Wix eCommerce Review 2017 | Top Reasons To Use Them

Last updated on January 19, 2017

Wix eCommerce Review

Wix eCommerce review

Rating

Wix eCommerce tools enable you to build a functional online store to sell your products. What helps them stand out is the ability for you to integrate advanced ecommerce related tools, such as marketing, social, customer support apps, etc.

This extends your store’s functionality so you can do more and provide better experiences for your shoppers. We’ll discuss how these help you in this review.

Review by
Last Updated on January 19, 2017

Even though Wix is one of the best drag and drop website builders in the market today, are their eCommerce tools any good?

Can Wix actually help you sell your products online?

In a growing world of eCommerce, choosing the right online store builder is almost as important as picking the right car (okay, so not that extreme, but you get my point, especially if you are serious about selling products online!)

It’s often confusing as most website builders offer you similar tools to set up your store. You can see a side-by-side comparison of some of the best ecommerce builders here.

Some are very advanced for hardcore merchants who need a lot of tools (such as Shopify), some are more trimmed down but still offers you all the features you need to sell online successfully.

So which one should you pick?  How does Wix compare to its competitors (such as Weebly and Squarespace)?  Are Wix’s eCommerce tools good?

In this review, we’ll highlight some of their tools and show you what really makes Wix stand apart – something that they offer that a lot of other drag and drop website builders don’t.

Let’s get started.

Why We Like Wix

Before we jump into whether Wix eCommerce tools can help you, I just want to quickly highlight some of the reasons why we quite like Wix:

Our Main Review on Wix – see our full discussion on what we think of Wix

How Can Wix eCommerce Help You?

So you want to build an online store to start selling products online. How can Wix help you?

While I can sit here and write a book about every single ecommerce feature / tool that Wix has to offer you, I won’t bore you with that (you do have more important things to do, right?)

Yes – the list of tools is quite comprehensive and you can quickly browse through it here.

But what I want to highlight in this discussion is what makes Wix’s ecommerce capabilities different from other drag and drop website builders.

In the spirit of completeness, here is an overview of the key features that Wix eCommerce offers you:

  • Product galleries to showcase your products
  • Product pages for each product
  • Product variations (such as different sizes or colors)
  • Customizable design, with ecommerce templates
  • Discount code creator
  • 12 payment processors for you to choose from (Stripe, Square, PayPal, Payment Express, Braintree, MercadoPago (South America), PagSeguro, Fat Zebra, Leumi Card, Dengionline, PagueloFacil & offline payments)
  • Tax and shipping calculations
  • Automatic email notifications
  • Newsletter tools (using Wix Shoutout and Lightbox to collect email addresses)
  • Optimized mobile store
  • Order & inventory management
  • Selling physical & digital products (music downloads)*
  • No transaction fees (so you keep all your profits)

* Note: you will have to use the Wix Music App from Wix’s App Market to sell music downloads.

Okay – so now you know they have the basics to help you sell goodies, let’s dive into what makes Wix different.

What Makes Wix eCommerce Better Than Other Drag & Drop Website Builders?

So all the other drag and drop website builders (such as Squarespace, Weebly, Jimdo) all have ecommerce tools too.

If you want to sell gadgets, all of them can help you set up the infrastructure so your customers can buy from you.

So the key question you might want to ask yourself is, “How well can I sell my products, and what tools can really help me expand and automate my business?

This is where Wix is different and stands apart from its competitors.

If you haven’t seen Wix’s App Market yet, you should.

It has over 260 apps that you can bolt on to your website to help extend your online store’s functions.  Over 15,000 apps are installed on Wix websites every day.

Wix eCommerce Review - App Market

So even though Wix gives you all the basic nuts and bolts to sell products (pretty much on par with its competitors), their App Market gives you more advanced sales & marketing tools, customer service tools, social network tools and business tools, to help you build a more comprehensive business.

Let’s get into some examples below.

But before we do that, I just want to highlight a couple of points:

  • Not all the apps in their App Market are free, as some of them are built (and supported) by other service providers.
  • The huge advantage here is that these tools are fully integrated into Wix and so you don’t have to mess around with integrating codes yourself if you want to use their services (which you will have to if you used another drag & drop website builder).  Just 1-click in the Wix App Market and the tool is integrated into your site.

You don’t have to use all the apps at all – you can just pick and choose which ones you find most helpful in growing your business.

Try Wix eCommerce for Free

How Can Wix’s App Market Help My Online Store?

If you visit Wix’s App Market, there are a few categories of apps that can help you grow your business:

  • eCommerce apps
  • Marketing tools
  • Business apps

There are a lot of other apps outside of these categories that can help you out (such as appointment scheduling apps, social network apps, gallery apps), but for the purpose of this discussion, we’ll be covering more ecommerce and business related apps.

WIX ECOMMERCE APPS

The eCommerce apps give you options to integrate other even more powerful ecommerce platforms such as Shopify (see our review) or Ecwid into your Wix store. This is just in case you need even more advanced shopping carts to help you with your needs.

Wix eCommerce Review - EC Apps

There are also apps to help you:

  • Piggyback off more powerful shopping cart functions (such as Shopify & Ecwid)
  • Set up a Facebook store and manage it directly in your Wix editor
  • Integrate with your Etsy Shop

WIX MARKETING APPS

Wix gives you a pretty comprehensive set of marketing related apps to help you generate more sales.

  • Use Live Chat to answer questions or find out what is on your customers’ minds
  • Email marketing tools
  • Testimonial apps
  • Calendar events
  • Contest apps – to reward your customers for taking certain actions
  • Customer review apps

Wix eCommerce Review - Marketing Apps

WIX BUSINESS APPS

Here are just a few other Business apps that you can bolt on to your store:

  • Traffic generating apps
  • Invoicing and accounting apps
  • Social media management apps
  • Search bar apps
  • QR code generator

Wix eCommerce Review - Business Apps

Try Wix eCommerce for Free

How Are These Better Than Wix’s Competitors?

As mentioned, other competitors give you the basic functions to sell products. But there are limitations to those tools, and Wix also has all of these basic tools as well.

With the apps that Wix provides you, you get more options.

If one day you decide to sell directly on Facebook, Wix allows you to control your Facebook store from your Wix editor.

How to sell on facebook store - Wix

If you want to set up professional looking testimonial blocks, to encourage your potential customers to buy from you, there’s an app for that.

If you want to integrate your Wix website with Freshbooks for invoicing and bookkeeping (so you won’t jump off the bridge when it comes time to bookkeeping), there’s an app for that.

If you want to automatically send out newsletters to your customer base to cross-sell your products, promote new products, or just to stay in touch, there are apps for that.

You get my point.

Sure, having the basic tools so that someone can land on your page, click on the add-to-cart button, and pay for the product is great, but to grow a business, you need more tools.

Sure, you can find tools and integrate those tools into other drag & drop website builders too, but you might not feel comfortable with integrating their codes yourself.

With Wix’s apps, it’s 1-click and done. The developers of the apps have done all the integration work ahead of time for you.

Not to mention, Wix is continuously growing their App Market, so you can expect even more available tools coming online in the future.

Other Expert Opinions About Wix– see what other leading experts are saying about Wix

Wix eCommerce Review – Conclusion

Being able to build an ecommerce store, insert products, sell and collect money, is the basics of running an online business.

But just having the basics is simply not going to be good enough going forward.

As the ecommerce landscape becomes more and more competitive, with more and more people trying to sell products online, you need more than just basic tools to get your business off the ground.

Wix’s ever growing App Market gives you more options and tools to do more, but without a lot more work.

For instance, you can automatically send out marketing newsletters, deal with invoicing almost automatically, integrate with other social network markets (such as Etsy, Facebook) without managing those networks separately, etc.

These apps help lay the ground work for you grow your business while leveraging off technology to reduce the amount of time you need to spend.

All in all, I’m really looking forward to seeing even more apps becoming available to help online store builders!

