t have much technical knowledge

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 31, 2015 at 11:56 AM #

      Hi Navin,

      With GoDaddy’s website builder, you can’t do those things that you mentioned.

      But if you just use their hosting services (and not their website builder), then you can custom build your site (such as with platforms like WordPress).


  23. David July 4, 2015 at 11:01 AM #

    Excellent article. Thank you. I tend to be techno ignorant so any advice is greatly appreciated. I have two questions you may be able to help me with. I’m a writer with several published books. I have a domain name but I’ve been unsure about committing to a website because I don’t know if it will have the functions that I want. Does the GoDaddy Personal webpage have a function where a button can be used to link to a site where by books are for sale? Also is there someplace I can go to view the template options before I commit? Thank you.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 6, 2015 at 8:42 AM #

      Hi David,

      With domain names, you can connect it with any website builders, so you are not “stuck” with any particular website builder if you want to change builders down the road. So let’s say you connect your custom domain name to a website that’s build by GoDaddy, and later on you find another website builder and you want to change platforms. You can retain your domain name by disconnecting it with GoDaddy’s website builder, and connecting it with the new platform.

      And yes you can hyperlink a button to any webpage that sells books.

      As for templates, click here and scroll down and click on “view all templates”. The preview feature for GoDaddy isn’t that great at all. So if you want more “transparency” as to template options, take a look at Wix (our review) or Squarespace (our review). For both of these builders, you can sign up for free and play around with their drag and drop platforms before committing – giving you a chance to “test” things out.


  24. Kittiecat July 2, 2015 at 7:07 AM #


    Is the GoDaddy tool responsive? Does it fit all screens no matter the size?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 4, 2015 at 10:37 AM #

      GoDaddy’s websites are not mobile responsive. But they do have a mobile display feature but it’s pretty basic. We’ve discussed that under the Top 3 Pros & Cons above, specifically under Point 3 of the “Cons” section.

      If you want to have a website that is fully mobile responsive, I’d suggest taking a look at Squarespace, as their design templates are really great looking and are very mobile friendly.


  25. Keren July 2, 2015 at 5:48 AM #


    In the past I’ve had bad experience choosing a template. Can anyone share some tips on how to choose the best templates for a site?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 4, 2015 at 10:35 AM #

      Hey Karen,

      I think picking the right template depends on the design and also its functionality. For more advanced website builders (such as WordPress), each template may have difference functions, so it’s more important to pick the right template for WordPress. But for drag and drop builders such as GoDaddy, it’s less important as it is the platform that powers the function of the websites, and not the template.

      So I would suggest picking the design that you like the best and best represents the image you want your website portray.


  26. Mahen April 28, 2015 at 1:53 PM #

    Thank you for your review on GoDaddy websie builder. I used it to design my website and published it. Now I get feedback from visitors that the web pages are too wide and some of the browsers have to zoom down to 75% and some it works with 100% zoom. I used page width of 1000 px. I am wondering if the pages can be made auto sizing so viewers do not need to keep adjusting the zoom ratio.

  27. Sunil April 19, 2015 at 5:58 AM #

    Thanks…this is a very helpful article.
    The one thing I’m looking for is to create all my blogs within my website. Can I do this using the godaddy web builder 7?

  28. Mark Green April 9, 2015 at 11:51 AM #

    This was a fair review, I thought, having subscribed a couple of weeks ago.

    The one serious problem I have encountered is that the “save” function is not reliable- it freezes regularly. I complained to Godaddy about this (having lost 60 mins work, having “saved” throughout), only to be politely told that I should have made a backup- frankly I was relying upon the “save” function actually saving! The backup function is not easily found. This need to leave the system and then come back to continue, once the frozen “save” function has unfrozen (you can’t backup either in this frozen state) I have found to be a real time waster and very, very frustrating.

    What I have achieved so far does look good, in fairness, so I am going to battle on, eventually hoping to end up with a finished and saved/backed up site, which I hope will look good.

  29. Tricia March 20, 2015 at 3:07 PM #

    Thanks! This was very helpful information!

  30. Tera March 17, 2015 at 10:43 PM #

    hey! Great article…

    So, I’m trying to install wordpress on my Website Builder, and it says I have no hosting. I also can’t figure out how to install via FTP.

    I thought Website Builder *is* hosted?

