GoDaddy Website Builder Review – How Good Is It?

Last updated on September 10, 2014
godaddy website builder review
Try GoDaddy

If you’re wondering if the GoDaddy can help you easily build a beautiful and functional site, then this GoDaddy website builder review will answer your question.

If you haven’t heard of GoDaddy, where have you been hiding? (Just kidding)

GoDaddy is the largest domain name registrar in the world, and offers one of the most comprehensive set of website building tools to its customers.

They manage over 57 million domain names (a domain name is just a website address, such as www.google.com), has more than 12 million paying customers (not free users, but people who actually happily pay), and has a very strong 24/7, 365 days customer support system (we can confirm this based on our own experiences).

So why are we highlighting all these points? It’s just to set a stage for you to understand who you are dealing with here. GoDaddy is a very strong, reputable company that has been playing Super Bowl ads for many years.

So if you are considering using GoDaddy website builder to create your website, rest assured that you are relying on a well established company with a very strong reputation for support (more on this below).

Whether you can build a good website with their tools is a completely different discussion, which is why you’re reading this GoDaddy website builder review, right?

Let’s dive right into our thoughts….

GODADDY WEBSITE BUILDER REVIEW - TOP 3 PROS AND CONS

  1. Easy to Use with Professional Design Themes – GoDaddy builder has a very intuitive user interface, so you won’t get overwhelmed with a lot of useless bells and whistles. All their tools are drag & drop (such as inserting images, slideshows, contact forms, etc), so you can position them any where on your website without any restrictions.GoDaddy also gives you over 300 professional looking themes, all pre-populated with content so it makes it easy for you to build out your website (this is exceptionally helpful if you don’t know where to start!) You just have to replace their pre-populated content (such as text and images) with your own and you’re ready to go. If you want to adjust the design and layout, it’s quite easy as you can just drag content around or add new pages. The user interface is smooth and easy to use.
  2. 24/7/365 Phone, Live Chat and Email Support – GoDaddy has a good reputation for providing very strong support to its customers. When we say “strong”, we mean you can pick up your phone, call them any time and they will actually answer! Their website will show you how long it takes before you get through to them, and in our experiences the average is about 5 – 10 minutes which is really good.You can also engage in live chat, or if you’re not in a huge rush, you can submit a support ticket (email) in which they will get back to you in about 10 to 15 hours. So if you’re in a bit of a rush, phone support or live chat. As far as website builders go, GoDaddy has the best support system available to you.
  3. Create Backup Points & Restore Function – GoDaddy website builder allows you to create backup copies of your website whenever you want. So you can save multiple copies / versions of your website, just in case if you make a mistake and want to restore to a previous version of your website.This is a very powerful function that no other website builders offer, and can come in very handy to you if you accidentally saved some changes that you didn’t intend to. You can save multiple versions of your website so you’re not restricted to restoring only the most recent version. Backups are important, we’ve all felt the pain of not having that option!

Try GoDaddy Risk-Free

  1. Can’t Change Themes – Even though GoDaddy website builder has a lot of pre-made designer themes for you to select, one of the main downside is that once you’ve picked a theme to use, you can’t switch to another one without losing your content. So make sure you try out and choose your theme very carefully before committing to one. This is a bit annoying for sure, and if you want the flexibility to change design themes when you want to, Squarespace and Weebly allows you to change themes as often as you want, without losing any of your content.
  2. No e-Commerce Tools – This version of GoDaddy website builder doesn’t come with any e-commerce tools. GoDaddy has another website builder that’s dedicated specifically to online stores, so if you want to build an e-commerce store, that website builder will probably suit you better (or check out some other online store builders here). At the end of the day, if you just want to add a “buy now” button, you can use the “HTML Code” tool in the builder, and insert PayPal’s buy now button codes. But this gives you very limited functions. We’d suggest you check out other online store builders as highlighted above.
  3. Very Basic Mobile Display – Even though GoDaddy website builder does automatically convert your site into a “mobile friendly” interface for people visiting your website using smart phones, the look and feel of the mobile versions of their websites is “basic” at best, especially when compared to how good their themes look on a desktop computer. One unique function that they have is that you have the option to hide or display any content pieces from the mobile version of your website. So if you don’t want a specific slideshow to be displayed on your mobile website, you can switch it off. This is a pretty cool feature and gives you a bit more flexibility to configure your mobile website. But at the end of the day, the overall design / layout of the mobile site is “basic” at best.  Here are some other website builders with better mobile sites if this is an important factor for you.

