Mobile Editor Review for Wix, Weebly, Squarespace and Jimdo

Last updated on May 6, 2016

Mobile Editor ReviewMobile Editor Review for Wix, Weebly, Squarespace and Jimdo – What’s the big deal?

If you haven’t been hiding underneath a rock, you probably know that smartphones are blowing up.  Everywhere we go, we see people on their mobile phones checking emails, surfing the web – searching for information.

Heck, Connie and I use our smartphones to check prices when we visit Costco.  That’s how interconnected we all are to information (and also how dependent we are on being connected!)

So what does this mean to you and your website?

It means that you better start understanding how you can improve your visitors’ experiences if they log on to your website using their mobile phones.

Mobile Optimized Website Interface

Due to the smaller screen real estate for mobile devices, it’s inefficient for them to display the same website layout as what you would see on your desktop.

Recognizing the growing trend of mobile users, website builders started to provide you with “mobile optimized” versions of your website, to help you provide you a better surfing experience for your visitors.  These mobile optimized versions of your website basically re-arranges our content and compresses your website into a tall, narrow stripe of information so it’s easy for your visitors to scroll up and down on their mobile devices.

It also removes your navigation menu bar, and compresses that into a separate button so when someone clicks on it, it will expand and show your menu items.  This is a real space saver.

Are All Website Builders’ Mobile Editors Equal?

Nope.  Although most website builders provide you with some sort of mobile optimization, they are not all built equally.  Some are better than others, and at the end of the day, it really depends on what you’re looking for.

In the following mobile editors review, we’ll go over how each mobile editor works for:

1. Wix (Full Review)

2. Squarespace (Full Review)

3. Weebly (Full Review)

4. Jimdo (Full Review)

1. Wix Mobile Editor Review


Wix automatically gives you a mobile optimized version of the template that you are using, so you don’t really have to do much to get your website optimized on a mobile device.

What some website builders do is that they just take your website and compresses it and that’s about it.  What Wix offers you is a fully interface so you can still make edits to the mobile version of your website such as changing the colors, background, and make other styling changes directly in the mobile editor.

Since Wix transfers all your content directly into the mobile version of your site, you can also hide certain content, so that you have control over what to show and what not to show on the mobile version of your website.

So not only does Wix automatically give you a mobile optimized version of your website, you also have the flexibility to make little edits to only the mobile version of your site, giving you more control and freedom over your site.  In our view, we don’t like to waste time poking around a mobile website looking for the right information while when we’re outside.  Just give me the key information, and we’re done – Wix allows you to do this.

Mobile Editor Review

Click image to see Wix’s mobile editor & how it works for your website.

 

Another unique feature that Wix provides is that you can insert a phone number so your visitor can just tap it and it will automatically call you – great for businesses (the other website builders don’t have this feature).

Wix has built their mobile editor so that when a visitor comes to your website, it will automatically sense whether they are on a desktop computer or using a mobile device.  This way, Wix will automatically send your visitor to either the fuller desktop version of your website, or to the condensed mobile version of your website.

Here is a video from Wix showing you how to quickly build and configure a mobile site for free:

(If you’re interested in Wix, see our full Wix review here)

2. Weebly Mobile Editor Review


Weebly created a new mobile editor (as at the time of this article), which is  a big step forward for them.  Not only do you get to preview the mobile site, the mobile optimized site is automatically created for you.

So unlike Wix, you don’t have to create a separate site.  However, the downside is that you won’t get to customize your visitors’ mobile experiences as Weebly currently doesn’t offer that flexibility.  Weebly basically takes your desktop version of the website, and compress it into a mobile screen.

Weebly Mobile Editor

A neat feature is that Weebly also allows you to drag and drop elements directly into their mobile editor.  It’s a neat feature, but in our view, doesn’t add too much value overall as it is no different than drag and dropping elements in the main desktop website builder.

You do get to pick from a few templates and color schemes, add in social icons, a phone number (but your visitors can’t tap on it to call you – Wix allows this) and that’s basically it.

Weebly’s mobile editor gives you the basic tools, and gets the job done.  Is it as flexible as other website builders’ mobile editors?  Not really, but it gets the job done.

Here’s a short video that we put together that will show you how Weebly’s mobile editor works:

(If you’re interested in Weebly, see our full Weebly review here)

Update: Weebly has been introducing more mobile responsive templates. If you use their responsive templates, you won’t need to use their mobile editor.  Your content / pages will automatically be configured to fit into mobile devices. The advantage is that it results in less work for you. The disadvantage is that you can’t customize the way your mobile view looks (without editing the codes to the template anyway).