In terms of pricing plans, you can only access Wix’s eCommerce tools if you subscribe to their eCommerce or VIP plans. We have a detailed discussion about Wix pricing plans here.

Try Wix eCommerce for Free

Found This Guide Helpful?

Did this guide benefit you? Leave a comment below. 

Do you know anyone who can benefit from this guide? Send them this page or click on the share buttons on the left.

You’ll be helping us out by spreading the word about our website, and you’ll be helping them out!

 

Jeremy Wong

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

Subscribe

Jeremy Wong

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

, ,

Leave a Reply

122 Responses to Wix eCommerce Review 2017 | Top Reasons To Use Them

  1. Chris April 12, 2017 at 7:57 AM #

    Hi Jeremy….thanks for this info – helpful. I want to transfer from a current website builder. I already have a specific email that I also want to transfer because it’s on all my business cards!! Is that a possibility…without too much trouble?
    thanks

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong April 12, 2017 at 9:22 AM #

      Hello Chris,

      You should be able to keep your existing email address without having to transfer it to Wix. It depends on where you have your domain name (website address) registered.

      We have a detailed domain names guide which you might find helpful.

      The idea is that you don’t always have to transfer your domain name to Wix in order to use Wix to build your website. You can just connect the domain name to your website from your current domain name registrar. Wix’s support portal has tutorials on how you can connect them.

      Should you keep your domain name with your current registrar, it’s then possible to keep your email services with that registrar (provided that they are happy to continue providing this service, which I don’t see why they wouldn’t).

      Hope this explains things!

      Jeremy

      • Chris April 12, 2017 at 9:45 AM #

        Thank you – I’ll check on it, now that I know what I’m asking for 😉
        I appreciate it,
        Chris

  2. Ruben February 11, 2017 at 12:51 PM #

    Hi Jeremy!
    I will be offering 3 services to my B2B customers; a free trial package, upgrade package and a premium package. I would like to have them listed side by side for comparison and option to click on “buy button” at the bottom of each column for credit card payment.

    Would you recommend using Wix eCommerce template or just a regular (non-ecommerce) template since its only 3 service packages and not dozens of products like most eCommerce websites?
    Thank you in advance for your help!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong February 13, 2017 at 10:37 AM #

      Hello Ruben,

      What you can try to do with Wix is to create a 3 column format which lists out your offerings, then at the bottom of each column, insert a button that links to ecommerce product pages where your shoppers can purchase your offerings.

      This way, you can outline the high level features / benefits for each of your offerings on one page, and lead them to a more in-depth products page where they can add the product to the shopping cart.

      Just something to consider and it should be achievable with Wix.

      Jeremy

  3. Kenneth U February 8, 2017 at 2:05 PM #

    Hi Jeremy!
    I’m trying to choose between wix and square space.
    Im dealing with clothing. Ready to wear and tailoring.
    Mobile optimization and price are big factors for me.
    Which would be better?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong February 10, 2017 at 12:22 AM #

      Hey Kenneth,

      It’s really hard to say as both website builders are quite different. We have a comparison guide here.

      Both Wix and Squarespace have ecommerce tools to help you sell products – both can get the job done. Wix has a dedicated mobile editor and Squarespace’s designs are mobile responsive. So both of them are mobile ready.

      Perhaps the best way forward is to sign up for trial accounts and see which one you prefer working with.

      Jeremy

  4. Gitana January 20, 2017 at 12:13 AM #

    Hey, I am thinking of building my online shop with WIX. I have over 1000 products. Do you think WIX is a good choice? And what about email notifications? I need notifications for: order notification and shipment.

    THX!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong January 20, 2017 at 7:44 AM #

      Hi Gitana,

      If you have over a thousand products, I’d suggest you consider using a more advanced ecommerce platform such as Shopify or BigCommerce.

      Wix has a decent ecommerce function, but probably not equipped to handle thousands of products from a product management perspective. If you have less than a hundred products, then Wix will do just fine.

      Jeremy

  5. Hisham El Sebai January 18, 2017 at 9:29 AM #

    Hi, i am facing a problem for integrating a payment method with my wix ecommerce store (already done). I am from Egypt and there is only paypal that support Egypt. If you have another way to be able to integrate. As i have to leave wix and look for another websitebuilder to support my country. I really like wix and its really friendly user to me for more than one account i am doing through wix.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong January 20, 2017 at 6:24 AM #

      Hey Hisham,

      Thanks for your email. I’m not entirely sure what other payment processors support Egyptian merchants.

      One alternative it to integrate Ecwid to your Wix website. Ecwid is a ecommerce plugin / widget that you can bolt on to your website. They might have a payment processor that works in Egypt.

      Jeremy

  6. Chris Moroney January 12, 2017 at 3:49 PM #

    Hi I am looking to open an ecommerce site that I am hoping has a good rate of growth. The factors I need some help with are:

    1. I will be having a quick turnover of a lot of products(like a foodmarket for example) will wix and its ecommerce support this?
    2. How many listings can I make for products?
    3.How many websites can be through one account of Wix? I have a wordpress account- I am clueless with it so will be cancelling but I would like to run more than one site.

    Any help is appreciated for a complete newbie

    Cheers

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong January 13, 2017 at 8:56 AM #

      Hello Chris,

      1) Yes, Wix can help you with this. You’ll just have to delete the older / expired product listing and insert a new one.

      2) With Wix, you can have up to 3 product options (e.g. size, color, material) and up to 30 option choices (e.g. small, medium red, blue, green, cotton, wool, flannel). So this gives you a good number of variations you can have with a single product.

      3) You can create as many different websites as you want to under one single Wix account. However, just note that if you want to upgrade to a premium plan, you have to do so one website at a time. So for instance, if you have 10 websites within your Wix account, you’ll need to upgrade them one at a time (if you want to).

      Hope this makes sense!

      Jeremy

  7. MD January 4, 2017 at 6:54 AM #

    Wix is great, but unfortunately they do not have a shipping estimator tool. You either have to use a different e-commerce app they have, or estimate the shipping by weight. It’s a pain, but I’m hoping it is something they can provide soon. It would truly make them the best.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong January 4, 2017 at 4:53 PM #

      Thanks for your feedback, MD. I do agree with you and hopefully Wix will implement this as part of their core offering soon, instead of using apps.

      I know that Squarespace and Weebly offer this feature if you subscribe to their highest premium plans. So hopefully it will be sooner rather than later when Wix matches them with a similar feature.

      Jeremy

    • Estef V January 21, 2017 at 2:04 PM #

      Not having a shipping estimator tool is a TOTAL PAIN.
      Wix e-commerce plan is not cheap, they should be offering shipping system.
      I wish I had known that before paying.

      On the other hand, mercadopago (for south america) keeps your money over 10 days before transferring it to your bank account. Definitely not a good option.

      Not happy with my wix e-commerce plan. Not at all.

      • Jeremy Wong
        Jeremy Wong January 23, 2017 at 6:53 AM #

        Hi Estef,

        Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.

        I agree with you in that I also hope Wix will offer a real time shipping cost estimator.

        However, most other website builders that offer this feature only offer this function within North America (US and Canada). As you can imagine, it would be challenging to be able to offer this service around the world (meaning being integrated with shipping services around the world which is practically challenging). But hopefully we’ll get there one day.

        Another thing, is that the website builders that provide this function costs a lot more than Wix’s eCommerce or VIP plans. Specifically, Wix’s eCommerce and VIP plans cost $16.50 and $24.50 per month. To get the real time shipping cost estimator function, here are the per month prices for the other ecommerce / website builders:

        Squarespace $40
        Weebly $49
        Shopify $299

        I’m sure there are some other services that will provide this function at a more competitive price point, but the ones I listed above are just some of the more reputable ones off the top of my head.

        Jeremy

  8. Nargis Aalam January 2, 2017 at 10:25 AM #

    Does wix also include shipping system? In India?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong January 4, 2017 at 4:47 PM #

      Hello Nargis,

      You can sell products using Wix in India if you use PayPal as your payment processing provider. As with all ecommerce platforms, you’ll have to manage the shipping yourself.