    Please advise! I would hate to have to purchase extra hosting. But if I do, could I keep my Website Builder pages in tact and use my WordPress installed on another part of my site? (like

    Hope that makes sense! Thank you!!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong March 18, 2015 at 5:04 PM #

      Hi Tera,

      GoDaddy’s website builder provides hosting services for you, and is an entirely different website builder than WordPress. So with GoDaddy’s website builder, they offer you the ability to build a site with their drag and drop tools.

      If you want to use WordPress, you shouldn’t be using GoDaddy’s website builder platform. You just need to purchase their hosting services, then use their WordPress installation program. So it’s completely separate from their website builder.

      We have a very basic tutorial on how to set up WordPress with Bluehost (here). It should be similar to the way you’d do it with


  31. Karen Grube February 22, 2015 at 10:39 AM #

    GoDaddy provides no SSL support for its web builder websites. How dumb is that?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong February 22, 2015 at 2:00 PM #

      Hi Karen,

      It’s not uncommon for drag and drop web builders to not offer SSL support for your non-ecommerce pages. Generally speaking, SSL security protection is only critical if sensitive / confidential information is passed (such as credit card data), so website builders only offer SSL in check out carts.

      So if you want to use SSL protection for all your webpages, you will need a more advanced website builder where you can implement more customizations (such as WordPress).


  32. jo February 20, 2015 at 5:40 PM #

    I have tried to use the website builder and it keeps saying

    We’re not quite done setting up your account. Please wait 30 minutes and try publishing again.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong February 21, 2015 at 1:34 PM #

      Hi Jo,

      Strange. Have you reached out to GoDaddy’s support team to see what they have to say? I didn’t have any issues before.


  33. Ruwan February 3, 2015 at 2:20 AM #

    Hi Jeremy,
    i am a new user for godaddy i have just created the web site using godaddy web site builder. after complete the site i publish the site but i cant find this on search engine such as google.
    can you please explain what should i do ??
    Thank you

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong February 3, 2015 at 6:36 PM #

      Hi Ruwan,

      It does take some time for Google to index the site. You can set up Google Webmaster Tools for your website, and manually submit your site to Google so they know your website is available for indexing into the search engine.

      It’s free to set up and it’s a tool that offers you traffic insights into your website.


  34. Jon January 20, 2015 at 11:41 AM #


    Can you pay for help with Godaddy on a one time basis when setting up your site and then maintain it yourself ? I only see plans with Design Builder that are ongoing monthly that are much more than the standard plan. Alternatively, how much time will support spend with you without referring you to the Design Dream team?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong January 20, 2015 at 1:36 PM #

      Hi Jon,

      You can always hire a freelancer to help you set up your site with GoDaddy. There are freelancers for hire in marketplaces such as Elance or oDesk.

      Once they’re done setting up your site you can then maintain it.


      • Jon January 20, 2015 at 7:59 PM #

        Jeremy, thank you for the where to look for help. Do these freelancers usually charge by the job or hour? Any idea what average costs might be per hour or for a relatively simple website?

        • Jeremy Wong
          Jeremy Wong January 21, 2015 at 1:30 PM #


          It’s really hard to say as some prefer to charge by hour and some prefer to charge by project, depending on the scope of your work. If the scope tend to change then it makes sense for them to charge by the hour. If your scope if relatively fixed and you won’t change much after you agree on the scope of work with the contractor, then charging by project is possible.

          Average cost depends on the freelancers’ location and skillset. Good luck!


  35. VLF January 19, 2015 at 11:42 PM #

    Just called GoDaddy customer support and since I’m clueless about designing websites, I’d like to confirm the following with you…

    If I create my website using Website Builder and I do not ever want to make any changes to what I initially develop, but I want to keep the website as designed – my only option is to continue paying for Website Builder annually otherwise risk losing the multi-page website I created using Website Builder?

    Is this because of the point you mention about there not being an export option?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong January 20, 2015 at 1:29 PM #

      Hi VLF,

      Yes. If you want to keep your website hosted and “alive”, even if you don’t make any changes to it, you will need to keep your subscription with the website builder (GoDaddy in this case).

      This goes the same for all drag and drop website builders out there. Powering your website and keeping it operational is what you’re paying for.