3. Squarespace Mobile Editor Review


Actually, Squarespace does not have a mobile editor.  Why?  It’s because all their stylish themes are responsive.

What this means is that their themes are built in a way that will automatically react  and adjust to whatever size of the screen to display the site in an optimized way.

So it doesn’t matter if you are using an Andriod phone, or an iPhone, Squarespace themes will adapt automatically and you don’t have to touch anything.

Squarespace mobile editor

This sure is convenient.  The style of the themes still look really good and professional even on a small mobile screen.  This is one of Squarespace’s strengths as a website builder – stylish and polished designs.

Squarespace does share a similar downside as Weebly, in that it does not give you the option to have a dedicated mobile editor.  But on the flip side, you don’t have to spend time to create a dedicated mobile site.

(If you’re interested in Squarespace, see our full Squarespace review here)

4. Jimdo Mobile Editor Review


Jimdo’s mobile editor is slightly simliar to Weebly’s new mobile editor.  So what Jimdo does is take your website, and compress it into a smaller size so it fits well into a mobile screen.

Where they differ is that Jimdo doesn’t allow you to drag and drop elements directly into their mobile editor, which is fine as we mentioned above, we don’t think it adds that much value as you can just add elements in the regular website editor.

Jimdo mobile editor

However, overall, we feel that Jimdo’s website editor is much better than Weebly’s, due to:

  • Jimdo allows you to customize the CSS codes of the mobile site.  What this means is that you can provide your mobile site a bit of a custom style, to make it unique and stand out.  None of the other mobile editors we’ve reviewed in this article allow you to modify the styling of the mobile site, so this is a very unique Jimdo feature.  If you don’t know CSS, you can find someone who does to help.
  • Jimdo allows you to build a “Mobile Express Page” (basically a mobile landing page) where you can insert your business description, phone number, operating hours, and address / map directly to a landing page.  The benefit of this is that your visitors see all the important information up front in a neat, organized manner instead of searching all over your mobile site for these information – this is great for businesses.
  • Jimdo’s mobile site is e-commerce ready.  One of Jimdo’s key strengths is that they have fully integrated e-commerce functions (we have more details in our full review here).  They have taken this into their mobile editor as well, so if you have an online store, your visitors can seamlessly purchase your products with their mobile device.

Jimdo mobile editor - e-commerce

Here is a short video from Jimdo which will show you exactly how their mobile sites can help you:

(If you’re interested in Jimdo, see our full Jimdo review here)

5. Summary and Recommendation


Overall, there really isn’t a superior mobile editor in our view.  It all depends on what you perceive as important.

For example, if you think the ability to custom style your mobile site or provide a seamless online shopping experience, Jimdo will be a good choice.

If you feel that have a separate, dedicated mobile site where you can pick and choose what to insert into the site, then Wix will be a good choice.

Squarespace has fully responsive themes, and Weebly’s mobile editor is also solid.

Just know that all of them are “mobile ready”, and when you are trying to pick a website builder, you need to consider other important factors as well – we go over them in a lot of in-depth details in our full reviews:

Read Our Expert Reviews

Want to see in-depth reviews of the website builders above?  Click here:

Found This Review Helpful?

Leave a comment below; or

Share it with your friends – Tweet, Like, Follow, Pin us below.

The biggest compliment we can receive from you is a Share!

Jeremy Wong

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

Subscribe

Jeremy Wong

About Jeremy Wong

Maybe just like you, at first we didn't have a darn clue about how to build a website, nevermind write half a line of code if our life depended on it! We wanted to build a website to start a side business, and felt overwhelmed, confused & scared about how to actually do it, which builder to use, and making wrong decisions. After years of trials & errors using different website builders, we're here to share our experiences with you.

, , , ,

Leave a Reply


23 Responses to Mobile Editor Review for Wix, Weebly, Squarespace and Jimdo

  1. Roderick Davidson May 2, 2016 at 4:10 PM #

    I have a (free) wix website and it is not compatible with mobiles or ipads or other tablets, you just see a portion of what you see on a desktop or laptop.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong May 4, 2016 at 6:24 AM #

      Hello Roderick,

      You should be able to see your mobile site when you load up your website with your mobile device. I have an account with Wix and I just started up a new site and loaded it on my iPhone in a few minutes.

      Make sure click on the mobile mode in the Wix editor, edit it, save it and publish. Give that a try. If that still doesn’t work, try reaching out to Wix’s support team.