      If you want more payment processor options specific to India, check out Shopify which in my view is the best hosted ecommerce platform right now.

      Jeremy

  9. Feon December 23, 2016 at 5:47 PM #

    Hi Jeremy,

    I would like to set up a Professional “look” E-Commerce Store for Commercial Kitchen Equipment B2B business – with the options of

    (1) Different Discount level (if possible) via coupon or promo code depending on Total Purchase
    (2) Request for Quote options (with possible we can insert the price then customer can get the price from the platform itself thereafter) as some product is not standard product always need to work out the price (after we check with principal)
    (3) PreOrder

    I am not a IT Guy – prefer the “easier” platform with no technical know how….

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong December 26, 2016 at 8:34 AM #

      Feon,

      I’d also suggest you take a look a more advanced ecommerce builders such as Shopify and BigCommerce.

      They’re relatively easy to use (compared to more advanced platforms such as WordPress or Magento), and do have a broad variety of ecommerce focused tools.

      Jeremy

  10. Tanya Roberts December 22, 2016 at 11:52 AM #

    Hi Jeremy,

    I am a travel agent who sells rooms/spaces for group travel. I need to be able to take deposits as well as full payments and allow people to make monthly payments until their trip is paid off. Ideally I would like my clients to also be sent and updated balance after every transaction, that may be asking for too much though but definitely the other items are needed. What would you suggest?

    Thank you so much,

    Tanya

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong December 23, 2016 at 7:06 AM #

      Tanya,

      Typically I’d suggest checking out WixHotel which is a specific app that enables you to turn a Wix website into hotel booking website where your guests can browse rooms and reserve / book them.

      But it sounds like your needs are a bit unique, so I’m not entirely sure if what Wix has is sufficient. You might want to take a look, though.

      Jeremy

  11. John L. December 21, 2016 at 5:47 PM #

    One big issue I ran across with the Wix online store setup is that for each product, you can only have 3 options. period. So if I’m trying to sell a product has more than 3 options, I’m out out luck. For example, if I’m selling a particular holster I’d need at a minimum to list options for compatible model such as a Glock 19 or Glock 17, etc… the color, left handed or right handed user, mounting option such as belt clip or belt loop or double belt loop, belt size (1.5 in or 1.75 in), inside waistband or outside waistband, slide mounted optic or no slide mounted optic.

    So as you can see, having only 3 product options is pretty limiting. I’ll take a look as squarespace and shopify.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong December 23, 2016 at 6:56 AM #

      Hi John,

      Yes, definitely take a look at Shopify. You’ll get a lot more flexibility with their platform. You can see our review of Shopify here.

      You might also want to consider Bigcommerce as well. We have a review about them here.

      Jeremy

  12. Dave Turner November 22, 2016 at 4:03 PM #

    Hi Jeremy,

    I am looking to start a website and on line store and I like the WIX option for its great looks and simplicity. I have a couple different suppliers I sell and drop ship for. What is the best way to integrate an accurate shipping charge into each customers purchase? Each product is different in size and weight and customers may order multiple items at the same time, so each shipment is different.

    I know there are real-time shipping rate calculations that can be provided by postal and courier companies, but how can I add shipping to each order given shipments will originate from different suppliers/locations in Canada.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong November 23, 2016 at 11:27 PM #

      Hello Dave,

      In addition to Wix, you might also want to check out Shopify (see our review here).

      They also have a drop shipping guide here that you might find helpful as well.

      Their platform can integrate with real-time shipping database and is much more flexible and advanced when it comes to ecommerce tools, as compared to Wix.

      Hope this helps!

      Jeremy

  13. Jojo October 25, 2016 at 7:19 AM #

    Hi Jeremy,

    I am looking for some urgent advice please.
    I have been woth Shopify for over a year now setting up my store and am almost read and cannot get past the shipping stage, I have been working with them for weeks now and they still cannot offer the right solution. I have had problems with them for months and am so unhappy I want to leave.

    I have used Wix in the past but not for ecommerce so am looking for advice.

    Will Wix be able to cater for the below:
    1 – I need to be able to offer standard shipping in the UK and the UK Isles, but restricting some postcodes.
    2 – For the restricted postcodes I need to be able to add an additional fee
    3 – I need to be able to add a surcharge on a separate line for deliveries under £35.00
    4 – I need to be able to offer next day delivery to certain postcodes only

    Thanks for your time.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong October 26, 2016 at 2:49 PM #

      Hi Jojo,

      Wix probably won’t be suitable for you. They’re a good website builder with basic ecommerce tools. So the level of customization you need won’t be available from them.

      Take a look at BigCommerce. They’re the main rival to Shopify and has a lot more flexibility than Wix.

      Jeremy

  14. John Ross October 21, 2016 at 11:01 AM #

    Hi Jeremy,

    Thank you for the post. I would appreciate a recommendation. I am working on developing a commerce website. I want the flexibility to sell digital content (document downloads) as well as a subscription based service. I cannot distinguish between Wix and Shopify. Both are great, but I want to automate the service as I anticipate a large volume of customers and don’t want to have to manually address each transaction. Suggestions?

    Thanks.
    John

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong October 21, 2016 at 3:23 PM #

      Hello John,

      If you want to sell document downloads, I’d definitely choose Shopify here as Wix only caters to music downloads when it comes to digital products.

      Shopify doesn’t have a built in subscription based program for merchants, but their App Store has a number of apps that enable you to incorporate this into your product offerings.

      You can also see our review of Shopify here.

      Jeremy

  15. Deborah September 8, 2016 at 1:10 PM #

    Hi Jeremy

    Thanks for explaining everything about Wix! It’s because of this article that I went with them.

    Now my problem is that I’m trying to integrate an affiliate program (some code) with the Wix shopping cart – and I can’t find what shopping cart platform Wix uses. Any ideas?

    Thanks!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong September 9, 2016 at 3:15 PM #

      Hey Deborah,

      I don’t think Wix currently offers the ability for you to sell through an affiliate program. They don’t have a tool built for this yet.

      You should take a look at Ecwid, they are a shopping cart service provider and it provides affiliate program to merchants.

      Visit Wix’s app market here, and search for Ecwid. You can integrate Ecwid with your Wix site pretty easily. But just know that Ecwid is a separate service and you will need to pay a monthly fee to use them. At least it’s an option worth reviewing.

      Jeremy

  16. Stephanie September 6, 2016 at 1:30 PM #

    Hi Jeremy,

    Thanks for your comprehensive write-ups. I’m planning to create a store/blog. The site will be centered around a couple of main products and I want the blog articles to be a main feature too. It’s kind of a lifestyle product, so the blog will support it.

    I want to get a site up cheaply and quickly. Do you think Wix sounds like good option? If so, do you recommend me buying my domain through them, or is it better to purchase my domain via namecheap or godaddy?

    Thanks in advance,

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong September 7, 2016 at 8:33 AM #

      Hey Stephanie,

      I think Wix can do that, but definitely test them out with their free account before committing to an upgrade. You can test their web builder for an unlimited time.

      You should also take a look at Shopify, which is probably the best hosted ecommerce builder in the market today. They’re much more ecommerce oriented than Wix, but Wix is a bit easier to use. They have a free 14 day trial so doesn’t hurt to sign up and check them out.

      As for domain name, take a look at our domain names guide here. I always prefer to purchase my domain names through a registrar. It just allows me to better-manage the domains just in case I switch website builders.

      Jeremy

  17. angela r. August 31, 2016 at 8:16 AM #

    Hello Jeremy,

    We are trying to build a large website, lots of info and lots of products. Customers would need to be able to purchase the products as well through the site. Is WIX designed to handle something like that? I read somewhere that it can only contain up to 30 pages I am sure we will have many more.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong August 31, 2016 at 3:46 PM #

      Hi Angela,

      If you want to sell more than 20 products, I’d suggest that you consider using Shopify, which is a much more powerful ecommerce store builder. You can see our review of Shopify here.