Try GoDaddy Risk-Free

GODADDY WEBSITE BUILDER IS IDEAL FOR….

Based no our GoDaddy website builder review, if you are a small business owner, designer, musician, restaurant owner, a professional (lawyer, finance, accounting) who want to build a website that’s creative, GoDaddy should be able to help you.

As mentioned in the Top 3 Pros section above, GoDaddy website builder is easy to use, minimalistic (in a good way) and comes with great support. This enables you to quickly and efficiently gain an online presence, so you can focus on other busier parts of your life.

Technology can be a bit (or very!) painful at times, so having a strong, contactable support team to help you, and having the ability to make multiple backup versions of your website, can make your life a lot easier.

GoDaddy Website Builder review - support

As mentioned under one of the drawbacks above, is that if you think that the majority of your visitors will be visiting you through their smartphones, then perhaps another website builder with stronger mobile interfaces will suit you better.

Also, if you want to build an e-commerce online store, here are a few better options that can help you accomplish that.

EASE OF USE

GoDaddy website builder is a true drag & drop interface, so you can insert content on pretty much anywhere on the website (you can even overlap content if you really want to).

The platform is a WYSIWYG (which stands for What You See Is What You Get) builder, so whatever you insert into the website editor, will show up the same way once you publish your website.

The way GoDaddy lays out its builder is quite visually friendly. Their tool bar is neatly laid out on the left hand side, and you can even hide it to maximize your screen real estate for better editing. They only have one single tool bar to keep things simple and minimalistic which is nice. So you don’t have to dig around forever to find things.

As mentioned as one of the Pros above, in addition to phone, live chat and email support, GoDaddy has an extensive support library / documentation, so if you’re unsure of anything, you can always search for help in their support library (more on this below).

Overall, we found GoDaddy a lot easier to use than some other website builders in the market. They may not have as many bells and whistles, but the benefit to you is that they give you the necessary, core website building tools to get the job done without cluttering things up.

If you want a more advanced website builder that comes with a lot more tools and features, I’d recommend you check out Squarespace or Wix.  Both are great website builders, and have a lot of tools that you might not find with GoDaddy.

Try GoDaddy Risk-Free

THEMES DESIGN OPTIONS

GoDaddy gives you over 300 themes to pick from, designed specifically for various industry categories such as business, finance, law, education, health & beauty, music / entertainment, charity, design portfolio, family, wedding, real estate, restaurant, recreation, etc.

So the chances of you finding a design theme that suits your needs is pretty good.

As discussed above, one of the positive things about GoDaddy’s themes is that they come structured and pre-populated with content (which form part of the overall design of their themes), making it easy for you to just insert replace the content with your own.

This can save you a lot of time (versus creating your own design) and it’s especially helpful if you are unsure of your design capabilities.

Another good website builder that also offers this (a lot of stylish themes that come pre-populated with content) is Wix.  Further as mentioned above, Wix has a lot more advance website building tools if you find GoDaddy’s website builder a bit too simplistic.  Here is our detailed discussion on Wix for more information on how Wix can help you build your website.

GoDaddy website builder review - templates

One of the major drawbacks of GoDaddy website builder is that once you pick a theme, you can’t change to another theme without losing your content. So we recommend you play around with and test out a few themes to start, before finalizing things and start populating the theme with your own content.