      Jeremy

  2. Amiko March 23, 2016 at 7:07 PM #

    From my understanding Wix has the capability of editing the mobile version (what about a tablet?), while SquareSpace doesn’t, it’s automatically done by the program. If so, I’d rather have the editorial capabilities of Wix, so I can decide what I want to change or eliminate.
    Do I make sense?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong March 24, 2016 at 8:07 PM #

      Hello Amiko,

      I believe with Wix, the tablet view is the same as the desktop view of your website. So you only get to configure the mobile phone view of your website. When someone visits your website on their tablet (such as iPad), they will see the same version / design as the desktop view of your website.

      Best thing to do is just set up a free account with Wix, and test it out for yourself so you can see exactly how it works!

      Jeremy

  3. Ross Ladehoff January 18, 2016 at 11:35 AM #

    Great article. I am in the process of building my personal website with sitebuilder.com and I was very frustrated with how the mobile version ended up. Even viewing the website on a mac vs pc yielded some ugly versions. Do you recommend any of the website builders you’ve reviewed for someone like me who is using the host for a personal website? I only need a few pages, mobile ready, email hosting, ease of use Web builder and cost isn’t an issue. (I am willing to pay a few bucks more per month to get the features that I will need)

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong January 18, 2016 at 12:24 PM #

      Hey Ross,

      Sorry to hear about your experience. Sometimes (as in most things), it takes a couple of tries to get what you want! It can take time and is frustrating indeed.

      If you prefer a mobile version where you can have certain control over the layout of your content, take a look at Wix.

      If you prefer to just create a website, and the mobile view is automatically optimized for you, then look at Squarespace or some of the newer templates from Weebly. These templates are mobile responsive (see our discussion here) so the content automatically adapts to the mobile device’s screen size.

      The drawback of mobile responsive designs, is that you don’t have any control over how the layout will look like (without editing the codes anyway). So you’re at the mercy of how the template “automatically” adapts to the mobile device.

      Jeremy

  4. Francisca Rojas January 5, 2016 at 11:01 AM #

    Thank you so much for the information. The problem that I have is that our website is no Mobile friendly at all and we are such a small company and they charge usualy an arm and a leg.

    Any suggestions?

    Francisca Rojas

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong January 6, 2016 at 11:59 AM #

      Hello Francisca,

      Which website builder are you using?

      If you want your website to be mobile friendly, definitely consider testing out one of the website builders we’ve mentioned above.

      We also have a side by side comparison chart so you can compare the features between them.

      Also take our short quiz here to see which one might work best for you!

      Jeremy

  5. Jaime December 3, 2015 at 9:46 AM #

    I am unable to adjust my mobile view in Weebly even with the new themes. Any advice?

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong December 4, 2015 at 12:52 PM #

      Hi Jaime,

      For the newer Weebly themes, they are all mobile responsive so you can’t edit them via their mobile editor. These mobile responsive themes automatically adjust to fit your visitors’ mobile device.

      If you want to adjust how it shows up on your visitors’ mobile devices, you’ll have to edit the codes to the theme. Weebly does allow you to edit the HTML and CSS codes, so it’s possible if you’re proficient with coding.

      Alternatively, you can always hire someone to help you out.

      Jeremy

  6. Rhea Altamero July 8, 2015 at 3:59 AM #

    This article catches so many points that are on point. One is how it shows a light to how user experience is highly valuable in gaining more consumers and thus improve the quality of your website. Second is how it also sighted the strengths and weaknesses of the mobile editors without biases. It also focused on how one mobile editor is not really more advantageous than the other. It is mostly about your needs and preference as to how or what way you want the mobile version of your website to look like and what certain features are required on your market.

    Another website builder worth mentioning is called goMobi. It’s a simple WYSIWYG website editor that can be used without any coding skills.

    Aside from that, it is worth noting that websites can be built from scratch, or generated automatically using a desktop website URL. There’s also a simple redirection method that allows you to use the mobile site together with your existing desktop site. All mobile and tablet visitors are then redirected to a device-specific experience.

  7. Kerry Green July 3, 2015 at 7:55 AM #

    Hi Jeremy,
    I am interested in starting a non-profit organization and would like to find a website builder/hosting site that will allow a great mobile experience and the option for a donation page. Rather than just adding a donate button, like on Weebly, I would like a site where I can customize the donation page to specify what each donation amount would provide so people would know where there money will be going. Any suggestions you can provide would be greatly appreciated! Many thanks in advance!

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong July 4, 2015 at 10:53 AM #

      Hi Kerry,

      Have a look at Squarepace, as they do have a dedicated “donation block” to help you better manage donations.

      Go to their “Help & Support” page and type in “Donation” and you’ll see how the tool works. Also, Squarespace gives you a great mobile experience as well as all their templates are mobile friendly.

      Hope this points you in the right direction!