      They have much more advanced selling tools than Wix, and is built purely for selling products.

      Hope this helps!

      Jeremy

  18. nay August 30, 2016 at 11:18 AM #

    hey joe, i will be selling retreats and brave experiences, so i will have at least 100 customers pay per week and obviously even more when i all i promote and sell becomes extremely popular…
    i ham a lifestyle coach , so i will also be selling my services through here (all are at large pricing points).. can wix handke that, or should i go with Shopify.. i will not be selling any more tan 5 retreat packges and 5 adrenaline experiences based in Europe.

    but i will also be offering bespoke package. Whats your thoughts

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong August 31, 2016 at 3:34 PM #

      Nay,

      Wix can certainly handle high priced service / product items. However, Shopify can connect to over 70 different payment processors, while Wix only has a handful. So in a way, Shopify has a lot more tools and flexibility when it comes to selling tools.

      When it comes to ecommerce, Shopify in our view, is the best platform to build an online store. It’s powerful, flexible and has a large ecosystem of service providers if you want to hire one (eventually).

      You can see our review of Shopify here.

      Wix is easy to use, and they have great looking templates. But if you asked me Wix or Shopify is best for ecommerce, I’d say Shopify. But the drawback is that Shopify’s pricing plans are higher than Wix’s.

      Jeremy

  19. Stephen August 9, 2016 at 1:09 PM #

    Hello Jeremy,

    Great review! Thanks so much.

    I’m reading in here that you can connect Shopify App to your Wix website. I just searched the Apps on Wix and there is no way to connect Shopify to Wix. Is there something I’m missing here?

    I’m currently using the Wix Store in my Wix website and it’s terrible. Here’s a list of issues:

    1) You can’t export a report of your orders
    2) You can’t cancel/edit/refund customer orders.
    3) Worst of all, you can’t get an SSL of your website, so it’s not a private connection and our customers get a warning when they visit us. It’s just terrible.

    I love the editing abilities of Wix to help you build a beautiful website, but when it comes to running your business, it’s absolutely horrible. I’m shocked there aren’t more people complaining on this forum.

    Thanks Jeremy. If there’s any advice you have for addressing some of these issues, it would be MUCH appreciated.

    Stephen

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong August 10, 2016 at 12:44 PM #

      Hi Stephen,

      Thanks for your detailed comment! You can definitely integrate Shopify with Wix.

      Take a look at the Shopify Buy Button here.

      You can insert the Buy Button into your Wix website and have Shopify manage the ecommerce side of things. We have a guide about this, but it is focused on Squarespace and Shopify Buy Now Button. But the idea is the same with Wix.

      Jeremy

  20. Blake Adamson July 29, 2016 at 1:42 PM #

    Thank you for the info on Wix. i have created a website on Weebly for an Equipment Rental business. It is information only. Now I want to build a site for a Party Rental business. This site needs for our customers to add items, colors, size, quantity, etc… to a cart. The trick is that we dont sell products, we rent them. We need the cart to be emailed to our customer service department, who, will in turn call the customer back to review the order and pay on our own credit card processing system. We don’t want the customer to have to pay for anything on the website. What is the simlplest and best site for doing this? Weebly forces the customer to pay by cc before the order is sent to us so we can’t use Weebly!

    Any ideas would be great! Would WIX work for this since they have offline payment in ecommerce?

    Thank you,
    Blake A.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 30, 2016 at 1:19 AM #

      Hi Blake,

      I’m not sure if Wix’s offline payment function will be able to cater to what you need, but worth a test?

      Alternatively, why don’t you just list out your product options, then insert a contact form below the specifications and tell the interested party to contact you using the form?

      Jeremy

  21. Palmer July 27, 2016 at 9:23 AM #

    Hello Jeremy,
    I am looking to create a new web site for a non-profit arts center that covers a whole spectrum of offering ie;live theatre, music acts, comedy, visual art galleries, community events. We have a site now that feels and looks heavy handed. We have a small amount of e-commerce (ticket sales, gift shop items, art work) that we have multiple outside interfaces.

    Would you feel WIX with its new tools and support would be the strongest site builder? We do updates of shows on a nearly weekly basis and have images to import constantly.

    Thanks in advance.

    Great articles.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 27, 2016 at 11:07 AM #

      Hey Palmer,

      I think Wix is a strong candidate for you to test out. They should be able to do what you’re looking for, and give you the tools to help you manage your site on a weekly basis.

      Give them a try to get some hands on experiences with them. Alternatively, also check out Weebly, which is also a good website builder (see our review here). Though Wix is much more impressive from a perspective of updated designs and tools.

      Jeremy

  22. David July 25, 2016 at 12:09 AM #

    Hey Jeremy,
    What website builder(s) would you recommend for me to use for selling the 30+ children’s books I have written? I’d like drag-&-drop, WYSIWYG, statistics, email forms, and email service,
    Thanks!
    David

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 25, 2016 at 9:35 AM #

      Hello David,

      I’d say give Wix a test to see how you like working with their tools. You can sign up to a free account (no time limit), before deciding to upgrade or not.

      Also take a look at Weebly. They’re a good, easy-to-use, drag & drop website builder too.

      Jeremy

  23. Darian July 21, 2016 at 2:27 AM #

    Hi Jeremy,

    This article was very well written with an unbiased investigation of Wix to bring us facts rather than shoving an opinion down our throats. Top notch write up.

    And I would like to request some advice on selecting a good platform to start my online store.

    A little about what im planning to do:

    It will be an online store selling electronics and IT components.

    1. As you can imagine the inventory will be nothing less than 10,000. I will be partnering with local mail companies to ship products.

    2. Inventory and invoicing system is an absolute necessity.

    3. Ability to add/maintain inventory is a must.

    4. Product demos/presentation etc is also a must to make the store more visually appealing.

    From what I have researched on a 3 day marathon there are alot of pros and cons.

    For example, after testing Weebly Vs. Wix Vs. Shopify, I concluded that:

    1. Wix is the ultimate option to play around in terms of website designing and aesthetics.

    2. Weebly and Shopify provide bulk entry/import of products via csv files whereas Wix does not. If I was to go with Wix I have the painful task of manually entering thousands of entries one by one.

    3. I could not make head or tails of editing website in Shopify, placing stuff, arrangements etc.

    After reaching this point im confused what to choose. Any specific advice to address my issue would be highly appreciated.

    Thank you.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 22, 2016 at 6:28 PM #

      Hi Darian,

      Thanks for your comment. I would have suggested testing out Shopify given you are thinking of selling such a massive number of products. Based on that alone, I really think you need a much more powerful ecommerce platform.

      If you really can’t sort out the design aspect of a Shopify store, have you considered hiring someone to help you do that? Shopify does offer Experts and we have a discussion about that here.

      Alternatively, have you considered BigCommerce? They are also an advanced ecommerce builder – but be sure to understand how they price their plans. Their pricing structure is a bit atypical.

      If you do consider testing BigCommerce, I’d suggest you read our discussion comparing them and Shopify here.

      Hope this helps.

      Jeremy

  24. Jo July 11, 2016 at 1:30 PM #

    The major downside to e-commerce, is the lack of a email confirmation of your orders. This problem was already in 2013 and they still did not fix this. They also do not warn you upfront about it. It is a crucial feature and a basic one that free e-commerce platforms like prestashop and woocommerce have it, but a paid plan of six not. Go figure!

    • Jo July 11, 2016 at 1:31 PM #

      Wix e-commerce I meant has that downside

      • Jeremy Wong
        Jeremy Wong July 13, 2016 at 9:25 AM #

        Hi Jo,

        Wix actually does have that function. Make sure you add the Wix Store App installed – go to “Store Manager” > “Store Settings” > “Basic Info” – there you can choose to send sales confirmation emails when your customers purchase from you.

        You can find more details about this in Wix’s support portal.