  36. Tatenda January 13, 2015 at 11:55 AM #

    hie jeremy ..thank you for the review…i want to create a website where a lot of people get to join my website as members..i would like to know if th godaddy website builder will allow me to do tht….preferrably unlimited members
    thnx n advance

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong January 13, 2015 at 11:17 PM #

      Hi Tatenda,

      GoDaddy doesn’t have a membership tool built into their platform, so you should check out Weebly. Their Business Plan allows you to have unlimited members and you can lock off certain pages of your site so that only your members can access them.


  37. WBCBlogger December 13, 2014 at 8:00 PM #

    As a user I do have to set the record straight on GoDaddy web builder v7, as the 12/02/14 post by Ryan@WE is incorrect.

    In fact, you can copy and rename any webpage to create more webpages, you do not have to start from scratch. Further, all components of a webpage (header, footer, images, buttons, text boxes, more) can be selected to appear on all webpages if you wish, which is a great option.

    I do agree with Ryan though, that the v7 blog constraint is a problem. I find that right now I am targeting my users to use Tumblr for blogging and I will link that blogging site to my website (because users cannot blog directly on the website).

    • Ryan @WebEminence December 19, 2014 at 7:08 PM #

      Hey, I actually said the same thing you said. You CAN copy pages to create new pages. I just think that it’s missing some page templates that you can use in other website builders like different header and sidebar settings. More of this has to be created from scratch with the Godaddy builder.

      I did mention the “show on all pages” function in the video on my review because I thought that was a good function. It would probably be helpful to build page templates, except that there may be some pages you don’t want that element to appear on. So it can be a bit limiting in that way.

  38. aditya December 11, 2014 at 1:46 PM #

    Hello i own a website i wanted to know should i go for Godaddy Web builder permanently or should i try WordPress ? is Godaddy Web builder SEO Friendly ?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong December 11, 2014 at 6:04 PM #

      Hi Aditya,

      GoDaddy is relatively SEO friendly but with WordPress you have a bit more SEO flexibility (their SEO configurations is much deeper than what GoDaddy offers you).

      But at the end of the day, it’s really hard to pinpoint with absolute certainty whether certain SEO flexiblity / freedom with WordPress is actually giving your site a better ranking or not. The only way to find out is if you have 2 exact website, exact domain names, same “everything”, and let both sites rank naturally then compare to see which one is better.

      Obviously such a test is extremely, if even possible to conduct!

      Also keep in mind that even though WordPress has more flexibility, you still need to put forth A LOT of work to promote your website to gain transaction with search engines. If you let your site there, it won’t go anywhere (generally speaking anyway!)

      Hope this is helpful!


  39. Dominic December 8, 2014 at 8:25 PM #

    Thank you for the great review! After having switched from wix to godaddy due to wix’s non existent support, I am confident that my site will run well. I do mix a lot of Wix’s apps and features to make website building easier such as their “pull up or push down bar” to shift the page’s contents as a block. Although I sum much happier with go daddy’s support and simple web builder, I am still searching for that one to suite my design wants and needs. Maybe I’ll check out squarespace before my 45 day period runs out.

  40. Ryan @WebEminence December 2, 2014 at 8:34 AM #

    Hey Jeremy,

    Good overview. I recently reviewed V7 on my blog and it’s much improved from previous versions. The biggest downside I thought was the absence of an integrated blog. You can add an RSS widget that links to an outside blog, but you can’t integrate a blog into the site.

    Another thing people may not realize until they actually build their site is that they are really working with a blank canvas when they create a new page. There may be a few pre-populated pages that you can copy, but beyond that, you’re working from scratch.

    Compare this to Weebly for example where you can choose page header options and other website builders where you can have a sidebar, and you realize you have some work to do to create each page.

    Overall though, version 7 is a big improvement so I’m interested to see what they come up with in the future.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong December 9, 2014 at 7:32 PM #

      Hey Ryan,

      Thanks for your comment and update! Good to hear that they’re moving in the right direction with V7. I think they have a lot of potential going forward!


  41. rakoon November 29, 2014 at 8:49 PM #

    Can we use adsense on website created by using godaddy website builder ?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong November 30, 2014 at 8:53 PM #

      Yes you can! Take a look at this discussion article here from GoDaddy.


  42. Talia November 27, 2014 at 12:46 PM #


    Can I make a duo-language site with GoDaddy’s Website builder or would I have to make two different websites and just add links to each one on the sites in the top right hand corners?

    Also, just to clarify… I can with GoDaddy’s Website building have my own e-mail address?