If being able to change themes without losing any of your content, I’d suggest you take a look at Squarespace or Weebly – they both give you the flexibility to change up your design as often as you want, without having to rebuild your website content.

Another issue to consider is that GoDaddy doesn’t give you access to edit the HTML or CSS codes of their themes. So if you know a bit of code or if you are working with a coder and want to make very specific design edits through codes, this option is not available to you at the moment. But, if you don’t intend to mess around with codes, then this won’t concern you at all.

If you want to have access to edit HTML or CSS, Weebly is a good website builder for you to consider using.

Overall, GoDaddy website builder offers a good range of very stylish themes, and they are particularly helpful if you need a starting point to build a beautiful website, or if you don’t want to create a design from scratch.

SUPPORT / TUTORIALS / COMMUNITY RESOURCES

GoDaddy Customer Support

GoDaddy Website Builder review - supportGoDaddy is very well known to provide very strong support to its customers. You can reach a support rep within minutes on the phone, live chat, and if you are not in a rush, they answer their email support tickets usually within half a day.

All their support channels are made available to you 24/7, 365 days a year, and they don’t discriminate against which plan you are using. With most other services, to get phone support you have to be subscribed to their higher (if not highest) plans.

With GoDaddy, even if you are using their most basic plan, you can get help through all their support channels. That’s pretty awesome.

GoDaddy Tutorial Resources

One of the things that we really like about GoDaddy’s support is their Support Portal. They have a comprehensive library of helpful tips and guides which can answer most of your questions most of the time (at least they did in our experiences).

You can use their search bar to quickly find relevant help topics, and their guides are quite easy to follow and are comprehensive.

What’s also really neat is that directly below each help topic, you can submit comments or questions if you are still not clear. So in a way, it’s quite interactive whereas for some other website builders, you’re still left in the dark without any ability to ask follow up questions.

If you are like us, we prefer to dive first into the Support Portal first to find information. If that doesn’t work, then we either use their live chat, email or phone support. But if you prefer a bit more “hand holding”, their live chat and phone support will work very well for you.

GoDaddy Community Forum

A helpful tool that some other website builders have is a community forum, where users can freely post questions, exchange ideas and find answers to questions that have already been asked.

GoDaddy doesn’t have such a forum yet at the time of this article. It’s a “nice to have” tool, but given GoDaddy’s quality and strength of their support team, we don’t think it’s a huge issue at all.

Try GoDaddy Risk-Free

GODADDY WEBSITE BUILDER MOBILE DISPLAY

GoDaddy automatically converts your website into a mobile friendly interface so that your visitors can visit you on their smartphones and get a different experience than looking at the desktop version of your website.

As mentioned, we view that their mobile function as “basic” at best. While you have the option to hide certain content that is displayed on your desktop version of your website from the mobile view, that’s as far as the flexibility goes.

godaddy website Builder review - mobile-1

Don’t get us wrong. This is actually a very interesting feature that most other website builders do not offer, but we were hoping (wishing) for more granular control over the mobile interface.

So at the end of the day, if you anticipate that a meaningful percentage of your visitors will be visiting you through their smartphones, you may want to consider using a website builder that has a stronger mobile editor.

GODADDY SEO (Search Engine Optimization)

GoDaddy website builder allows you to optimize all the basic SEO functions such as title and description for each web page. This is no different from other website builders in the market, so it’s right on par.

goDaddy website builder Review - SEO

What GoDaddy also offers is a SEO service that is above and beyond their website builder plans. Their SEO plan starts at $2.69 per month which is not a significant investment at all.

Services include granting you access to their keyword and topic suggestion tool, structuring your website with their Rich Snippet and Market Generator, 1-click submission of your website to over 100 search engines, including leading ones such as Google, Bing, Yahoo, and SEO checklist and ranking reports.

While all these functions can be done manually without paying for this added service, it does take time so the question becomes whether you have enough time to manually engage in these activities.