        Jeremy

  25. Jack Nonmacher July 11, 2016 at 12:47 PM #

    In your Wix Review 2016 article you indicated that Wix has the following payment processors for you to choose from: Stripe, PayPal, WireCard, Moolah (Authorize.net), MercadoPago (South America), PagSeguro & offline payments. So they don’t support the bigger ones like Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express? Are the bigger ones supported in the Business Aps or Marketing Aps?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 13, 2016 at 9:30 AM #

      Hi Jack,

      The main credit card companies that you listed usually don’t deal with store merchants directly. They work with payment processors, such as Stripe, PayPal, etc, and these payment processors work with merchants.

      So for instance, if an ecommerce store is using PayPal to manage the payment transactions, your customers can pay with Visa, Mastercard, Discover, Amex. The payment is just processed by PayPal, who works with the major credit cards.

      Hope this makes sense.

      Jeremy

  26. Soufyan July 3, 2016 at 1:09 PM #

    Hi!

    First off, your reviews are really good and I appreciate ’em, keep up the good work!

    Now on to business, I want to start a online store, not too big, I’m only 15. But I do have enough money per month, so it won’t be a problem. But my question is, which platform is better for me to use, Shopify of Wix? Since Wix is cheaper and they have the option to integrate Shopify I was thinking Wix, but Shopify has things that Wix doesn’t have. Can you help me out?

    THank you!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 4, 2016 at 9:20 AM #

      Hi Soufyan,

      Thanks for your comment and glad our discussions are helpful to you.

      As for your question, it really depends on what you’re trying to get out of your website. Aside from pricing, Wix is easier to use than Shopify due to its pure drag and drop user interface, so it’s easier to design your site. With Shopify, if you want to make design changes, sometimes you still have to edit some codes.

      On the flip side, as you correctly pointed out, Shopify does have a lot more advanced ecommerce tools. So these tools can really help you out if / when your business starts to grow.

      Did you sign up to a free / trial account with both Wix and Shopify to see which one you prefer? It does help provide some clarify once you’ve had some hands on experiences with the actual online store builder.

      Also, consider taking a look at this ecommerce comparison table here, as well as our Quiz here. You might also find these helpful.

      Jeremy

      • Soufyan July 5, 2016 at 9:55 AM #

        Hi Jeremy,

        I have not taken a free trial yet, because I am still working on my business-plan, I don’t want to go all in without knowing what to do. I still have one question, what would you recommend to a younger person who wants to start a small scale business. Wix or Shopify? Or does your choice of product also influence the choice of website?

        I am trying to earn some extra money, after I’m done with my high school (6 years in the Netherlands) I want to expand my business, but that’s still 2 years away.

        • Jeremy Wong
          Jeremy Wong July 6, 2016 at 4:02 PM #

          Soufyan,

          If you are selling physical products, I’d definitely suggest Shopify as that will set you up with a solid foundation for future expansion.

          But as mentioned in my previous comment, Shopify is not as easy to design as Wix (pure drag & drop builder).

          Lastly, I’d encourage you to sign up to a free trial with both Shopify and Wix, so you can some hands on experiences working with them. You don’t have to upgrade to a paid plan if you’re not ready yet. But at the very least, you’ll have a better sense which one you might enjoy working with.

          Jeremy

  27. Tracy June 30, 2016 at 6:17 PM #

    I have a question I want to start up an online Tarot reading business, I originally had a weebly site and did not get one visitor to it at all after nearly a year despite the little traffic grid that comes with it saying I did. I can’t remember what I looked up to find that out, I think it was my domain name which I purchased through GoDaddy. So if I get a wix site how will I know that I get visitors?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong June 30, 2016 at 11:24 PM #

      Hi Tracy,

      Good question. Take a look at our website builder SEO guide here.

      If you just build a website, very little people will find it online. You have to promote it either offline (in person) or online (creating helpful content and reaching out to share them with authoritative websites).

      Achieving higher search engine rankings online takes work, and is no different than having a physical store and going out there to drum up business.

      Hope our guide helps a bit! It’s a big topic to digest and think through, but hopefully it will point you towards the right direction.

      Jeremy

  28. Joe June 26, 2016 at 9:11 AM #

    AWESOME review!!! Thanks a million times!

    I do have a couple of questions though; I’ve been told by people that even opting for the payment model(..I don’t want to use their free service) will not give me ownership of my domain name. I’m confused because when I researched this many websites said Wix WILL give me my own domain (without their name in the url) if I pay…but the people I’ve talked to personally, who have already tried it…said that Wix will own my domain name. Can you give me any information at all about this?

    My next question is; can I sell my movies digitally from using a website with Wix’s builder? You mentioned that to sell music I would need a music app, but what about movies? A lot of my content are movies made in After Effects and then compressed (using a better video compressing software) into files to be sold. Is this possible?

    Thank you so much and good day!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong June 26, 2016 at 8:42 PM #

      Hey Joe,

      Thanks for your feedback!

      With Wix, once you upgrade to one of their premium plans, you can connect your domain name to the Wix site.

      You always own your domain name and can transfer it to any domain name registrar of your choice. The only exception is the initial 60 days of owning the domain name where you cannot transfer it, due to ICANN rules. But once the initial 60 days pass, you can transfer it out of your current domain name registrar to another registrar.

      If you purchase your domain name through Wix, you own it, they don’t. You can transfer it out of Wix, and into GoDaddy (for example) after the initial 60 days of ownership.

      Or, you can just purchase a domain name from another domain name registrar (such as GoDaddy), then connect it to your Wix website. That way, you can have full control over which website you want to connect the domain name to. You can always disconnect the domain name from a specific website, and reconnect it to another website.

      We have a domain name guide here which will have more discussions about this topic.

      Wix doesn’t have a specific tool that allows you to sell movies. So in this case, you might have to consider using an external ecommerce widget (such as Ecwid) where it can be bolt on to your Wix site, and allow you to sell larger digital files.

      Jeremy

      • Joe June 27, 2016 at 8:31 PM #

        Thank you SO much for you help, Jeremy! I’ll definitely let people know about this website. You have truly been a blessing and a big help! i wish you the best and much success in all that you do. You take care, and thank you again!

        Joe

  29. jv May 29, 2016 at 3:52 PM #

    I will be opening a small retail store and would also like to set up an online store as a secondary distribution channel. The pos system that I prefer is shop keep. However, they do not include an e-commerce website builder. Therefore, I am looking for a third party ecomm website developer. Do you know if wix can connect to shopkeep and access the inventory levels?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong May 30, 2016 at 4:47 AM #

      Hello JV,

      I’m not sure actually. I just checked their App Market and didn’t see Shop Keep point of sales system.

      If it’s important for you to integrate your POS system with your online store (which makes perfect sense), have you considered Shopify? They have a POS system that can be fully synchronized with an online store built on their platform.

      Jeremy

  30. Eva May 11, 2016 at 9:38 PM #

    Hi Jeremy,

    I have a small ebay store and would like to open an online store for my products, as ebay won’t generate much sales anymore. I’m based in Japan and I only have a Premier Paypal account , which store builder can I use? I understand shopify requires a business paypal account to use the Express checkout. I don’t have experience creating a website either, but eager to try.

    Your help would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks in advance.

    Eva

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong May 12, 2016 at 6:23 PM #

      Hey Eva,

      I think the best thing to do is to test out a few different ecommerce website builders to see which one you like working with the most.

      Generally speaking, Shopify is the best and most comprehensive online store builder. They have a lot of basic and advanced tools to help you scale up and grow your business once you gain traction.

      Having said that, there are “simpler” ecommerce builders out there, such as Wix, Weebly or Squarespace. Their tools are not as advanced as Shopify, but they’re easier to use due to their drag & drop user interface.

      Here’s a chart benchmarking them so you can see what we think about their platforms.

      I think the best thing to do is sign up for trial or free accounts and invest some time in testing them. That’s the only way you can be more certain as to which one you enjoy working with and that will do what you want!