    One more thing… If I add another site’s advertisement, there is no way with Website builder to obtain data on click-rates, etc… right?

    Thanks in advance for your answers, I am very skilled with computers (well not HTML or CSS)… but this is my first time website building and I’m still learning the ropes. I like WordPress for what it can offer but prefer the freedom of Website builder for the moment.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong November 29, 2014 at 2:39 AM #

      Hi Talia,

      I don’t think GoDaddy currently has a multi-language feature set up as part of its platform. So you will have to make two separate sites and link them up (using subdomain for one of the sites perhaps), or insert both languages in one single site.

      We do have a bit more discussions about creating a multi-language website here, but it has been a challenge for most website builders to cater to this.

      Yes you can your own custom domain name email address if you sign up to their Business plan or higher.

      I wouldn’t say it’s impossible for them to track your stats, but then again I wouldn’t imagine they have a good reason to!


  43. Yvonne November 18, 2014 at 4:37 PM #

    Hi Jeremy, you mentioned that The GoDaddy website builder is not designed for building an online store at all, however I have checked it and they do have an online store.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong November 18, 2014 at 7:55 PM #

      Hi Yvonne,

      Thanks for your note. The drag and drop website builder is actually separate from GoDaddy’s online store builder.

      Our discussion on this page is only about their drag & drop website builder, which doesn’t include any ecommerce tools.

      Their online store builder is specifically targeted at “pure” ecommerce stores (a lot of products for sale), where as some people just want to build a “normal” website and add a couple of products for sale.

      Pure ecommerce store builders tend to be a bit more rigid, and “normal” website builders tend to have a bit more design flexibility (such as moving content around without as much restrictions).

      Hope this clarify things a bit!


  44. Naderade November 18, 2014 at 1:39 PM #

    I work for Go Daddy and here is a tip for you – most employees don’t even know this exists… If you want to edit the Go Daddy templates, enter the old school Konami code with your keyboard and you will have access to HTML/CSS

    • Sean January 11, 2015 at 11:10 PM #

      Your awesome!!! Thank you so much!

    • Mike T January 4, 2016 at 12:27 PM #

      Where/ how do you enter the konami code?

  45. Carol November 18, 2014 at 7:50 AM #


    Thanks for such great information!
    I have a question, am I able to used my own website template? Basically, it’s possible to buy a template and upload it to my hosting?

    Thanks 🙂

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong November 18, 2014 at 7:49 PM #

      Hi Carol,

      Unfortunately if you want to use GoDaddy’s website builder to create your website, you have to use one of their templates.

      But if you have your own template, you can just get their hosting services (not the drag & drop website builder) and manually upload your website into one of their servers. But to make any changes to your website, you will have to hand code in the changes which can be very technical (unless you’re very technical!)


  46. Colin November 3, 2014 at 3:53 AM #

    Hi Jeremy, I was impressed with your review. I do have a question about the GoDaddy Website Builder… can I add Google Adsense and add advertisements manually. I sometimes get advertisement request (usually in html format)?

    I am looking at migrating one of my existing websites made up of many thousands of pages. Does GoDaddy Website Builder allow me to build in a reverse tree format from the home page, next level is about a dozen pages, then other pages cascade down from these dozen pages. At the second level, the dozen pages represent different “sub-home” pages from which pages cascade off.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong November 17, 2014 at 7:59 PM #

      Hi Colin,

      If you have thousands of webpages, you probably want to use a more advanced platform (such as WordPress) so it’s much easier for you to edit your content!


  47. Bhaskar Sharma November 2, 2014 at 12:36 AM #

    Great piece of information thanks for sharing.

  48. Saiful Islam October 26, 2014 at 10:59 AM #

    I already have bought domains from godaddy but haven’t bought hosting from it. I think I should try at least for once 😛

  49. Daniel October 16, 2014 at 10:42 PM #

    Hi Jeremy,

    May I ask, I am one of the godaddy user.

    Previously I remove the “social media share icon / button” at the bottom of my website.

    Now I try to add it in, but I jus cannot put it at the bottom of my page.

    I have tried using “bring layers forward / backward” but still do not work.