      Jeremy

  8. Ossy March 18, 2015 at 9:28 PM #

    Thank you for a good article . My syster and i want to start a web magazine with the usual magazine content stories and interviews, pictures and videos.
    But vi want to make it horizontal scrolling/navigation with small arrows on the sides.
    But all I can find on wix sqearspaceand weebly was picture gallery with this feature .
    Is there a way to make this work for content rich web site.(the horizontal scrolling/navigation)
    I also want it to be responsiv I like sqearspace approach best on that.
    Any advice on that . Any templets ,easy insert code ?
    Mobile phone and tablet are coming standard use of laptop decreasing.
    Stationary computer=museum item : )
    Thanks

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong March 20, 2015 at 10:21 PM #

      Hi Ossy,

      I haven’t seen the ability to create horizontal scrolling pages with these drag and drop website builders. It sounds like to get that, you’ll have to have your site pretty customized by a developer.

      Jeremy

  9. Randy February 5, 2015 at 1:33 PM #

    Hi Jeremy

    Great reviews they are helping me narrow this down. I am considering Jimdo because the purpose of my site is to sell products. Part of the sale the customer must sign for the terms and conditions. Is there a way in Jimdo to “force” the customer to click to sign before the check out is complete?

    Thanks

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong February 6, 2015 at 2:26 PM #

      Hi Randy,

      I’m not aware of a feature whereby your customer must agree / sign terms and conditions before they can complete the transaction. It sounds like it might be a custom feature that has to be added into your website as it’s not a common feature (generally speaking).

      You can check out either Shopify or Bigcommerce as these two are more advanced ecommerce builders and they might offer this flexibility. And if they don’t and you need to hire a developer to build that into your online store, those two builders will give you some level of capability to do that as well.

      You can also take a look at our ecommerce store builder comparison chart here as well.

      Jeremy

  10. Diana September 20, 2014 at 12:19 AM #

    Hi Jeremy, Thanks for in depth reviews. They are very helpful. I’m in the process of starting a boutique business and the service needs to be collaborative and mobile adaptable. Loved the squarespace easy, clean options & that it can be paired with google+ biz apps which I’ve already researched. The pricing for web building, hosting and app collaboration between me, customers and the over all functionality will make for a seamless and synergistic website that is very exciting. I have often shied away from the idea of building a website b/c it was daunting, expensive and a labor for one person to manage all while trying to work and grow a business. Your review has helped me come full circle on my website building research (thanks for interactive videos!!). Now I just need to figure out how to affordably create the logo and graphic content on a budget!! Any reviews for that? 🙂

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong September 21, 2014 at 11:29 AM #

      Hey Diana,

      Glad that you’re becoming more enthusiastic about building websites!

      Regarding logos and graphic content, the cheapest place I can think of is Fiverr.com. It’s $5 per project, but in a way, you get what you pay for so don’t expect ultra high quality outcomes. But it’s a very economical way to get some “basic” work outsourced.

      If you want something more sophisticated, try 99designs which is a bit more pricey, but the designers there can be quite good.

      Good luck!

      – Jeremy

  11. Terri June 10, 2014 at 11:58 PM #

    Hi Jeremy, this was really helpful. I am desperately looking for a wysiwyg type website builder to replace the iWeb ones I build some years ago.

    The factors are 1) cost – as iWeb was free for me to use once purchased. 2) ease of us (I’m not a techno-moron but I dont like having to use code), 3) professional looking, 4) mobile ready, 5) features to include social media threads, 6) image / video gallery. 6) interactive components such as polls/voting/forum.

    Could you please recommend one for me out of these or any others? Thank you in advance.

    • Jeremy Wong
      Jeremy Wong June 11, 2014 at 2:30 AM #

      Hey Terri,

      I think all of the website builders that I mentioned in the discussion above will work under those criteria. The monthly fees, if you decide to upgrade, aren’t too high at all (depending on which plan you select). Some of them even allow you to keep using their services for free!

      Check out our comparison chart for a quick comparison between some of them. Best way to move forward is to invest some time and test some of them out for free!

      – Jeremy

  12. Kat January 29, 2014 at 3:41 PM #

    This has helped me quite a bit. It sounds like Wix would be a great choice, since you can modify how your mobile version looks like.. but perhaps.. too much choice is a bad thing.

    Never herd of Jidmo, will certainly look at your review for that.

    Thanks for the post!

    • Jeremy & Connie
      Jeremy & Connie January 30, 2014 at 11:09 AM #

      Hi Kat,

      Glad this article is helpful. Jimdo is a German based website builder and they’re great. We’ve had email correspondences with their leadership team and also have met their Japanese and Chinese teams when we were traveling. We’re very impressed with their culture, philosophy to website building and overall support!

      – Jeremy