      Jeremy

  31. Robert P Rimavicus May 3, 2016 at 8:26 AM #

    I spent months building a site on Wix for my estore under the premise that I would be able to drop ship using the drop ship app and Shopify app. Now Im ready to launch ,and they eliminated all these useful apps !! Now I have to go to Shopify or another builder to start from scratch because Wix can no longer even do what is was able to before!!!!!
    >:(

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong May 4, 2016 at 6:34 AM #

      Hey Robert,

      The Shopify App is removed, as Shopify now offer a “Buy Button” that can be inserted into your Wix site. This Pay Button is powered by Shopify and so you can access a lot of their check out tools.

      You can take a look at their Buy Button here. Once you reach the bottom of the page, clicks on “Wix” and you’ll see how the Button works with Wix websites.

      Hope this helps!

      Jeremy

  32. Suman Lata April 8, 2016 at 8:26 AM #

    Thanks, Jeremy. After reading this article, I have some clarity on which e-commerce site builder I want. I have decided to go for Wix because I need to provide lot of information and educate my clients about the products.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong April 10, 2016 at 9:04 PM #

      Glad our discussions here have been helpful to you, Suman! Best of luck on your online store!

      Jeremy

  33. Dii O. March 22, 2016 at 11:03 AM #

    Hey Jeremy,

    Nice review man. Question though, I read you mentioned the ability to integrate QuickBooks with a wix site (I’m helping someone with a small business design his site and he’s been using QB for his bookkeeping already)…. yet, when I go through the app market, I don’t really see anything for it.

    Is there a specific app used or am I looking in the wrong place? Any advice on this would be awesome, thanks

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong March 22, 2016 at 8:43 PM #

      Hello Dii,

      Thanks for your questions. I just checked Wix’s app market and indeed I can’t find Quickbooks anymore! Sorry about that and I have just updated this article.

      Wix now offers integration with Freshbooks, which is another reputable and popular accounting software. Though I’m not entirely sure if you’d want to change accounting software just to make it work with Wix.

      Another option is to check out Shopify (which in our view is the best hosted ecommerce builder in the market today – see our discussion here).

      They do offer Quickbooks integration, through their App store.

      Jeremy

  34. Kamal March 20, 2016 at 7:51 AM #

    Hi Jeremy

    I have a website already build on Wix but since I need to operate in India , the payment gateway of wix is very limiting and I need to migrate to something like shopify. My domain is hosted on Godaddy. I have spend a lot of time on the website on Wix so wondering should I move to shopify completely or use the shopify button and continue with Wix. The button options seems to be limiting and hence wanted to seek your expert advice on the same. I am sure other users are thinking about this too.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong March 20, 2016 at 7:13 PM #

      Hi Kamal,

      That’s a really good question. Shopify’s Buy Button does give you more options. Here is a page from Shopify that directly confirms that its Buy Button will work with Wix.

      Regarding whether you should move or not, it’s really up to how comfortable you are with using Wix. If it’s working for you already, then maybe you don’t need to build a new online store (as it takes time to get things set up).

      But if you feel that Shopify will offer more tools / features for you, over time, then maybe it’s worth considering making the migration sooner rather than later. You can also see our review on Shopify here.

      One thing to consider is that you can always test out the Shopify Buy Button to see if you like using it with Wix. All the products you set up with Shopify, should still be there if you decide to upgrade to a higher Shopify plan (implying you want to use them to build your store).

      Also, consider that if you use the Buy Button, you no longer have to be subscribed to Wix’s ecommerce plans. So you can downgrade your plan, and save some money there too.

      Hope this is helpful!

      Jeremy

  35. Gary February 28, 2016 at 7:36 AM #

    Except that security is an issue with Wix….right?
    We have a domain name from GoDaddy, but started with a Wix site.

    Wix does not have SSL security, that could create a security issue for our server.
    Is that correct?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong February 28, 2016 at 6:14 PM #

      Hey Gary,

      The most important part of an ecommerce transaction that you need to protect is when your customer inserts sensitive information (such as address, credit card). For those pages on a Wix website (specifically the check out cart pages), you will get SSL protection / encryption. But on the other pages (such as your product pages), you won’t get it.

      But what’s there to encrypt when a visitor is just browsing through your product pages, right? So I think Wix is right on par in terms of transaction security.

      Jeremy

  36. Carrie February 17, 2016 at 8:51 AM #

    Hi Jeremy-

    Thanks for the review. Would love your input on this – I’m torn between Wix and Shopify for my online shop. I do not have a tradition brink & mortar store front. My company is a new little start-up (limited $$$ to spend) and my product will be sold through little boutiques. So I’m looking for your expert opinion – if you were me….Wix or Shopify?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong February 18, 2016 at 8:15 PM #

      Hi Carrie,

      It really depends. Wix offers you all the basics of running a good / functional online store, but Shopify is much more sophisticated and has a lot more advanced tools if your online store really takes off and grows.

      Also, Wix is more user friendly in my opinion you can manage everything using its drag & drop tools. With Shopify (see our review here), it’s not a pure drag & drop interface, and so if you want to make customizations to your design, it’s a bit more challenging. However, Shopify has a large ecosystem of designers / developers for you to hire if you want to. This does take some investment but at least it’s available for you in the future.

      So generally speaking, if you intend to remain smaller and want to be able to do everything yourself, then Wix is a good candidate.

      if you envision your store to grow and want the capability / tools to scale up your business, and have access to hire experts, Shopify is a good route.

      Maybe you can consider signing up to both platforms and give them a tree. Shopify offers a 14 day free trial period, and Wix is free to use (with options to upgrade if you want to).

      We also have a comparison chart here, which you might find helpful.

      Jeremy

  37. Frank December 4, 2015 at 4:41 AM #

    Hi Jeremy nice preview. I have a few questions concerning the Wix online store. How much will I pay a year for an online store? Can I merge it with my blog hosted by another host. Thanks

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong December 4, 2015 at 1:11 PM #

      Hi Frank,

      Wix’s ecommerce premium plan is $16.17 per month if you sign up to their annual plan. If you want to pay on a month to month basis, it’s $19.90 per month. We have more pricing discussion in our main review page here.

      You won’t be able to import or merge your blog into a Wix website. Wix does provide you the ability to create a blog within the website, so that’s an option.

      If your existing blog is quite well established already, you can just link out from your Wix site to your current blog.

      You can link it from the menu bar (so when people click on “Blog” on your Wix website’s menu bar, they will be brought to your separate blog site). Wix’s menu bar has that flexibility to do so.

      Jeremy

  38. Margarita November 5, 2015 at 7:06 PM #

    Hi Jeremy I am trying to do my online store, I started with a Wix store template, take some time to learn how to work with it and how to add the items. A friend of my recommend me to use Shopify on wix, she said that will give me more options for the store. What I understand is that if I add the Shopify I do not need the ecommerce plan, I can go with a simple plan, correct?. My question is, should I keep working in my store template or get another simple template? how works this app with wix?, do you recommend it or just keep Wix ecommerce alone is enough. If I add the app, then all my items, I have to add manually in the app, or they will be export automatically.
    So many questions Sorry, I am new on this and I have so many . Thanks

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong November 6, 2015 at 11:53 AM #

      Hi Margarita,

      That’s a good question. Using the Shopify App through Wix’s App Market will give you more ecommerce tools. But you will need to re-insert your products in the Shopify dashboard so I don’t think it will automatically transfer all your existing products into the App.

      I also suspect that you don’t need to use Wix’s ecommerce plan any more, so perhaps you can downgrade to their Unlimited plan (but best to double check this with Wix’s support team).

      One thing to consider is that if you use Shopify’s app with Wix, you will need to pay another $18 per month, since Shopify’s ecommerce tools are very advanced and opens up a lot more options for your store. So downgrading your Wix plan will help save you a bit of money if you decide to use Shopify’s app.

      At the end of the day, it’s an interesting approach to continue to use Wix’s drag and drop platform (very easy to use), and combine it with Shopify’s leading ecommerce tools.