    My bottom of the website is dark gray or black tone. (the default)

    So how do I put it in at bottom again?

    able to help in layman way? (by the way, I am not a web developer etc, so don’t know programming etc)


  50. Mankow2014 September 26, 2014 at 12:15 AM #

    I am looking to source the best place for running my site. I have a domain with Go Daddy, so I am leaning towards them. These are my needs: Build site myself (and I do not do coding). I will sell between 2 to 10 different products over the next year. I wish to offer small qty discounts for qty 2-5. i need to automate the sales tax for CA purchases. I need to automate the shipping costs. I already have a BofA merchant account that I want to use for payment processing – so I do not want to pay the transaction fees that Go Daddy or PayPal would charge. I am a start up so every dollar counts and I do not have the expertise to handle major technical fixes.
    Ideally, I want a handful of email addresses for I am leaning towards paying the $4 per moth to Go Daddy for that, unless there is a better option.

    Could you reply with a couple suggestions and which would be better for what reasons?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong September 29, 2014 at 1:02 PM #

      Hi there,

      GoDaddy’s website builder currently doesn’t support ecommerce functions.

      You should check out Shopify or Bigcommerce given that you already have your own merchant account, as those two platforms will provide you with a broad range of payment solutions.

      They will also have sales tax, shipping costs, etc integrated into their platforms.

      Here is our high level comparison chart for online store builders, and you can get a quick overview of Shopify and Bigcommerce.

      – Jeremy

  51. liveonfred August 12, 2014 at 3:32 PM #

    Thanks for the great review. Do you know if you can remove the GoDaddy web builder logo at the bottom of the site? I see this on websites and it’s a bit tacky? Thanks!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong August 12, 2014 at 4:58 PM #

      Hey there – you should be able to as all paid subscription plans generally have this option.

      – Jeremy

    • Naderade November 19, 2014 at 2:51 PM #


      Yes, you can. I work for Go Daddy so I am working in WSB every day. You can select the logo by clicking on it with your mouse and then hit delete on your keyboard and that’s it!

  52. Tim Kline July 3, 2014 at 7:47 PM #

    To Whom This May Concern:

    I have always received amazing customer support from the Go Daddy Crew. But, today was taken to the highest level of excellence by a guy named Nick Brouwer. My Website Crashed and it was a mess. Nick was not only friendly and cordial, but fixed the problem and was sympathetic and empathetic to every need I had. As a business owner I have never in my life came across such outstanding customer service. This Guy named “NICK” just blew me away. He was detailed in everything he told me, and even though I told him I knew a bit, he made sure I understood everything he was telling me. I just am still in disbelief that this just happened. This not only made my week, but made my year. That’s how ecstatic I am about this service provided by Nick. There is no word in the Human dictionary that explains the level of customer service, knowledge, and straight empathy that was provided by Nick Brouwer. My whole Team overheard the conversation and they just couldn’t believe it either. Their Jaws dropped when he fixed everything in such a small time frame. I truly believe there has never been such a perfect experience in the history of mankind’s customer service, knowledge and communication.

    The communication between Nick and I was outstanding. I not only understood and was explained everything but was given amazing advice in which I asked for. I asked for his personal opinion as well as Go daddy’s policies and they were both right on. Perfection. fulfillmentintegrity starprecision starquality starvirtue starcompletion starsublimity starwholeness starachieving starperfectness star excellency star….these are all words that describe My encounter with Go daddy, and Nick. Astonished. Astonishment! This all describes Go Daddy. I don’t even know what else to day but today will stick in my mind and spirit for as long as I live and this just set a precedent to my whole staff who got to hear the whole conversation. I think I got my point across and I could go on for 802 more paragraphs about this day, service and just Go Daddy in General. If I had just 1 Nick on my Team I would be the most successful company in San Diego California. If you have a place or some guidelines you use to train your employees, please send it to me.

    Thank you Go Daddy TEAM. Thank you Go Daddy Company. And Most of all, thank you to Nick Brouwer. I would of lost so much money, Time and Stress if I wouldn’t of been greated by Nick Brouwer today. I don’t even think I can do anything but think about how amazing you guys are. I will never ever leave your hosting and services, and as a matter of fact, I am building 3 new sites over the next 6 months. I have 10 domain names and am purchasing many more. I am putting a Ping and Star out through my Social Media sites (27) and may very well make a video just about Go Daddy and your customer service. I own a Cinematic Video Production Company, and this is the first of many many amazing reviews about go daddy and Nick. You guys Rock! That is an understatement. I am going to make up a new word for all of you. Precisionperfectionestality! Keep up the awesome work and expect many many more sales coming your way through my Blog, Facebook, Social bookmarking, Twitter, Facebookbusiness, google places, yahoo local, bing local and a million more. Then, on each post, I will repost it to each of my sources making it a web of Perfect Complimatary reviews.