Tools that automate these functions can save you time. Time is money, right?

Try GoDaddy Risk-Free

HOSTING AND EXPORT OPTIONS

Once you sign up to use the GoDaddy website builder, they include all the hosting services for you, so you don’t have to pay extra for that.

This is helpful so you don’t have to worry about managing hosting services as it can be technical (and a bit scary!) This way, you can focus on other more important things while GoDaddy manages technical issues such as security upgrades, and ensuring that your website is always working properly.

One fantastic feature that we mentioned under the Top 3 Pros section above, is that you can create multiple backup points, or backup versions of your website at any time. The benefit to you is that if you made a mistake, or for whatever reason want to restore to an older version of your website, you can do this with GoDaddy.

Godaddy website Builder review - backup restore

This is a very unique feature that other website builders don’t offer to you, and can come in very handy in the most inconvenient times!

One drawback of GoDaddy is that they don’t have an export function. What this means is that if you ever want to take the website out of GoDaddy website builder if you decide to leave them, they don’t have this function yet.

The lack of an export feature is not uncommon amongst drag and drop website builders as one of the main reasons for this, is that GoDaddy has a unique website building technology that won’t function properly outside of their own environment. So once you disconnect the website from GoDaddy, some functions will no longer work and other hosts cannot adapt to those functions.

If the ability to export your site is important to you, Weebly does have a full export option, and Squarespace allows you to export your blog.

PRICING – IS IT WORTH THE INVESTMENT?

GoDaddy website builder is slightly different from some other website builders in that it does not offer you a free plan, nor do they have a limited time trial program.

However, they do have a 45 days no questions asked refund period if you sign up to their annual plans, or a 48 hours refund period if you sign up to their monthly plans. In our view, this removes a lot of the risks from you, should you decide that their builder isn’t suitable for you.

GoDaddy website builder offers 3 plans:

  1. Personal – $5.99 per month (currently on sale for $1.00 / month)
  2. Business – $9.99 per month (currently on sale for $5.99 / month)
  3. Business Plus – $14.99 per month (currently on sale for $10.99 / month)

GoDaddy website builder review - Price

The pricing for the plans are in line with other website builders with similar capabilities for the Personal and Business plans.

The highest plan (Business Plus) is actually cheaper than other website builder’s highest plans. The main reason for this is probably due to the fact that other website builders provide you with e-commerce tools for their highest plans, while GoDaddy doesn’t (as discussed above).

In addition to getting website building tools, GoDaddy also gives you a free domain name which has a market value of around $12 per year.

The best value that you get, if you decide to use GoDaddy website builder, is the “instant” support you get. Considering the fact that you can have access to their support team through the phone or live chat within minutes, no matter which plan you sign up to, is worth a tremendous value to you. Their email support and support portal are also very helpful in our experiences.

So in our view, if you are serious about building a website and getting solid, consistent support, GoDaddy is a strong candidate you should consider.

GODADDY WEBSITE BUILDER REVIEW – CONCLUSION / RECOMMENDATION

Based on our GoDaddy website builder review, this easy to use, stylish and minimalistic builder can enable you to quickly build a good looking, professional website.

They have over 300 design themes for you to choose from, across a broad range of industries so it makes it easier for you to get your website up and running especially if you consider yourself without a lot of design talent.

With their 24/7/365 phone, live chat and email support, GoDaddy has one of the best reputation for providing solid support in the industry. This also helps you build a good website without a lot of keyboard bashing (from frustration that is!)

Their feature which allows you to create multiple backup versions of your website is also very helpful, just in case you ever want to revert to a previous version of your design.

A drawback of GoDaddy is that once you are committed to a design theme, you can’t switch themes for the same website (whereas other website builders do give you this ability) – so pick your template carefully before committing.

Another drawback is their lack of e-commerce tools. The GoDaddy website builder is not designed for building an online store at all. So if you are considering building an e-commerce website, take a look at a few other options here.