      Jeremy

      • danielle March 11, 2016 at 12:05 PM #

        I don’t see shopify as an option on wix! help! 🙂 Thanks!

        • Jeremy Wong
          Jeremy Wong March 14, 2016 at 3:40 AM #

          Hi Danielle,

          Wix actually got rid of the Shopify widget, but you can definitely still use the Shopify Buy Button on your Wix site.

          Take a look at the Shopify Buy Button here.

          Jeremy

  39. Phil norton October 27, 2015 at 2:01 AM #

    Hi Jeremy
    Wonder if you can help because wix have not replied. For a photography site where all of the images are available for sale it seems the only option is to create galleries for the images as normal on a photography site, but to then sell them a shop page is added and the images have to be added to that. It makes no sense, images have to be uploaded twice, a viewer has to leave the gallery and go find it again on the shop page. Is there a way I can have purchasing on the images in the galleries and not in a products page? Or is there an app I can add that will do this?
    Many Thanks

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong October 28, 2015 at 4:29 PM #

      Hello Phil,

      I don’t think that is a common feature, as it’s quite specific for photography businesses.

      Have a look at PhotoShelter, which is a website builder that is designed specifically for photographers wanting to sell pictures online.

      Jeremy

  40. Deborah October 25, 2015 at 10:14 AM #

    Hi Jeremy, Thank you so much for your comprehensive comparisons between eCommerce website builders. Based on your analysis, I chose Wix and built a great web site. When it came time to build my actual store, however, I was surprised to find out that the only options I have for shipping charges are either to offer free shipping or charge one base rate to everyone.

    One of the bullet points of Wix’s store capabilities in this post is *Tax and Shipping Calculations.* My product weighs 5-lbs/ea, and I use USPS Priority Mail Regional Flat Rate boxes (offered to businesses only); so I’d like to charge shipping based on package weight and destination zip code, but I can’t get anywhere near that with Wix.

    I added the Free version of Ecwid to my site and am currently sifting through the instructions. Is this the best solution to my problem? Or do you have any other suggestions? I’d rather not have to use a premium app if I don’t have to.

    Again, thanks for your advice.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong October 26, 2015 at 11:26 AM #

      Hi Deborah,

      I think Ecwid is a good solution for this. One of the main drawback of using website builders is that they don’t have very advanced ecommerce related tools. They’ll provide 80% of the tools to enable you to build a functional store. But to get to the last 20%, you might have to look for more powerful add-on’s such as Ecwid (or one of their apps in their App Market).

      Another alternative for you to consider, is to use a pure ecommerce online store builder such as Shopify. They are a “pure” store builder and so will have 99% of all the tools you want. However, the down side is that their monthly plans are a bit pricier when compared to Wix – reflecting the additional tools they provide you.

      Jeremy

  41. Terry August 28, 2015 at 1:50 AM #

    Hi Jeremy, in regards to the info above one part is not correct and is misleading to people like me. you get alot of posts about selling “digital” products through wix’s like member subscriptions etc and you even said in a replt to a lady that because you cant charge with the wix member log in app that a way around it is to sell a “digital” product through the wix store. i took the advice and have just realised that wix store does not support digital prodcuts. as per this from wix themselves.
    Currently, selling digital products for download (eg. eBooks, MP3s) in WixStores is not supported. WixStores is intended to sell physical products.

    But in the list at the top of this page you have listed it as an option please delete this and let people know next time thanks. This is making me wonder how many other errors are in your posts i hope its only a small oversite as i respect what you say.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong August 28, 2015 at 12:16 PM #

      Hi Terry,

      You’re absolutely right. Wix used to allow you to sell digital products and so they must have updated this recently. I’m not entirely sure why but I will update our discussion here to reflect this. Thank you for bringing this up and again my sincere apologies for not updating this post quick enough.

      If you are still interesting in selling digital products, they have apps that cater to this in their App Market. However, you have to pay for these apps as they are created and operated by other companies. They just made it easy to integrate the tools into a Wix website (1 click installation).

      Jeremy

  42. Julie McE August 24, 2015 at 10:00 AM #

    thanks, Jeremy Wong.
    You’ve helped me make a pretty big decision.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong August 24, 2015 at 5:12 PM #

      You’re very welcome Julie!

  43. sky August 22, 2015 at 6:21 AM #

    Hi Jeremy
    Thank you for your article. It is very helpful. However, I’m trying to search about the member page with E-commerce as I plan to have the regular pages for the public and the e-commerce page in the member site. No one mentioned that much.
    Can Wix be able to provide that function?

    I like weebly because it doesn’t have too many users now. But it seems Wix is better.

    My bottom line;
    1. Need the member page for E-commerce as a wholesale business. Not sure about the security for the customer if we use wix and 3rd party for the software. On the other hands, weebly will charge 3% but paypal will charge anyway. I’m very concerned with my customer security for E-commerce. Wix or Weebly?
    2. Need SEO great feature, the traffic site report.
    3. Blog &newsletter.
    4. Fast website working as my current site seems slow since I canceled the web hosting .
    5. I don’t have much items. Just start up business for only a year. need flexible to change.

    Please reply as I need to switch my web hosting asap.
    Thank you in advance.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong August 24, 2015 at 4:58 PM #

      Hi Sky,

      I actually haven’t tried using the membership feature with an ecommerce set up with either Wix or Weebly. But I guess in principle it should work. You just have to create product pages, then protect them behind the membership wall so only your members can log in to purchase.

      As in security, both Wix and Weebly provide you with SSL security so when your customers check out, they are well protected.

      Have you considered taking a look at Shopify or Bigcommerce? Both are much more advanced ecommerce builders, and have much more ecommerce oriented features to grow with your business as you expand.

      While Wix and Weebly are good website builders, their ecommerce features cover mostly the basics. So if you need more advanced tools to integrate with your business, Shopify and Bigcommerce are much better down the road.

      You can also take a look at our ecommerce comparison chart here for more details.

      Jeremy

  44. Terry August 17, 2015 at 7:22 AM #

    Hi Jeremy, I just wanted to say thanks on behalf of the many people like me who are new at this. I am looking at starting a rock climbing club here in Australia. Would Wix be suited to my needs for a club site plus sell basic memberships and courses and can I maintain a basic membership database, thanks.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong August 17, 2015 at 12:39 PM #

      hi Terry,

      Unfortunately Wix doesn’t have a built in membership subscription system, where you can charge members a monthly fee to access protected pages.

      Wix does have the ability for you to create basic memberships and only allow such members to access protected pages, but not the ability to charge them entrance fees.

      However, take a look at Sentry Login, which is an independent membership creator program that apparently works with Wix. They enable you to charge monthly fees for members.

      Jeremy

      • Terry August 21, 2015 at 6:53 AM #

        Thanks for the tips how do you set up basic memberships and only allow such members to access protected pages.

        • Jeremy Wong
          Jeremy Wong August 21, 2015 at 9:57 AM #

          Terry – just go to Wix’s membership app and add it to your Wix website!

          You’ll see tutorials on how to work with this app as well.

          Jeremy

  45. JaQuette Gilbert July 25, 2015 at 2:23 AM #

    Hi,
    I’m a newbie and am looking for a site to help me promote my motivational speaking company / books / blog. I need customers to pay online for services and be able to buy my books online through Amazon. What type of site do you recommend? Thanks for the informative post!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 27, 2015 at 10:30 AM #

      Hi JaQuette,

      Wix allows you to sell non-physical goods (they categorize it as a “digital” product). So you can have your customers buy from you, without you having to deliver any physical products.

      Just set it up so that they pay you, then you can reach out to them to provide your service.

      You can definitely set up your website using Wix, to promote your business. Wix’s drag and drop builder is quite easy to use!

      Jeremy

  46. suzie July 24, 2015 at 11:23 PM #

    If you build a website using wix and you have a store for selling goods. Is that free or just a free trial??. I did not see anything on cost of all the services I read about.. Sounds great but how much does that cost me? If it is free to me. Then how does wix make their money??