    Thank you to everyone over there at Go Daddy, especially Nick Brouwer.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 4, 2014 at 12:11 PM #

      Hi Tim,

      Thanks for your detailed feedback! I’m glad that you had such a wonderful and exceptional experience with GoDaddy.

      In my experience (I also register some domain names with GoDaddy), that whenever I have questions, they get back to me pretty quickly and their answers are always very detailed (yet easy to understand).

      – Jeremy

    • Mukul Sheopory July 5, 2016 at 4:54 PM #

      Hi Tim.. I am an employee at GoDaddy and reading your note here just made my day! Makes me so proud to work for a company like GoDaddy. I’ve shared your note with Nick, his manager, and some other folks on our team who would be happy to learn about your experience.. I’d love to chat with you about your experience if that is ok. Would love to understand how we can serve customers like you better. Can you please email me at Thank you so much!

  53. Charlen June 18, 2014 at 9:45 PM #

    OMG I am so happy I found this post. I’ve built a great site with Go Daddy’s web builder, it looks AMAZING!! BUT… I need my customers to be able to chose product sizes and the quick PayPal cart doesn’t give you a drop down menu for sizes. So Go Daddy told me to purchase they’re Quick Shopping Cart – UGH and now it’s like a whole new world, My site is complete all I need is a drop-down menu for my customers to to pick a size. Why is this so hard. UGH i am so frustrated, it just seems so easy, yet so hard.

    What would you suggest? Please help!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong June 19, 2014 at 3:46 AM #

      Hey Charlen,

      Yeah it’s a bit of a pain as the GoDaddy website builder doesn’t offer any built in e-commerce tools at the moment (we mentioned this as a drawback in our pros & cons discussion above).

      One workdaround is to use Shopify’s Buy Button or Ecwid.

      While Shopify is a full ecommerce website builder (see our review), if you want to keep using your own website (such as GoDaddy), while being able to convert it into an online store, Shopify’s Buy Button can do that.

      Ecwid is an independent ecommerce add-on that should be compatible with GoDaddy. Ecwid adds a lot more advanced ecommerce related tools and options for you.

      – Jeremy

      • Naderade November 19, 2014 at 2:53 PM #


        I work for Go Daddy and have some tips. If you have the Business or Business Plus version of Website Builder, there are e-commerce tolls built in. They are in the “Apps” section on your toolbar. There is a handy PayPal app you can use to create a shoppping cart or Buy Now function for items you would list for sale on your site.

  54. Varmeet June 14, 2014 at 12:08 AM #

    Does godaddy website builder provide hosting to in it’s monthly subscription ? eg; in personal plan.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong June 14, 2014 at 2:33 AM #

      Hi Varmeet,

      The fee that you pay to use their website builder includes hosting services. So you don’t have to pay for hosting separately!

      – Jeremy

  55. Ahmed June 12, 2014 at 4:58 AM #

    I have a problem with website builder which is I can’t download my website builder to copy it to a regular host. Do you have any suggestions?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong June 12, 2014 at 5:04 AM #

      Hi Ahmed,

      You can export your website to your own host if you are using Weebly (see our discussion here).

      You can also export your site to WordPress if you are using Squarepace.

      Here is a chart that shows you which website builder has export functions – be sure to read the footnote for more details!

      – Jeremy

      • Ahmed June 12, 2014 at 5:07 AM #

        I’m using Godaddy website Builder, is there any way?

        • Jeremy Wong
          Jeremy Wong June 12, 2014 at 6:42 AM #

          Not at the moment. We mentioned this in our discussion above under the “Hosting & Export Options” section. Hopefully they’ll make this feature available!

          – Jeremy

  56. Bek June 4, 2014 at 1:41 PM #

    Hello! This review has been so helpful. I just recently created a website on godaddy with the website builder. I am very pleased with it. I put in a tab for “Shop” and am ready now to get a store going so that people can link to the store from the website. And that now is where I am stuck….is the go daddy quick shopping cart not the way to go? (If I used that, I would need the premium offer…does that include everything I need to be set for an online store?) I’m trying to figure out the best route to go. Am I better off with making a store from shopify? I didn’t see you mention anything about the go daddy quick shop that they offer. I’m new at this, so any advice would be welcome and appreciated! Thanks!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong June 5, 2014 at 6:40 AM #

      Hi Bek,

      Unfortunately as mentioned in one of our “cons” of GoDaddy website builder, it doesn’t have e-commerce tools integrated into the builder (yet).