Although GoDaddy currently doesn’t have a free plan or a trial period, they do have a fair refund policy where if you signed up for an annual plan, you can get a full refund within 45 days, or if you signed up for only a monthly plan, you have 48 hours to ask for a full refund.  This effectively removes any financial risks from you.

If you want to create an award winning, industry leading website, then GoDaddy website builder isn’t the right tool for you. But if you want a relatively hassle-free, easy to use builder with a lot of design themes to pick up, and also being able to sleep better at night due to their strong support system, then GoDaddy website builder is a strong candidate for you to consider.

Try GoDaddy Risk-Free

Found This Review Helpful?

Leave a comment below; or

Share it with your friends – Tweet, Like, Follow, Pin us below.

The biggest compliment we can receive from you is a Share!

Summary
Reviewer
Jeremy Wong
Review Date
Reviewed Item
GoDaddy Website Builder
Author Rating
4

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

Subscribe

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

,

Leave a Reply

34 Responses to GoDaddy Website Builder Review – How Good Is It?

  1. liveonfred August 12, 2014 at 3:32 PM #

    Thanks for the great review. Do you know if you can remove the GoDaddy web builder logo at the bottom of the site? I see this on websites and it’s a bit tacky? Thanks!

    • Jeremy Wong August 12, 2014 at 4:58 PM #

      Hey there – you should be able to as all paid subscription plans generally have this option.

      – Jeremy

  2. Tim Kline July 3, 2014 at 7:47 PM #

    To Whom This May Concern:
    Hi,

    I have always received amazing customer support from the Go Daddy Crew. But, today was taken to the highest level of excellence by a guy named Nick Brouwer. My Website Crashed and it was a mess. Nick was not only friendly and cordial, but fixed the problem and was sympathetic and empathetic to every need I had. As a business owner I have never in my life came across such outstanding customer service. This Guy named “NICK” just blew me away. He was detailed in everything he told me, and even though I told him I knew a bit, he made sure I understood everything he was telling me. I just am still in disbelief that this just happened. This not only made my week, but made my year. That’s how ecstatic I am about this service provided by Nick. There is no word in the Human dictionary that explains the level of customer service, knowledge, and straight empathy that was provided by Nick Brouwer. My whole Team overheard the conversation and they just couldn’t believe it either. Their Jaws dropped when he fixed everything in such a small time frame. I truly believe there has never been such a perfect experience in the history of mankind’s customer service, knowledge and communication.

    The communication between Nick and I was outstanding. I not only understood and was explained everything but was given amazing advice in which I asked for. I asked for his personal opinion as well as Go daddy’s policies and they were both right on. Perfection. fulfillmentintegrity starprecision starquality starvirtue starcompletion starsublimity starwholeness starachieving starperfectness star excellency star….these are all words that describe My encounter with Go daddy, and Nick. Astonished. Astonishment! This all describes Go Daddy. I don’t even know what else to day but today will stick in my mind and spirit for as long as I live and this just set a precedent to my whole staff who got to hear the whole conversation. I think I got my point across and I could go on for 802 more paragraphs about this day, service and just Go Daddy in General. If I had just 1 Nick on my Team I would be the most successful company in San Diego California. If you have a place or some guidelines you use to train your employees, please send it to me.

    Thank you Go Daddy TEAM. Thank you Go Daddy Company. And Most of all, thank you to Nick Brouwer. I would of lost so much money, Time and Stress if I wouldn’t of been greated by Nick Brouwer today. I don’t even think I can do anything but think about how amazing you guys are. I will never ever leave your hosting and services, and as a matter of fact, I am building 3 new sites over the next 6 months. I have 10 domain names and am purchasing many more. I am putting a Ping and Star out through my Social Media sites (27) and may very well make a video just about Go Daddy and your customer service. I own a Cinematic Video Production Company, and this is the first of many many amazing reviews about go daddy and Nick. You guys Rock! That is an understatement. I am going to make up a new word for all of you. Precisionperfectionestality! Keep up the awesome work and expect many many more sales coming your way through my Blog, Facebook, Social bookmarking, Twitter, Facebookbusiness, google places, yahoo local, bing local and a million more. Then, on each post, I will repost it to each of my sources making it a web of Perfect Complimatary reviews.