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 27, 2015 at 10:18 AM #

      Hi Suzie,

      If you want to use Wix’s ecommerce tools, you’ll have to upgrade to either their eCommerce or VIP plans.

      If you visit our Wix review article here, you’ll see more details about their pricing plans.

      But if you just want to test out Wix, you can definitely sign up for a free account and play around with their drag and drop website builder (there is no time limit to the free account).

      This way you can get a better sense of whether you’d like to keep using them to build your online store.

      Jeremy

  47. Daphne June 25, 2015 at 3:31 PM #

    My daughter and I are creating a website to sell personalized softball jewelry using Wix but need to have the ability for the buyer to enter the name of the player, her team name, and jersey #. How do we add those fields in the shopping cart? Thank you in advance!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong June 25, 2015 at 10:12 PM #

      Hi Daphne,

      I don’t think there is a way to insert a custom message in the shopping cart. But what you can do, is in the email confirmation message that you automatically send out to your customer, to ask them to reply to the email with the information that you require.

      Alternatively, you can use Wix ShoutOut to email your customers to request the information.

      Hope this helps somewhat!

      Jeremy

  48. Roie June 23, 2015 at 12:50 PM #

    Does Wix only use 3rd party shopping carts? Is that cause for concern? Does Wix allow for forms to be attached to purchases, for example when selling personalized products, can a form be attached to specify color, engraving, etc?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong June 25, 2015 at 9:42 PM #

      Hi Roie,

      Yes you can integrate 3rd party shopping carts with Wix. Have a look at their App Market (our discussion here) and click on “ecommerce” to see the number of apps you can bolt on to your Wix site. Specifically, Shopify and Ecwid are good options.

      We also have a full discussion on Shopify here.

      Jeremy

  49. Klaus April 25, 2015 at 8:39 AM #

    Thinking about using WIX for my sports photography events. I take photos of players and then would upload for them to be viewed and purchased. Would WIX be good for this? I don’t need them to be printed as I would do that myself. I would need to create individual event galleries for this. Also can I have multiple websites? One for sports, one for seniors and one for pets?

    Thanks

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong April 25, 2015 at 7:45 PM #

      Hi Klaus,

      Yes you can definitely upload your images into a Wix website to share with your visitors. You can also sell digital products with Wix. So when someone purchases a digital photograph from you, you can configure it so that your website automatically emails them the image. You’d have to use Wix’s ecommerce plan for this.

      You can create multiple galleries as well, and you can definitely create multiple different websites. But just bear in mind that when you upgrade your website to the ecommerce plan to take advantage of the commerce tools, you’d need to upgrade one website at a time.

      So if you have 3 different websites, and you want to use the ecommerce tools for all 3 of them, you’d have to upgrade all 3 of them separately.

      Jeremy

      • klaus April 25, 2015 at 11:58 PM #

        Thanks Jeremy!

        So let me see if I understand this correctly, each website would have to have an e-commerce subscription? What my plans were is to have a website with my main name and then four tabs below that show my different photography businesses. So there would be a tab for sports, a tab for seniors, a tab for pets and a tab for families. I only plan to sell images from the sports side of my business online. The rest of my business requires them to come into my studio to order. I’m thinking that the tabs would just be galleries and then each gallery would have sub-galleries. So it would be one website with a page for each business model. What happens if I go over the 20GB of website traffic? Thanks again!

        • Jeremy Wong
          Jeremy Wong April 26, 2015 at 7:51 PM #

          Hey Klaus,

          I think that works. So you just have to incorporate the ecommerce function on the sports related page. You can have all that under one single website I think, that should work.

          As for 20GB worth of storage, that’s a lot of storage room! I haven’t really seen any cases where a website goes over that, unless you are building a massive website with tens of thousands of very high quality images! So I wouldn’t worry too much about that (unless that’s your plan to upload tens of thousands of very large images).

          Jeremy

          • klaus April 26, 2015 at 8:17 PM #

            Thanks for the info. A second comment was posted by accident. sorry about that.

  50. Laura Mae April 2, 2015 at 2:34 PM #

    Oh my gosh thank you so much this is the most complete and comprehensive review I have ever read. This one review answered all my questions. I just can’t say enough how much this review helped me make a tough decision.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong April 2, 2015 at 6:36 PM #

      Hey Laura,

      Thanks! Glad we can be helpful!

      Jeremy

  51. S Johns February 3, 2015 at 12:10 PM #

    Forgive me as I wm new to web site building. What I need to be able to do for my on line store is to accept payment by credit/debit card. However, with the Wix checkout you cannot do this and neither can you buy an SSL certificate and add to your website. I do not want to force my customers to use PayPal or another method. Not having a proper functioning checkout like you would expect to see is a serious drawback for anyone in business who is building a website to sell on-line.

    Other than the above major issue I a really happy with Wix and found it easy to use.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong February 3, 2015 at 6:49 PM #

      Hey there,

      PayPal actually offers users to pay either using their own PayPal account, or using credit or in some cases debit cards. I know for sure they allow people to use credit cards (Mastercard, Visa, American Express and Discovery).

      As for SSL certificate, the only place where it matters is in the check out page, which is where your customers are inserting sensitive information. When you use PayPal, your customers are making payments on PayPal’s site and they are secured so your customers’ information are protected.

      Hope this helps!

      Jeremy

      • Mary Palmer January 16, 2017 at 4:39 PM #

        Just remember Jeremy, that although PayPal has no cost for the customer when they pay, they do have a 3% charge to the seller when an invoice is paid.

        Mary

        • Jeremy Wong
          Jeremy Wong January 18, 2017 at 8:55 AM #

          Hi Mary,

          Yes there will still be service charges from PayPal, charged to the merchant (seller of products). But I think paying a fee is reasonable as they manage the collection of payments, the transferring of cash into your bank account, security and any potential disputes.

          Charges from payment processors are unavoidable and it’s just a cost of doing business for the merchant.

          Thanks for adding to this discussion.

          Jeremy

    • Christian Dunbar April 4, 2015 at 7:13 AM #

      Within PayPal, there is a way to pay with all major credit and debit cards. It does not cost the customer anything to use it. It is really just a trustworthy payment processing channel.

  52. London Greene January 29, 2015 at 12:12 AM #

    Hi Jeremy, Thanks for your dedication to the information you have provided to all of us looking for better website and ecomm solutions. I have been a WIX ecomm user for the last 6 years. I have 4 WIX ecomm sites/stores, and the ease of the IFrame platform is amazing! There are limitations, but I have found ways to “work the Wix system” to get the most out of the ecomm experience.

    Though Wix does not address the needs of a serious ecomm store, (unless you get very creative with the editing tools and app resources), it is still one of the best website platforms for those with no programming experience. Yes, there is a slight learning curve, but you will be up and running in no time.

    For anyone reading this who needs a DIY website solution, I would encourage you to look at WIX. Start with a free site and give it some time. You will be glad you did!
    Best Regards,
    London Greene – real merchant not a WIX employee!

    ‘www.remyclips.com
    ‘www.morethangorgeous.com
    ‘www.remyclipsclassics.com
    ‘www.remyclipshalohair.com

    • dene February 16, 2015 at 7:16 PM #

      Since I am new to wix and so far love everything but a few things

      1. I can’t add tax by zip code
      2. Want more options than paypal to pay

      You said there are creative ways do you have any advice to help?

      Thanks

      • Jeremy Wong
        Jeremy Wong February 17, 2015 at 3:38 PM #

        Hi Dene,

        Check out Shopify’s Buy Button or Ecwid.

        While Shopify is a full ecommerce website builder, if you want to keep using your own website (such as Wix), while being able to convert it into an online store with a lot more advanced features (such as the ability to configure taxes, etc), Shopify’s Buy Button can do that.

        Ecwid is an independent ecommerce add-on that is also compatible with Wix. Ecwid adds a lot more advanced ecommerce related tools and options for you.

        Jeremy