      So you have a couple of options here, and both involve using another e-commerce platform tool and integrating it into your GoDaddy site.

      Shopify has a widget in which you can insert into your GoDaddy site. So basically you will be powering up your website using Shopify’s e-commerce tools, while your website is still built with GoDaddy. You can check out this article we have here which talks about Squarespace using Shopify widget. The idea is the same, but just apply it to GoDaddy.

      Or, you can use Ecwid, which is an e-commerce widget, to power your website.

      Hope this is helpful!

      – Jeremy

      • Bek June 5, 2014 at 7:03 AM #

        Thanks for replying so quick! I know the website builder doesn’t have those tools built in, but what about the GoDaddy Quick Shopping cart? From what it looks like, it is something you purchase separately from the website builder. Thanks for all of your help!

        • Jeremy Wong
          Jeremy Wong June 5, 2014 at 11:00 AM #

          Hi Bek,

          I “think” so though we haven’t used that ourselves before, so we can’t give you any concrete feedback. Perhaps try to reach out to GoDaddy and see if that is an option?

          Alternatively, as I mentioned, you can also use e-commerce widgets to power your store.

          – Jeremy

    • Naderade November 19, 2014 at 2:58 PM #


      Go Daddy employee here to help 🙂 If you only have WSB business or business plus, there is an Apps section on your tool bar at the bottom. Here you have a Pay Pal shopping cart and Buy Now options to use, you can take donations, etc etc.

      There is something easier, better, and cheaper than going with Website Builder AND Quick Shopping Cart… call and ask for “Online Store” it is a new product that is AWESOME, but not yet sold on the website depending on what market youre in. We have been selling it since summer 2014 but it wont be fully released until this winter.

  57. Cindy June 3, 2014 at 3:32 PM #

    I am going crazy trying to get my email working. I have domain with Godaddy and it points to WIX, but my email needs some MX records and I don’t know what to enter or where to enter it.

    I’ve been waiting for four hours for a representative. Boy am I pissed at Godaddy!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong June 4, 2014 at 7:24 AM #

      Hi Cindy,

      If you just go to Wix’s support page, and type in GoDaddy you will then see a list of supporting articles that will show you how to connect your email to Wix (they have an article on MX as well).

      Sorry to hear that you had to wait a few hours for GoDaddy’s support team. In my experience with them they usually get back to me fairly quickly, and 1 day at most.

      But hopefully the Wix support articles will help!

      – Jeremy

  58. Tamara Moore May 28, 2014 at 11:29 AM #

    I am currently building a site with Website Builder. Can anyone tell me how to add a section for visitors to leave comments? I can’t for the life of me figure it out. Thinking another program would have been a wise choice, not very user friendly compared to other builders I have used. Thank you for your time.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong May 29, 2014 at 12:38 AM #

      hi Tamara,

      Have you tried using Disqus (which is a very popular commenting widget)? You can create comment boxes for individual pages, then embed the Disqus widget code into your webpages. Use the html embed function that GoDaddy should have.

      – Jeremy

  59. Keziah May 28, 2014 at 4:13 AM #

    Does godaddy cater wordpress for website and designs?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong May 28, 2014 at 7:30 AM #

      Hi Keziah,

      You can certainly use GoDaddy’s hosting service to host your WordPress website. But you cannot blend a WordPress website with GoDaddy’s website builder service.

      So there is a distinction between GoDaddy’s hosting services(which can host WordPress sites), and their website builder service (which is what we’re discussing in this article here).

      – Jeremy

  60. Michele April 27, 2014 at 4:14 AM #

    I just purchased GoDaddy Website Builder and realized after half an hour that it is not what i was looking for.
    According to GoDaddy refund policy, I know i can ask for a refund but i am struggling big times to understand where i can ask for a refund on their website. This is not very customer-friendly and it has an impact on the assessment of GoDaddy products such as Website builder.