    Thank you to everyone over there at Go Daddy, especially Nick Brouwer.

    • Jeremy Wong July 4, 2014 at 12:11 PM #

      Hi Tim,

      Thanks for your detailed feedback! I’m glad that you had such a wonderful and exceptional experience with GoDaddy.

      In my experience (I also register some domain names with GoDaddy), that whenever I have questions, they get back to me pretty quickly and their answers are always very detailed (yet easy to understand).

      – Jeremy

  3. Charlen June 18, 2014 at 9:45 PM #

    OMG I am so happy I found this post. I’ve built a great site with Go Daddy’s web builder, it looks AMAZING!! BUT… I need my customers to be able to chose product sizes and the quick PayPal cart doesn’t give you a drop down menu for sizes. So Go Daddy told me to purchase they’re Quick Shopping Cart – UGH and now it’s like a whole new world, My site is complete all I need is a drop-down menu for my customers to to pick a size. Why is this so hard. UGH i am so frustrated, it just seems so easy, yet so hard.

    What would you suggest? Please help!

    • Jeremy Wong June 19, 2014 at 3:46 AM #

      Hey Charlen,

      Yeah it’s a bit of a pain as the GoDaddy website builder doesn’t offer any built in e-commerce tools at the moment (we mentioned this as a drawback in our pros & cons discussion above).

      One workdaround is to use Ecwid, which is a e-commerce widget that can you add good e-commerce tools to your website. I think they tools will work for GoDaddy built sites.

      – Jeremy

  4. Varmeet June 14, 2014 at 12:08 AM #

    Does godaddy website builder provide hosting to in it’s monthly subscription ? eg; in personal plan.

    • Jeremy Wong June 14, 2014 at 2:33 AM #

      Hi Varmeet,

      The fee that you pay to use their website builder includes hosting services. So you don’t have to pay for hosting separately!

      – Jeremy

  5. Ahmed June 12, 2014 at 4:58 AM #

    I have a problem with website builder which is I can’t download my website builder to copy it to a regular host. Do you have any suggestions?

    • Jeremy Wong June 12, 2014 at 5:04 AM #

      Hi Ahmed,

      You can export your website to your own host if you are using Weebly (see our discussion here).

      You can also export your site to WordPress if you are using Squarepace.

      Here is a chart that shows you which website builder has export functions – be sure to read the footnote for more details!

      – Jeremy

      • Ahmed June 12, 2014 at 5:07 AM #

        I’m using Godaddy website Builder, is there any way?

        • Jeremy Wong June 12, 2014 at 6:42 AM #

          Not at the moment. We mentioned this in our discussion above under the “Hosting & Export Options” section. Hopefully they’ll make this feature available!

          – Jeremy

  6. Bek June 4, 2014 at 1:41 PM #

    Hello! This review has been so helpful. I just recently created a website on godaddy with the website builder. I am very pleased with it. I put in a tab for “Shop” and am ready now to get a store going so that people can link to the store from the website. And that now is where I am stuck….is the go daddy quick shopping cart not the way to go? (If I used that, I would need the premium offer…does that include everything I need to be set for an online store?) I’m trying to figure out the best route to go. Am I better off with making a store from shopify? I didn’t see you mention anything about the go daddy quick shop that they offer. I’m new at this, so any advice would be welcome and appreciated! Thanks!

    • Jeremy Wong June 5, 2014 at 6:40 AM #

      Hi Bek,

      Unfortunately as mentioned in one of our “cons” of GoDaddy website builder, it doesn’t have e-commerce tools integrated into the builder (yet).