    • Jeremy & Connie Wong
      Jeremy & Connie Wong April 27, 2014 at 11:56 AM #


      You can either email them through your GoDaddy dashboard, or just call them. I’ve had to process a few refunds before (not the website builder, but a few other items I purchased from them) and the refunds were processed very quickly and smoothly.

      – Jeremy

      • Michele May 8, 2014 at 1:34 AM #

        Hi Jeremy,

        thanks for the message. I have indeed called them and got the refund within a couple of days.
        Weird I couldnt find out how to email them through the dashboard.


        • Jeremy & Connie Wong
          Jeremy & Connie Wong May 8, 2014 at 12:37 PM #

          Hi Michele,

          THanks for updating. I’m glad it worked out for you. In my experience in dealing with GoDaddy, they are quite reasonable and responsive.

          – Jeremy

  61. Tess Cavacuiti March 30, 2014 at 12:50 AM #

    I have built a website with Go Daddy, and I’m so pleased with it. I am retired, and not of the technology age. However, Go Daddy WebSite Builder has been so user friendly. My site has 25 pages! The online support is brilliant. I was able to chat live to sort out a problem. The Go Daddy team had it sorted in a jiffy. I also made a huge mistake, and was able use the ‘back up’ feature to restore to a 24 hour earlier version. Phew, I can’t tell you what a relief that was.
    However, there is one massive drawback; loading issues! It’s embarrassingly slow to load, and I feel it makes the site feel unprofessional. The support team have assured me that Go Daddy are working to speed things up. I trust they will.

    • Jeremy & Connie
      Jeremy & Connie March 30, 2014 at 1:36 PM #

      hi Tess,

      Thanks for sharing your feedback! I do love the ability to back up your site with GoDaddy – it’s a really nice feature that I wished that more website builders provided.

      As for loading speed, one of the drawbacks of shared hosting is that they are a bit unpredictable. At times they will load really fast, but if at a particular time frame when there are a lot of traffic across other websites in the same server that you are hosted on, then it will also impact your loading speed.

      But I think in general across the website builder industry, that technology will improve and loading time will improve along side as well.

      – Jeremy

  62. Brent Tharp March 26, 2014 at 10:31 AM #

    The lack of access to code is a deal killer with GoDaddy’s Website Builder. Even more annoying is that GoDaddy offers SEO optimization, but no way to tag certain elements such as images (which is a huge part of SEO optimization), so what’s the point of even offering it in the first place. All in all, great for an easy way to create a simple site, terrible for any type of customization or true SEO optimization.

    • Jeremy & Connie
      Jeremy & Connie March 26, 2014 at 3:41 PM #

      Hi Brent,

      I agree that the lack of access to the HTML / CSS codes really limits those who know code, or want to make further customizations. It’s the same issue as Wix and I think it has to do with the ability to place any elements anywhere (thereby creating a “pure” drag and drop website builder).

      If you look at builders like Squarespace or Weebly, both only allow you to insert elements in a “modular” way (if that makes any sense) but both grant you access to their codes.

      – Jeremy

      • Mark May 6, 2014 at 7:34 AM #

        Hi! I just wanted to say that your reviews and the service you offer here are AWESOME! I Google web site building questions and your site always comes up and your answers are forthright, to the point and really helpful! Thank you for providing this service to the world! Keep up the good work!!!

        • Jeremy & Connie Wong
          Jeremy & Connie Wong May 6, 2014 at 9:12 PM #

          Thanks Mark! If you found some of our discussions helpful, please do click on the social sharing buttons at the top or on the left side of our pages to share the knowledge. You never know who else you can also help along the way!

          – Jeremy

          • Arden Warner May 13, 2014 at 7:49 AM #

            Great information. Great site.
            I’m old. Really old. I built my first site on Godaddy with html long ago. ( No more. I want to use their site for a new domain, and have developed about fifteen pages for a framework. I’m ready to start placing permanent items on the pages. Buy I cannot create links. I feel like I’m insane. That should have been item one. Or two. Surely it’s there. I just cannot identify it. There’s a very sophisticated discussion that gives ME no idea how to find it. It references areas I cannot locate. I hope you can offer a ten word solution for me.

            • Jeremy Wong
              Jeremy Wong May 13, 2014 at 11:53 PM #


              You just need to highlight the text that you want to hyperlink, and a hyperlink option should show up, where you can insert whatever URL (website address) you want to.

              If you need more support, GoDaddy has a really good support team that can help you (live chat, phone call, email).