      So you have a couple of options here, and both involve using another e-commerce platform tool and integrating it into your GoDaddy site.

      Shopify has a widget in which you can insert into your GoDaddy site. So basically you will be powering up your website using Shopify’s e-commerce tools, while your website is still built with GoDaddy. You can check out this article we have here which talks about Squarespace using Shopify widget. The idea is the same, but just apply it to GoDaddy.

      Or, you can use Ecwid, which is an e-commerce widget, to power your website.

      Hope this is helpful!

      – Jeremy

      • Bek June 5, 2014 at 7:03 AM #

        Thanks for replying so quick! I know the website builder doesn’t have those tools built in, but what about the GoDaddy Quick Shopping cart? From what it looks like, it is something you purchase separately from the website builder. Thanks for all of your help!

        • Jeremy Wong June 5, 2014 at 11:00 AM #

          Hi Bek,

          I “think” so though we haven’t used that ourselves before, so we can’t give you any concrete feedback. Perhaps try to reach out to GoDaddy and see if that is an option?

          Alternatively, as I mentioned, you can also use e-commerce widgets to power your store.

          – Jeremy

  7. Cindy June 3, 2014 at 3:32 PM #

    I am going crazy trying to get my email working. I have domain with Godaddy and it points to WIX, but my email needs some MX records and I don’t know what to enter or where to enter it.

    I’ve been waiting for four hours for a representative. Boy am I pissed at Godaddy!

    • Jeremy Wong June 4, 2014 at 7:24 AM #

      Hi Cindy,

      If you just go to Wix’s support page, and type in GoDaddy you will then see a list of supporting articles that will show you how to connect your email to Wix (they have an article on MX as well).

      Sorry to hear that you had to wait a few hours for GoDaddy’s support team. In my experience with them they usually get back to me fairly quickly, and 1 day at most.

      But hopefully the Wix support articles will help!

      – Jeremy

  8. Tamara Moore May 28, 2014 at 11:29 AM #

    I am currently building a site with Website Builder. Can anyone tell me how to add a section for visitors to leave comments? I can’t for the life of me figure it out. Thinking another program would have been a wise choice, not very user friendly compared to other builders I have used. Thank you for your time.

    • Jeremy Wong May 29, 2014 at 12:38 AM #

      hi Tamara,

      Have you tried using Disqus (which is a very popular commenting widget)? You can create comment boxes for individual pages, then embed the Disqus widget code into your webpages. Use the html embed function that GoDaddy should have.

      – Jeremy

  9. Keziah May 28, 2014 at 4:13 AM #

    Does godaddy cater wordpress for website and designs?

    • Jeremy Wong May 28, 2014 at 7:30 AM #

      Hi Keziah,

      You can certainly use GoDaddy’s hosting service to host your WordPress website. But you cannot blend a WordPress website with GoDaddy’s website builder service.

      So there is a distinction between GoDaddy’s hosting services(which can host WordPress sites), and their website builder service (which is what we’re discussing in this article here).

      – Jeremy

  10. Michele April 27, 2014 at 4:14 AM #

    Hi,
    I just purchased GoDaddy Website Builder and realized after half an hour that it is not what i was looking for.
    According to GoDaddy refund policy, I know i can ask for a refund but i am struggling big times to understand where i can ask for a refund on their website. This is not very customer-friendly and it has an impact on the assessment of GoDaddy products such as Website builder.

    • Jeremy & Connie Wong April 27, 2014 at 11:56 AM #

      Michele,

      You can either email them through your GoDaddy dashboard, or just call them. I’ve had to process a few refunds before (not the website builder, but a few other items I purchased from them) and the refunds were processed very quickly and smoothly.

      – Jeremy

      • Michele May 8, 2014 at 1:34 AM #

        Hi Jeremy,

        thanks for the message. I have indeed called them and got the refund within a couple of days.
        Weird I couldnt find out how to email them through the dashboard.

        thanks
        michele

        • Jeremy & Connie Wong May 8, 2014 at 12:37 PM #

          Hi Michele,

          THanks for updating. I’m glad it worked out for you. In my experience in dealing with GoDaddy, they are quite reasonable and responsive.

          – Jeremy

  11. Tess Cavacuiti March 30, 2014 at 12:50 AM #

    Hi,
    I have built a website with Go Daddy, and I’m so pleased with it. I am retired, and not of the technology age. However, Go Daddy WebSite Builder has been so user friendly. My site has 25 pages! The online support is brilliant. I was able to chat live to sort out a problem. The Go Daddy team had it sorted in a jiffy. I also made a huge mistake, and was able use the ‘back up’ feature to restore to a 24 hour earlier version. Phew, I can’t tell you what a relief that was.
    However, there is one massive drawback; loading issues! It’s embarrassingly slow to load, and I feel it makes the site feel unprofessional. The support team have assured me that Go Daddy are working to speed things up. I trust they will.

    • Jeremy & Connie March 30, 2014 at 1:36 PM #

      hi Tess,

      Thanks for sharing your feedback! I do love the ability to back up your site with GoDaddy – it’s a really nice feature that I wished that more website builders provided.

      As for loading speed, one of the drawbacks of shared hosting is that they are a bit unpredictable. At times they will load really fast, but if at a particular time frame when there are a lot of traffic across other websites in the same server that you are hosted on, then it will also impact your loading speed.

      But I think in general across the website builder industry, that technology will improve and loading time will improve along side as well.

      – Jeremy

  12. Brent Tharp March 26, 2014 at 10:31 AM #

    The lack of access to code is a deal killer with GoDaddy’s Website Builder. Even more annoying is that GoDaddy offers SEO optimization, but no way to tag certain elements such as images (which is a huge part of SEO optimization), so what’s the point of even offering it in the first place. All in all, great for an easy way to create a simple site, terrible for any type of customization or true SEO optimization.

    • Jeremy & Connie March 26, 2014 at 3:41 PM #

      Hi Brent,

      I agree that the lack of access to the HTML / CSS codes really limits those who know code, or want to make further customizations. It’s the same issue as Wix and I think it has to do with the ability to place any elements anywhere (thereby creating a “pure” drag and drop website builder).

      If you look at builders like Squarespace or Weebly, both only allow you to insert elements in a “modular” way (if that makes any sense) but both grant you access to their codes.

      – Jeremy

      • Mark May 6, 2014 at 7:34 AM #

        Hi! I just wanted to say that your reviews and the service you offer here are AWESOME! I Google web site building questions and your site always comes up and your answers are forthright, to the point and really helpful! Thank you for providing this service to the world! Keep up the good work!!!

        • Jeremy & Connie Wong May 6, 2014 at 9:12 PM #

          Thanks Mark! If you found some of our discussions helpful, please do click on the social sharing buttons at the top or on the left side of our pages to share the knowledge. You never know who else you can also help along the way!

          – Jeremy

          • Arden Warner May 13, 2014 at 7:49 AM #

            Great information. Great site.
            I’m old. Really old. I built my first site on Godaddy with html long ago. (ardenwarner.com) No more. I want to use their site for a new domain, and have developed about fifteen pages for a framework. I’m ready to start placing permanent items on the pages. Buy I cannot create links. I feel like I’m insane. That should have been item one. Or two. Surely it’s there. I just cannot identify it. There’s a very sophisticated discussion that gives ME no idea how to find it. It references areas I cannot locate. I hope you can offer a ten word solution for me.
            Thanks.
            Arden

            • Jeremy Wong May 13, 2014 at 11:53 PM #

              Arden,

              You just need to highlight the text that you want to hyperlink, and a hyperlink option should show up, where you can insert whatever URL (website address) you want to.

              If you need more support, GoDaddy has a really good support team that can help you (live chat, phone call, email).

              Jeremy